1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS question

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by 0BlackTaco6, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. Oct 22, 2010 at 12:24 PM
    #1
    0BlackTaco6

    0BlackTaco6 [OP] Ive got tiger blood

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43231
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    New Hampshire
    Vehicle:
    06 BSP DC SR5 4x4 6 speed
    Color matched and satoshi grille, hella 500ff behind, bhlm, sockmonkey bedsides, 17" sports 265/70 grabber at2's.
    I apologize if this is answered somewhere but i could not find my answer. Are the TPMS sensors all the same and just set for psi or is each sensor set for the particular wheel its on? Im asking because i have the stock steelies on my truck but just purchased a set of the 17" sport wheels with tpms's in them. Will i just have to hit the reset button when i put the new wheels on? Or does something need to be reconfigured for the different wheels?
     
  2. Oct 22, 2010 at 12:37 PM
    #2
    Cobra6

    Cobra6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Member:
    #39370
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Beri
    Tennessee Valley
    Vehicle:
    '06 PreRunner SR5 TRD Sport
    Are you replacing your spare also?
    if not, it may take a few resets to get the TPMS light to stay off- if it even will at all
     
  3. Oct 22, 2010 at 12:39 PM
    #3
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    each sensor has a code on it.
    they have to get programmed into the truck
    can only hold 5 codes
    the online service manual at ncttora has good info on it.
     
  4. Oct 22, 2010 at 12:39 PM
    #4
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy This ain't Dodge City, and you ain't Bill Hickok

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,260
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop, piaa, weathertech, westin, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
  5. Oct 22, 2010 at 12:40 PM
    #5
    0BlackTaco6

    0BlackTaco6 [OP] Ive got tiger blood

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43231
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    New Hampshire
    Vehicle:
    06 BSP DC SR5 4x4 6 speed
    Color matched and satoshi grille, hella 500ff behind, bhlm, sockmonkey bedsides, 17" sports 265/70 grabber at2's.
    Crap! stupid me i forgot about that. Didnt even think of that. No i just bought a set of 4. So now im probly screwed huh? Either deal with the light or do the tape mod i take it are my options?
     
  6. Oct 22, 2010 at 12:47 PM
    #6
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy This ain't Dodge City, and you ain't Bill Hickok

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,260
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop, piaa, weathertech, westin, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    Since the sensors on your old wheels are already programmed to the truck you could always remove them and throw em in a pressurized canister or wheel barrel tire to get the light not to come on. Also, there are clamps available that clamp the sensors to the inside of your new wheel.
     
  7. Oct 22, 2010 at 12:52 PM
    #7
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    No, you can reset your truck's receiver. It'll probably take a trip to the stealership though. I got quoted about $100 from my dealership to do something very similar to what you're talking about.
     
  8. Oct 22, 2010 at 12:57 PM
    #8
    0BlackTaco6

    0BlackTaco6 [OP] Ive got tiger blood

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43231
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    New Hampshire
    Vehicle:
    06 BSP DC SR5 4x4 6 speed
    Color matched and satoshi grille, hella 500ff behind, bhlm, sockmonkey bedsides, 17" sports 265/70 grabber at2's.
    NOOOOOOOO not the stealership!!!!! i swore to never go back there after i bought the truck.
     
  9. Oct 22, 2010 at 1:00 PM
    #9
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,836
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You would have needed new TPMS sensors anyways I believe. The sensors in the steelies and the TRD Sport wheels are different. Unfortunately, looks like a trip to the stealership is in your future, or deal with the light. Check with local shops, some of them may be able to reset them for you instead of the dealership.
     
  10. Oct 22, 2010 at 1:08 PM
    #10
    tonto340

    tonto340 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Member:
    #15246
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Gambrills, MD
    There is a tool you can use to program the sensor ids into your truck computer. It's called TPM Quickset. I bought mine from Tire Rack when I bought my wheels and tires.
     
  11. Oct 22, 2010 at 1:18 PM
    #11
    vinnyvavoom

    vinnyvavoom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Member:
    #22613
    Messages:
    361
    Gender:
    Male
    CT
    Vehicle:
    09 Black Access Cab 4x2
    Some stuff
  12. Oct 22, 2010 at 1:29 PM
    #12
    0BlackTaco6

    0BlackTaco6 [OP] Ive got tiger blood

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43231
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    New Hampshire
    Vehicle:
    06 BSP DC SR5 4x4 6 speed
    Color matched and satoshi grille, hella 500ff behind, bhlm, sockmonkey bedsides, 17" sports 265/70 grabber at2's.
    yea i thought about the pvc pipe thing but i was thinking i was gonna leave my stock wheels and tire alone and save them for a winter set or for whatever. I didnt think about the spare so i didnt think that would be an issue. I thought that the tpms in the sport wheels that i got would be fine id just have to hit the reset button but apparently not. Bummer.
     
  13. Oct 22, 2010 at 5:09 PM
    #13
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    you can still do that, if you do not program your new rims sensors & keep your steelies for winter (the ones programmed now) say stored in your garage, your light will not illuminate unless you get out of range.

    My winter set is the stock steel rims & sensors & snow tires.
    My summer set has no sensors at all.
    In the summer, I get no light as long I do not drive out of range of the tires in storage.
    It is pretty far believe it not.
    When it does trigger, usually on an out of town road trip to Me or NH, I put a business card over the light.
    When I return home & park overnight, the light resets.
    It has been that way for the last 4 seasons in the taco & on my old 2006 Tundra as well.
    I 've never run two sets of sensors.
    Once the light did triggered in the driveway to let me know the psi was low on one of the winter tires in storage.
     
  14. Oct 24, 2010 at 6:14 PM
    #14
    Bob4360

    Bob4360 Bob in New Orleans

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Member:
    #45132
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Weather Tech Easy-On Hood Deflector, AVS Visors, Stainless Steel Nerf Bar
    This may have been answered somewhere on here already, but does anybody know if I can remove the TPMS sensors from my stock 16" OEM wheel and use them in TSS 20" Enkei wheels? Thanks!

    P.S. Sorry if this has previously been addressed, but I'm a new member & am still trying to learn how to navigate. Outstanding site so far!!
     
To Top