1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS question

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by ARKTaco, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. ARKTaco

    ARKTaco [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Member:
    #45656
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brett
    little rock ar
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC off-road pre-runner
    I will be upgrading my tires and wheels soon and was wondering what most guys do about the tpms? Do you purchase new ones or remove them from the stock wheel? Is there a way to just deactivate the sensors or if you buy new ones where do you buy them? thanks
     
  2. Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    8,264
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    Hi Welcome to the forum :wave:
    Not sure if you have stock alloys or stock steel rims...
    The stock alloy sensors move over to most aftermarket rims without issue. The tire installer can handle that.
    The steel rims use a different angled sensor (40 vs 20 or visa versa i cannot remember),
    its been said tire installers can turn them 180 degrees or others use a band kit inside the rim.
    Either way, the sensors that came with your truck have ids on them which are programmed into your truck's tpms ecu. It only holds 5 codes at a time.
    If you choose to buy new sensors, those codes need to get programmed into the ecu to work. $$ or you can buy a tool from tire rack and do it yourself $
    Others fool the system by taking their sensors, putting them in a wheelbarrow tire or pipe bomb and pressured it up.
    Other use a penny's worth of black tape and cover the idiot light blinking on the dash.
    Some take out the bulb.
    There are other mods too.

    sooooo whew....there is a lot of info covered here and if you search tpms you will get a ton of threads...outlining just what I typed.
     
  3. KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,400
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    Welcome to TW. Judy covered what you need to know...just wanted to add that if the new rims you get were made more than a few years ago (for example I bought BBS's from 2004 on craigslist), they were not designed to accommodate TPMS and the tire shop may have difficulty fitting them. Discount tire had to use TPMS straps to fit mine. I've had no issues with them though.
     
  4. NetMonkey

    NetMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Member:
    #8536
    Messages:
    1,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Pflugerville, TX
    Vehicle:
    2010, 4x4, DC, off-road, shortbed, automatic
    Toytec Ultimate Lift @ 3", Mickey Thompson MTZ's 285/75/16, Moto Metal 955b, rear 2" ALL, Marlin Crawler sliders
    yup. the stock tpms sensors worked on my moto metal rims.
     
To Top