1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Question

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TacoTime10, Aug 19, 2020.

  1. Aug 25, 2020 at 8:25 PM
    #21
    RobP62

    RobP62 NVR20LD

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Member:
    #220718
    Messages:
    41,519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Street, Md.
    Vehicle:
    TTC Member #0125
    The Toyota dealership that services my Taco tried to charge me over $150 for labor after failing to program mine, stating that they still tried and it took an hour because they have to run the program on the TechStream. They did offer to order me knew OEM sensors for over $400 and would program those for $150.

    LOLOLOLOL

    A buddy on here and I swapped all five of my sensors at his shop and I only had to buy him some gatorade and then another buddy on here let me use his Autel device so I could program them myself. :thumbsup:
     
    skytower[QUOTED] likes this.
  2. Aug 26, 2020 at 4:10 PM
    #22
    Sxottie

    Sxottie Wrenching is therapy, right??

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Member:
    #319670
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Mystic, CT
    Vehicle:
    2021 TRD Sport Double Cab
    Tonneau hard cover, mud guards, yellow fog light tint, redline hood lift kit, remote tailgate lock, bed lights, window tint, invisible bra, TRD wheel cap decals, tailgate letters, blackout badge kit, LED cab lighting kit, bed hooks, red caliper paint.
    They were unable to program the sensors with their unit. I ordered an ATEQ progammer and will do it myself. Mounting and balancing was 100 dollars. Loving the lighter wheels. The 16x7 steelies came in at just over 28 pounds. The FN Wheels, 16x8 aluminum alloy wheels are 19 pounds.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2020
    RobP62 likes this.
  3. Aug 26, 2020 at 4:20 PM
    #23
    RobP62

    RobP62 NVR20LD

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Member:
    #220718
    Messages:
    41,519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Street, Md.
    Vehicle:
    TTC Member #0125
    You'll need the sensor codes to use that Ateq device if you bought this one.

    https://www.amazon.com/ATEQ-QuickSe...AJDTZ958ANS&psc=1&refRID=6SDNRT6VFAJDTZ958ANS
     
    Sxottie[QUOTED] likes this.
  4. Aug 26, 2020 at 4:28 PM
    #24
    Sxottie

    Sxottie Wrenching is therapy, right??

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Member:
    #319670
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Mystic, CT
    Vehicle:
    2021 TRD Sport Double Cab
    Tonneau hard cover, mud guards, yellow fog light tint, redline hood lift kit, remote tailgate lock, bed lights, window tint, invisible bra, TRD wheel cap decals, tailgate letters, blackout badge kit, LED cab lighting kit, bed hooks, red caliper paint.
    RobP62[QUOTED] likes this.
  5. Aug 26, 2020 at 4:46 PM
    #25
    RobP62

    RobP62 NVR20LD

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Member:
    #220718
    Messages:
    41,519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Street, Md.
    Vehicle:
    TTC Member #0125
    You're good to go then :thumbsup:
     
    Sxottie[QUOTED] likes this.
  6. Aug 26, 2020 at 4:54 PM
    #26
    TacoTime10

    TacoTime10 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2020
    Member:
    #334522
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2010 ACLB 4x4 SR5 2.7L 5MT
    I’ve been shopping for TPMS sensors and a lot of them come “pre-programmed” with a list of compatible cars. They claim that you just need to “relearn” the sensors somehow with the truck. This sounds much easier than buying sensors with no program and having to program them with a special tool. Is there a downside to those types of sensors? Am I missing something?
     
  7. Aug 26, 2020 at 4:58 PM
    #27
    Sxottie

    Sxottie Wrenching is therapy, right??

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Member:
    #319670
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Mystic, CT
    Vehicle:
    2021 TRD Sport Double Cab
    Tonneau hard cover, mud guards, yellow fog light tint, redline hood lift kit, remote tailgate lock, bed lights, window tint, invisible bra, TRD wheel cap decals, tailgate letters, blackout badge kit, LED cab lighting kit, bed hooks, red caliper paint.
    The way I understand it is that our trucks always need to have new sensors programmed. The sensors I purchased were the ones recommended by FN Wheels for Toyota trucks specifically.
     
  8. Aug 26, 2020 at 5:00 PM
    #28
    TacoTime10

    TacoTime10 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2020
    Member:
    #334522
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2010 ACLB 4x4 SR5 2.7L 5MT
    Interesting, now i’m really confused!
     
  9. Aug 26, 2020 at 7:06 PM
    #29
    Muddinfun

    Muddinfun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Member:
    #216500
    Messages:
    7,491
    Here's how it works. The sensors are 1 way communication. The truck listens to the information being sent to it by the sensors. The truck only listens to sensors it's been programmed to listen to. Let's call them Bob, Jake, Johnny, and Rafael. So, each sensor tells the truck what presure is in the tire. Let's say they're all at 32. When you push the button, the truck learns that 32 is normal pressure and keeps the light off. Now, 1 morning Johnny is on a bad hangover and tells the truck he's only at 25PSI. The truck turns on the light to let you know. You give Johnny some pepto bismal(air), the truck is happy and turns out the light. On your way to work, there's a Tacoma beside you at the light with a low tire. That sensor is named Brittany. Your trucks light doesn't come on because your truck doesn't listen to Brittany.

    So, when you get new sensors, there's 2 ways to make the truck happy.
    1. Pull new OEM or aftermarket OEMtype sensors off the shelf and program the truck to listen to them. Now the truck only listens to George, Paul, John, and Ringo. This programming can only be done by plugging into the truck OBD2 connector.

    2. There are aftermarket sensors that have no name. It's like adopting a puppy at the shelter. Your dog Bob crosses over the rainbow bridge. You go to the shelter and adopt a new puppy and name him Bob. (The tire shop programs the nameless sensor to say, "Hi, my name is Bob") Now your truck still listens to Bob. Your truck isn't smart enough to realize it's a different Bob. He thinks it's the same old Bob, and is content and patiently waiting for Bob to go on a drinking binge.
     
  10. Aug 27, 2020 at 2:14 PM
    #30
    TacoTime10

    TacoTime10 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2020
    Member:
    #334522
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2010 ACLB 4x4 SR5 2.7L 5MT
    Thanks for the explanation, now I understand. The sensors I got will be coming with a name already programmed. Can I used any obdII scanner to relearn the new wheel names, or do I need to buy some kind of special Tpms obdII scanner? I have a generic corded one that I bought off ebay. Also, what information do I need to write down before I have the tires mounted? I’m guessing the serial number of each sensor? Thanks in advance for the help.
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #30
    RobP62 likes this.
  11. Aug 27, 2020 at 5:47 PM
    #31
    Sxottie

    Sxottie Wrenching is therapy, right??

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Member:
    #319670
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Mystic, CT
    Vehicle:
    2021 TRD Sport Double Cab
    Tonneau hard cover, mud guards, yellow fog light tint, redline hood lift kit, remote tailgate lock, bed lights, window tint, invisible bra, TRD wheel cap decals, tailgate letters, blackout badge kit, LED cab lighting kit, bed hooks, red caliper paint.
    Perfect analogy.
     
  12. Aug 27, 2020 at 7:34 PM
    #32
    RobP62

    RobP62 NVR20LD

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Member:
    #220718
    Messages:
    41,519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Street, Md.
    Vehicle:
    TTC Member #0125
    As long as you have a way to input the new sensor codes into the device and it can write that information to your ECU, yes.

    More sophisticated devices are just able to read the sensor codes while in the tire and store that data in the device and then write it to the ECU.
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #32
  13. Aug 27, 2020 at 7:39 PM
    #33
    M37r1c

    M37r1c Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Member:
    #327554
    Messages:
    395
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Vehicle:
    2008 Toyota Tacoma RC 4x4
    I just bought some sensors myself on eBay. Are we suppose to have have 5 including the spare or will 4 do? Feel like 5 is gonna be the answer...
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #33
    RobP62 likes this.
  14. Aug 27, 2020 at 7:43 PM
    #34
    RobP62

    RobP62 NVR20LD

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Member:
    #220718
    Messages:
    41,519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Street, Md.
    Vehicle:
    TTC Member #0125
    Do you have 5 matching tires/wheels? If so are you going to rotate the spare into the mix? If so then you will want 5. Keep in the mind, no two sensors have the same code so you can buy them any time. You will need to buy a device that you first input the codes into and second write to the ECU each time you rotate your tires because our trucks can only store 4 at a time.
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #34
  15. Aug 27, 2020 at 8:12 PM
    #35
    cwadej

    cwadej Ballerina Award winner

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Member:
    #245352
    Messages:
    1,216
    Gender:
    Male
    Right Here
    Vehicle:
    2011 Access Cab 4x4

    which sucks... I just changed to steel wheels that had the sensors in them. they worked for a day, now Discount Tire cant get them to work. Sensors are all good, computer recognizes them, just cant get the light to go off.
     
    RobP62 likes this.
  16. Aug 27, 2020 at 8:14 PM
    #36
    RobP62

    RobP62 NVR20LD

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Member:
    #220718
    Messages:
    41,519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Street, Md.
    Vehicle:
    TTC Member #0125
    I found out that 2nd gen sensors don't work in a 3rd gen. I wonder if you got 3rd gen's?
     
  17. Aug 27, 2020 at 8:21 PM
    #37
    cwadej

    cwadej Ballerina Award winner

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Member:
    #245352
    Messages:
    1,216
    Gender:
    Male
    Right Here
    Vehicle:
    2011 Access Cab 4x4
    I dont know. I think they came off an old 4Runner. The kid I got them from was driving one. I should have asked, but at that time didnt think of it as I planned to just swap over the sensors I had in the wheels at that time. Maybe I'll take the whole mess to Discount and pay them to swap sensors, since I know they work
     
    RobP62[QUOTED] likes this.
  18. Aug 27, 2020 at 8:27 PM
    #38
    RobP62

    RobP62 NVR20LD

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Member:
    #220718
    Messages:
    41,519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Street, Md.
    Vehicle:
    TTC Member #0125
    Yea, I wish I had a better answer. My dealer told me it had to do with the number of characters in the sensors code not being compatible. It does make some sense because if you buy new ones you have to put in the model year.
     
To Top