1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS relearn tool

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Kolby, Mar 16, 2021.

  1. Mar 16, 2021 at 12:57 PM
    #1
    Kolby

    Kolby [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #343935
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kolby
    Vehicle:
    2015 v6 Tacoma 4WD Sport
    I have 8 TMPS sensors, 4 for snow tires and rims and 4 all season tires with rims. I know there is a button under the steering wheel but I've been told that's only for when you rotate your tires, not learn 4 new TPMS sensors. Is there a tool that can make the truck relearn the TMPS sensors that's not a super expensive scan tool? Otherwise its $30 to relearn at the mechanic assuming I change the tires and that will add up over time.
     
  2. Mar 16, 2021 at 1:43 PM
    #2
    Clench

    Clench Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2021
    Member:
    #356575
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Toyota Tacoma Prerunner
    Bought this one awhile ago

    557F23A2-861C-45F9-B514-C747D0674BD0.jpg
     
  3. Mar 16, 2021 at 4:28 PM
    #3
    deanosaurus

    deanosaurus Caveman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Member:
    #260241
    Messages:
    397
    Northeast Region
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD OR AC
    https://www.amazon.com/ATEQ-QuickSet-TPMS-Reset-Tool/dp/B008SCWXN4/

    This tool will let you swap between your winter and summer wheels. I just ordered one myself. It won't wake/activate the sensors themselves, and it won't allow you to set your truck to "learn" mode.

    What it does is read the TPMS sensor data out of your ECU for the set currently programmed into the truck; then you take the serial numbers off of your other set of TPMS (they should be printed on the sensors themselves), and use your computer to put those numbers into the other "slot" in the tool. After that, you can plug it into your ODBII port and swap the values stored in your ECU to one set of sensors or the other.
     
  4. Mar 16, 2021 at 4:33 PM
    #4
    Clench

    Clench Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2021
    Member:
    #356575
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Toyota Tacoma Prerunner
    With the tso144 you don’t need a computer. A bit expensive but it’s worth the price
     
  5. Mar 16, 2021 at 5:18 PM
    #5
    igno1tus

    igno1tus Small member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Member:
    #216359
    Messages:
    1,796
    Lehigh Valley Area , PA
    Vehicle:
    '07 Tacoma Access Cab TRD Off Road
    I bought a cheapo computer for $80 off eBay and a kit from Amazon with the plug for 35 (I think) and installed win xp which is what techstream requires . At first it didn’t work and I got a older version of the techstream and finally did get it to work . It was a pain in my opinion , and took me a little while to trouble shoot and get it to work .

    if I had to do it over I would buy the dedicated tool if that actually works , I haven’t used the techstream software for anything besides replacing my tpms


    Butttt it was worth the pain in the ass to do myself because Toyota wanted 96.00 +tax a piece for the sensors and $150 to program them . I did all 5 sensors (spare tire sensor is #5) and programmed them for 200ish for everything
     
  6. Mar 16, 2021 at 5:44 PM
    #6
    steelcity2

    steelcity2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Member:
    #329898
    Messages:
    1,088
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh Pa
    Vehicle:
    2013 MGM DCSB TRD sport
    Bilsteins 5100's all 4 corners 1 inch rear spacer
    I bought an autel tool , it has free lifetime updates and I use it on all my cars . Maybe ~$100 on Ebay. Hooks up to ur obd.
     
  7. Mar 16, 2021 at 5:59 PM
    #7
    Muddinfun

    Muddinfun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Member:
    #216500
    Messages:
    7,507
    1 more thing to mention. The button under the steering wheel has nothing to do with tire location. The ECU doesn’t know or care where the sensors are. They can be in the bed of your truck and it won’t know the difference. The button is to teach the ECU what normal pressure is for your truck so it can make a determination what abnormal pressure is.
     
    deanosaurus and Jimmyh like this.
  8. Mar 17, 2021 at 7:26 AM
    #8
    Clench

    Clench Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2021
    Member:
    #356575
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Toyota Tacoma Prerunner
    The TSO 144 also reads battery level on the tpms
     
    steelcity2 likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top