1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS light won’t stop blinking

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by tbrack_13, May 1, 2023.

  1. May 1, 2023 at 9:26 PM
    #1
    tbrack_13

    tbrack_13 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Member:
    #349665
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma 5-speed manual, 2.7 4Cyl
    3 inch lift, and 33s
    TPMS light has been blinking for some time now, was told I had a faulty sensor in my spare. Replaced it last week and had it reprogrammed/programmed. Also checked the other 4 sensors. All 5(including the new spare) checked out and were ok/normal/good. Reset via the tpms reset button, and still the tpms light blinks. Any input would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. May 1, 2023 at 9:33 PM
    #2
    Dm93

    Dm93 Test Don't Guess

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Member:
    #150066
    Messages:
    10,331
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2014 DC OR 6spd 4x4
    Predator tube steps, Ranch Hand grill guard, Magnaflow CatBack exhaust, Toyota tool box & bed mat, 2LO Module by @Up2NoGood, Rearview Compass/Temp Mirror, Tune by @JustDSM.
    Sounds like the sensors aren't programmed correctly or it's not able to read one or more of them, have you had the TPMS ECU codes read?
     
    Taco 422, Jimmyh and Stevie17 like this.
  3. May 2, 2023 at 8:38 AM
    #3
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    13,875
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Programming issue. I had my wifes TPMS Sensors replaced a year ago and I had to take it back twice before they could program it properly. Same symptoms as you continuous blinking TPMS Light.

    Take it back to the place that programmed them.
     
  4. May 2, 2023 at 8:44 AM
    #4
    b_r_o

    b_r_o Gnar doggy

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Member:
    #202672
    Messages:
    13,481
    First Name:
    Alex
    WA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCLB
    I agree with above, let them try the programming again, sometimes it won't take on the first try

    But if the other sensors are original from 2006 I wouldn't be surprised if you had another dead one. I'd just do all of them
     
    TnShooter and Jimmyh like this.
  5. May 2, 2023 at 9:19 AM
    #5
    fb40dash5

    fb40dash5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Member:
    #284962
    Messages:
    508
    People's Republic of MD
    Vehicle:
    11 V6 AC 4x4
    It's not so much that it "won't take on the first try"... it's more that to I'd say the majority of mechanics, TPMS is a black art somewhere above A/C work, and too many put no effort into understanding it. A whole healthy dose of "lemme slap some sensor in there, try to program it, fail, tell the customer they just need to drive it a while & it'll fix itself, hopefully either it does or they take it somewhere else"

    (the 'just drive it a while' trick did/maybe still does, occasionally work on certain models, it's a terrible way to do it as a pro, and I personally never once saw it work)

    If it's still flashing (and the tire pressures are all good) either a) at least 1 ID wasn't properly programmed into the ECU, b) at least 1 sensor is actually ded (or an incorrect application-specific sensor) or c) at least 1 sensor is a "universal" and the sensor hasn't been properly programmed so it'll transmit the right data to the ECU.
     
  6. May 2, 2023 at 11:33 AM
    #6
    Rob MacRuger

    Rob MacRuger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Member:
    #216950
    Messages:
    304
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 4X4 4.0 AT AC
    With our trucks it takes plugging the TPMS tool into the OBD2 port and performing the relearn function. Or clone the sensors to the old sensors. This must be way beyond the capability of some tire techs.
     
  7. May 2, 2023 at 12:41 PM
    #7
    TnShooter

    TnShooter The TacomaWorld Stray

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    18,604
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Deogee
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    And 3rd Gen and 2nd Gen sensors are NOT compatible.
    Just because it fits a Tacoma, doesn’t mean it fits all Tacomas.
     
  8. May 2, 2023 at 2:01 PM
    #8
    Marshall R

    Marshall R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Member:
    #156224
    Messages:
    4,398
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marshall
    Vehicle:
    07 White TRD double cab
    none
    If those are the factory sensors in a 2006 they are dead. Around 7-10 years is typical, but I've heard of Tacoma's going longer. Mine lasted 14 years. No way 17 year old sensors are still working. My guess is that whoever said they were good didn't know what they are doing.

    These are what I used. I have the same brand in 2 other vehicles and all have worked great.

    Amazon.com: MORESENSOR Signature Series 315MHz TPMS Tire Pressure Sensor 4-Pack | Preprogrammed for Select 270+ Japanese Brand Models | Replacement for 42607-33011 | Snap-in | NX-S008-SN-4 : Automotive
     
  9. May 3, 2023 at 8:29 AM
    #9
    Rob MacRuger

    Rob MacRuger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Member:
    #216950
    Messages:
    304
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 4X4 4.0 AT AC
    You must have read my mind.
    I am currently considering purchasing 4 used gen 3 alloy wheels with lug nuts and sensors included. Now I'll have to also purchase new TPMS sensors. Thanks!
     
    TnShooter[QUOTED] likes this.
  10. May 3, 2023 at 5:06 PM
    #10
    Shelf Life

    Shelf Life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Member:
    #139592
    Messages:
    6,558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Central Oregon
    Vehicle:
    '06 ACC CAB 4x4 TRD OFF ROAD
    When I switch tires and wheels (all stock) every winter / summer, it always throws the code even though the sensors are all fairly new (Dills) from Costco. The TPMS reset button is B.S. I've never got it to work for more than about 30 miles, and it starts blinking again. I just go to the local tire shop and have them do it. It only takes them about ten minutes.
     
  11. May 3, 2023 at 6:18 PM
    #11
    fb40dash5

    fb40dash5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Member:
    #284962
    Messages:
    508
    People's Republic of MD
    Vehicle:
    11 V6 AC 4x4
    I don't swap wheels & I guess I didn't RTFM well, is the button supposed to learn new sensors? Always thought it was to tell the TPMS receiver to accept the pressure currently reporting as the "correct" pressure?

    Also of note... your sensors aren't constantly transmitting, which is how they last years instead of months. They "wake up" a) when 'pinged' by a TPMS tool, b) sometimes with a strong magnetic field, or c) with a rapid increase or decrease in pressure, usually something like 5psi in a minute. So if you were to tell the receiver to look for sensors, and you're just sitting still doing nothing, it'd probably see... no sensors.
     
  12. May 3, 2023 at 6:23 PM
    #12
    b_r_o

    b_r_o Gnar doggy

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Member:
    #202672
    Messages:
    13,481
    First Name:
    Alex
    WA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCLB
    The button doesn't relearn new sensors, it just establishes a baseline measurement so if the pressures drop below a threshold (say 5 psi below the measured value) the light will come on

    It gets confusing though because some sensors really are "plug and play". I've put VDO Redi-sensors (O'reillys) on some cars that synced up after driving for 5 minutes. But most other brands need a tool to relearn. Depends on what is getting installed
     
    TnShooter and Dm93 like this.
  13. May 3, 2023 at 6:28 PM
    #13
    Dm93

    Dm93 Test Don't Guess

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Member:
    #150066
    Messages:
    10,331
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2014 DC OR 6spd 4x4
    Predator tube steps, Ranch Hand grill guard, Magnaflow CatBack exhaust, Toyota tool box & bed mat, 2LO Module by @Up2NoGood, Rearview Compass/Temp Mirror, Tune by @JustDSM.
    The reset button isn't to switch to/learn new sensors, it's purpose is to set the threshold air pressure in the tires.
    Each sensor has a unique ID, those ID's have to be programmed into the TPMS ECU with a scan tool for it to recognize them.
    There are alot of aftermarket sensors out there that using a programming tool can clone the sensors in the truck if they aren't dead so no programming needs to be changed on the truck.
    If you change tires/wheels alot this would be an option to not have to have the TPMS reprogrammed when tires/wheels are swapped.
     
  14. May 3, 2023 at 6:30 PM
    #14
    b_r_o

    b_r_o Gnar doggy

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Member:
    #202672
    Messages:
    13,481
    First Name:
    Alex
    WA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCLB
    In regards to OP, whoever told him the other 17 year old sensors were "ok" stepped in the doo-doo. They should have sold him a set of 4
     
    TnShooter likes this.
  15. May 3, 2023 at 6:35 PM
    #15
    rocklobster2008

    rocklobster2008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Member:
    #222583
    Messages:
    1,196
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jayson
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 Red Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Brute Force Fab front bumper Dobinsons Snorkel 35" Nittos Bilstein 5100s ICON leaf springs RSI SmartCap Bed Replacement Diode Dynamics lighting Custom built morimoto headlights RCI full skid
    Did not read all comments thoroughly but I may add these trucks are capable of having two sets of 5 sensors programmed to them I believe. Don't fully quote me on this. The button is below the steering wheel. You can switch between the two sets this way, so if you do not have a second set programmed to them then they will blink. Again, I believe this was a feature but I am not 100% certain. It is also possible the threshold was never reset so your sensors may be working but the pressure is too low and causing the light. If you set the pressure you want at the tire. Then hold the same button down below the steering wheel for x amount of seconds, this will set the new threshold. I forget the percentage below that will trip the light to come on
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2023
  16. May 3, 2023 at 6:42 PM
    #16
    TnShooter

    TnShooter The TacomaWorld Stray

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    18,604
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Deogee
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    No, depending on year model, you can have up to 5 sensors programmed.
    Other years 4 only. And you can “trick” the system by IDing one as all 0’s. That sensor will be ignored.
    But you can not use the same ID for all for sensor.
     
  17. May 3, 2023 at 6:44 PM
    #17
    Dm93

    Dm93 Test Don't Guess

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Member:
    #150066
    Messages:
    10,331
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2014 DC OR 6spd 4x4
    Predator tube steps, Ranch Hand grill guard, Magnaflow CatBack exhaust, Toyota tool box & bed mat, 2LO Module by @Up2NoGood, Rearview Compass/Temp Mirror, Tune by @JustDSM.
    I believe 2nd gens can have up to 5 but not less than 4 sensors programmed.
    No duplicate ID's are allowed.
     
  18. May 3, 2023 at 6:46 PM
    #18
    TnShooter

    TnShooter The TacomaWorld Stray

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    18,604
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Deogee
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    SR-71A likes this.
  19. May 3, 2023 at 6:49 PM
    #19
    Dm93

    Dm93 Test Don't Guess

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Member:
    #150066
    Messages:
    10,331
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2014 DC OR 6spd 4x4
    Predator tube steps, Ranch Hand grill guard, Magnaflow CatBack exhaust, Toyota tool box & bed mat, 2LO Module by @Up2NoGood, Rearview Compass/Temp Mirror, Tune by @JustDSM.
    TnShooter[QUOTED] likes this.
  20. May 3, 2023 at 6:53 PM
    #20
    TnShooter

    TnShooter The TacomaWorld Stray

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    18,604
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Deogee
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    If anyone will figure out a way, it’ll be you.
    You know me well enough by now, I’ll figure out long the TPMS light last before it burns out.
    You figure out how to program more sensors…..:rofl:
     
    Dm93[QUOTED] likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top