1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Issue

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Ten13, Sep 1, 2021.

  1. Sep 1, 2021 at 12:12 PM
    #1
    Ten13

    Ten13 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #146362
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    14 PreRunner SR5
    Hello all, I am hoping that someone else has had and solved this problem so I don't have to take it to the stealer for service. For well over a year my TPMS warning light had been coming on. Sometimes it would flash (indicating a sensor was bad), sometimes it would be solid. Sometimes it would be on when I started the truck and turn off on it's own after driving a little while. Sometimes it would come on while driving (sometimes flashing, sometimes solid) and then turn off a few minutes later. In short it was completely erratic and not reliable. And yes I did check the tire pressures and they were all (including spare) where they should be.

    I say over a year because I was going to wait until I purchased new tires and have them fix it. Well I purchased the new tires last month and I am still having the problem. The tire place (American Tire Depot) said I had one bad sensor and replaced it. Three days later it started happening again. I took it back and his meter said all of the sensors were fine, also said that there was a duplicate sensor reading when he used his tester. He reprogrammed the system and I drove away. Half a block later the light came back on. Drove right back and he told me sometimes it takes a while for the system to relearn. The problem continued and I took it back the next week with the exact same result.

    I then purchased an Autel MaxiTPMS Pad (before you say "That is a piece of c**p", note that I got the same results as the tire shop) and tested the sensors myself. While the tires were STILL on the truck I got the same results as the tire shop (all sensors were in good condition but was getting duplicate readings (same sensor code from different tires). I repeated the test several time and sometimes got different sensor codes from same tire. I then took the tires off, did the tests while the tire was at least 30 feet away from the other tires and the test went fine. I can't figure this out and if possible I don't want to spend 2.5 million at the dealer. Any ideas or previous experience? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Sep 1, 2021 at 2:02 PM
    #2
    wmgeorge

    wmgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Member:
    #347898
    Messages:
    185
    Go over to Amazon and read the reviews, interesting others are having the same issues and the solutions may help you?
     
  3. Sep 1, 2021 at 10:07 PM
    #3
    Marshall R

    Marshall R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Member:
    #156224
    Messages:
    3,605
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marshall
    Vehicle:
    07 White TRD double cab
    none
    You truck is about 8 years old and that is typical life for sensors. However the sensors were still working on my 2007 Tacoma after nearly 14 years. I ordered new ones from Amazon and had them installed in March along with new tires. They worked fine. I've replaced sensors on 3 vehicles to date with Amazon TPMS sensors at about $20 each and all of them worked great with no problems.

    Most tire stores won't charge anything if you're having new tires installed anyway. I have started replacing mine after 7-8 years when I buy new tires even if they are still working.

    This is what I bought for my 2007. I THINK the same sensors will work with your 2014, but double check before ordering.

    Amazon.com: MOBILETRON Tire Pressure Monitoring Sensor (TPMS) for Lexus, Toyota (TX-S008), 315MHz, Set of 4 : Automotive
     
    RA77 and b_r_o like this.
  4. Sep 2, 2021 at 5:08 AM
    #4
    jbrnigan

    jbrnigan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Member:
    #146935
    Messages:
    1,381
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport, 4X4, 4.0L, Auto - Access Cab
    The sensor ID numbers need to unique and different from each other. You need a copy of Techstream or have the dealer confirm that the ID's are unique and different. The sensor transmitting "duplicate" "readings" is likely the culprit and needs to be replaced. On some sensors, the unique ID is set by the programming tool.
    Also: "With the vehicle off, turn the key to the “on” position, but don't start the car. Hold the TPMS reset button until the tire pressure light blinks three times, then release it. Start the car and wait 20 minutes for the sensor to refresh. The TPMS reset button is usually located beneath the steering wheel."
     
  5. Sep 2, 2021 at 10:10 AM
    #5
    greenEFSI

    greenEFSI TacoSupreme____

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Member:
    #190830
    Messages:
    1,282
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gio
    West Covina, SoCal
    Vehicle:
    '15 TRD Pro Super White
  6. Sep 2, 2021 at 2:53 PM
    #6
    Spizike231

    Spizike231 Pickin’ & Grinnin’

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Member:
    #300468
    Messages:
    1,226
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jesse
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM DCSB TRD Sport 4x4
    2015WhiteOR likes this.
  7. Sep 2, 2021 at 6:17 PM
    #7
    jbrnigan

    jbrnigan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Member:
    #146935
    Messages:
    1,381
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport, 4X4, 4.0L, Auto - Access Cab
    2015WhiteOR likes this.
  8. Sep 2, 2021 at 10:01 PM
    #8
    Ten13

    Ten13 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #146362
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    14 PreRunner SR5
    Thanks for the replies so far! :) Should have said in my first post that I did do the reset button below the steering column, but I only waited about 3 minutes. I would try the 20 but now it flashes when I have it in the on position and it will not reset. I don't want to disable the light, that's why I have been waiting over a year to try to fix it. I can actually swap out sensors myself at home but did not want to go through the hassle of removing the tires from the rim if I did not have to. I waited until I got new tires because I know the tire shop would do it when they were putting the new tires on the rim (they did replace 1 sensor). Problem is I can't isolate which sensor (if any) is the bad one. When the tires are off the truck and isolated away from the other tires, I get good clean readings. When they are on the truck, chaos. If anything, I would buy the Autel sensors that I can program with my pad, but can't figure out which sensor it might be or why this is happening. Away from the other tires, all the sensors check out fine. Any other ideas?
     
  9. Sep 2, 2021 at 10:04 PM
    #9
    Spizike231

    Spizike231 Pickin’ & Grinnin’

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Member:
    #300468
    Messages:
    1,226
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jesse
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 MGM DCSB TRD Sport 4x4
    Wait, are these the OEM sensors currently in the wheels? Or replacement ?
     
  10. Sep 3, 2021 at 3:41 AM
    #10
    jbrnigan

    jbrnigan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Member:
    #146935
    Messages:
    1,381
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport, 4X4, 4.0L, Auto - Access Cab
    See post # 4. The sensor ID numbers need to unique to each sensor. You need to verify via techstream that they are different. Or just replace all four sensors. The sensor the dealer replaced may be transmitting a conflicting ID number. Why the problem goes away when the tires are 30 feet away from the vehicle.....???
     
  11. Sep 3, 2021 at 7:59 PM
    #11
    Ten13

    Ten13 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Member:
    #146362
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    14 PreRunner SR5
    All were OEM when it started, Tire shop replaced 1 sensor. When I did the test with the tires isolated 30 feet away from the others, each did have there own unique ID. I agree... ???
     
  12. Sep 4, 2021 at 12:44 PM
    #12
    Rob MacRuger

    Rob MacRuger retired and broke

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Member:
    #216950
    Messages:
    248
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Nice '06 truck
    seat covers, paint shot
    I have the Autel TPS508 and ran into the same duplicate reading on a Lexus. I had to read the left front several times before getting the correct non duplicate sensor ID. It kept reading the right front ID. Maybe it was a stronger signal. That was on the only vehicle I had this problem.
    It really sounds like your tire shop either didn't duplicate the original sensor or didn't program the new ID into the system. Probably the latter.
    I think the Autel tool you have is very basic and doesn't plug into the OBD2 port to program the new sensor ID's. It will duplicate the ID's with the Autel TPMS sensors but you still need to know the original ID's in the system.
     
    Ten13[OP] likes this.
  13. Sep 4, 2021 at 12:47 PM
    #13
    ABA180

    ABA180 It burns when I pee....

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Member:
    #88520
    Messages:
    20,537
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    East Bridgewater MA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Regular Cab Slider
    Pioneer CD, Megaloud/JBL amps, Rockford/Polk speakers.
    Not up on how to diag it, but I had one croak in my 2010 last winter. I brought it to the local Town Fair Tire and was fixed up quick. Not sure if they are in your area OP but that is what I did.
     
To Top