1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Reset

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by WestTexasTacoma, Oct 26, 2008.

  1. Jan 7, 2009 at 6:39 PM
    #41
    A.D.

    A.D. Desert Riding Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Member:
    #12198
    Messages:
    709
    Gender:
    Male
    SoC♠l 4 life but stationed in Utah
    Vehicle:
    Low and Slow Mini
    This is what I did(but don't tell toyota!!), while driving push and hold the sensor for 10 seconds. The very next time i turned the truck on the sensor light was gone, and since then i have tested the sensor at the gas station by deflating a tire enough to ride on around the parking lot without F'n it up, and the light did not come back on, then i refilled the tire and it has not come back on since then.

    Now i know alot of you are going to want to start flaming instantly, but i check the tires often enough myself, and do not really care if my damn spare gets a lil low!! I live in the desert where last week the temp was 30 degrees out and this week it has been 70 everyday, so my pressure changes often. I hate the light, and think it is a good option for those men and women out there who do not know they should check their tire pressure often.

    Maybe i should have had them replace the valve stem with a plastic one on the spare, or filled the tire with nitrogen so that it would not expand and contract so much, but i went this way instead. And my boy at the local toyota shop says they can reset it easily for me if i want, actually he was the one who told me to hold it while driving(not telling what dealer he works at though).

    edit: i do not suggest anyone do this, it may or may not be a good thing, but i have had no problems.
     
  2. Jan 7, 2009 at 7:16 PM
    #42
    MacTaco

    MacTaco Mustache May

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9314
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Indigo, Lifted, Flowmaster
    Skyjacker 3" Lift, 285/75/R16 Toyo M/T tires/ Eagle Alloy Wheels, Flowmaster 50 Series, Pioneer Din Head Unit, Viper Alarm/Remote Start System, Debadged, DT Headers, True Flow Intake
    Hmm. I haven't really scavenged around back there enough to know what the sensor looks like, but I will have to check that out, and see if I can build it.
     
  3. Jan 7, 2009 at 7:29 PM
    #43
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,904
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Someone else should give this a try. I think this may be the "fix" people have been looking for.
     
  4. Jun 11, 2009 at 5:12 PM
    #44
    TexasIslandBoy

    TexasIslandBoy THE RED DRAGON!!

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Member:
    #18262
    Messages:
    3,203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andrew
    South Texas. SPI
    Vehicle:
    07' trd offroad 4X4 (For Sale)
    pro comp 6inch lift 35'' tires moto 950's radfo coilovers magnaflow exhaust 5/16" front skidplate usa spec ipod interface tree pin strip mod dry drop in filter full size BFG KM2 spare
    im going to try it right now i hate my light i mean HATE
     
  5. Jun 11, 2009 at 5:25 PM
    #45
    TexasIslandBoy

    TexasIslandBoy THE RED DRAGON!!

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Member:
    #18262
    Messages:
    3,203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andrew
    South Texas. SPI
    Vehicle:
    07' trd offroad 4X4 (For Sale)
    pro comp 6inch lift 35'' tires moto 950's radfo coilovers magnaflow exhaust 5/16" front skidplate usa spec ipod interface tree pin strip mod dry drop in filter full size BFG KM2 spare
    nope didnt work for me someone find out how its killin me
     
  6. Jun 13, 2010 at 10:50 AM
    #46
    75thrangertaco

    75thrangertaco Sua Sponte! RLTW

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Member:
    #37065
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    charles
    casper wyoming
    procomp 6 inch co lift ,305/55/20 xtreme a/t tires,4.88 gears ,,grill shell painted white billet inserts.Trd cat back ,
    my 08 has a data recorder? if so im selling it
     
  7. Jun 13, 2010 at 4:13 PM
    #47
    jtaco

    jtaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5958
    Messages:
    277
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07,trdOR,DC,4x4,v6,saw2.5s,OMEdakars,LRarms
    saw2.5s,AEMshortair,skyjackershocks,LRa-arms,OME dakars,Alpine,JL audio 6x9 3 way in front doors
    heres an idea, drive around till u find another tacoma,pull next to it, and press ur tpms button to reset it or get light to go off.it will read the sensors in other truck and should turn ur light off for a while, if u dont have sensors in ur tires. i had my truck in dealership when i didnt have sensors somehow i got light to go off, when i got it back the light was on and i got all the mechanics from back and none of them could get it to go back off , they had no clue what to do.
     
  8. Jun 13, 2010 at 4:20 PM
    #48
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,904
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Yep.
     
  9. Jun 13, 2010 at 4:22 PM
    #49
    Brunes

    Brunes abides. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,727
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    Big Easy, USA
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit Upcoming: ATO Gas Tank Skid and Sliders w/ kickout. ATO Shackle Flip Kit. Down the line: Front/Rear ARB Lockers w/ OBA. 4.56 Gears
    The bold part is the only thing I take issue with. I do more than the average maintenance on my cars and pay close attention to my tire pressure/wear. However, the day that I drove over a sheetrock blade on the interstate it saved my ass from a catastrophic blow out.


    I'd be interested to see if this really works or if it's some sort of oddity.

    Better start buying old cars...estimated that like 85% of cars today have them...
     
  10. Jun 27, 2010 at 9:17 AM
    #50
    Redsoxnation

    Redsoxnation Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Member:
    #12958
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    Pa.
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner TRD 4X4 Impulse Red
    none yet...
    I have a 2006 TRD Access Cab 4x4... I do not have a reset button as pictured in this topic.. Look all over none to be found... This Fall I'm putting on new tires at my hobby shop my self.. so when I remove the wheels roll them over to the tire rack.. deflate, remove, retire,inflate,balance and roll back over truck mount will the TPMS light up? if so... I assume Ii have to back to my dealer to have it reset correct? Thanks for any info on this confusing topic..
     
  11. Jun 27, 2010 at 9:28 AM
    #51
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,904
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    You may not have the TPS on your truck. IIRC, it was an option on the '06's
     
  12. Jun 27, 2010 at 11:09 AM
    #52
    tonto340

    tonto340 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Member:
    #15246
    Messages:
    137
    Gender:
    Male
    Gambrills, MD
    There is a device called Quickset made by ATEQ that a person can use to reset the TPMS light. I ordered mine with new tires, sensors and wheels from tirerack.com. You plug the device into your computer via USB, pick your vehicle, go to vehicle, turn key on and read current sensors ID's. Go back to computer and designate whether these sensors are Winter or Summer. Then enter new sensor ID's (mine were provided by Tire Rack), go back to vehicle and new sensor IDs will be programmed to the ECU. The Quickset is capable of managing winter and summer sensor IDs for four vehicles
     
  13. Jun 29, 2010 at 6:16 AM
    #53
    Redsoxnation

    Redsoxnation Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Member:
    #12958
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    Pa.
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner TRD 4X4 Impulse Red
    none yet...

    I doubled checked I have TPMS ( Toyota Painintheass Maint. Syndrome)

    I do have valves... Guess I'll deal with it the Fall when I re tread..
     
  14. Jun 19, 2013 at 6:15 PM
    #54
    freeskier865

    freeskier865 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34173
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    travis bowdle
    utah
    afe stage 2 cold air,afe catback,3 inch procomp lift, Urd maf calibrator, 8k HID low/high beam, 6k LED fogs
    Do u need to have 5 tpms for the light to go off i have 4 new ones cause of new wheels and a local shop said my spare was bad and the could not reprogram my new tpms to the truck it there a way to bypass the spare
     
  15. Oct 27, 2013 at 1:29 PM
    #55
    Brandoaz

    Brandoaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Member:
    #105378
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    I have an 07 Tacoma with the TPMS that is on and wont reset using the reset button, it just flashes and then goes back to being solid.
    BUT, in reading this thread i see people suggest i check the spare.
    MY spare is on the truck, the wheel/tire that was on the truck in the bed of the truck with a shredded tire on it after a blow out.
    In just a bit i will take the shredded unit out of the truck, will it reset then?
    EDit:
    No it will not.
    Spare is in garage, tried to reset indicator, it starts to flash and continues and then goes solid again.
    Is this BECAUSE there is no spare?
    How does this system sense the low pressure and where are the sensors?
     
  16. Oct 27, 2013 at 1:42 PM
    #56
    Tacoma Mike

    Tacoma Mike 41 Year Toyota/Chrysler Tech/ASE Master

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Member:
    #61230
    Messages:
    3,615
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Maine
    Vehicle:
    2011 Double Cab V6
    Large Storage Box, 02610 intermittent switch swap, "Hot Wire" Power Outlets, DRL Shut Off, Disable Fob Beep, Disable Seat Belt Buzzers, Parking Light Mod, Battery Tender, 4 Leaf Spring Pack, Rear Headrest Removal, Custom Ultragauge Mount, Factory Tow Package (7 Pin)
    You have a issue with a sensor. More than likely the sensor in the shredded tire
    Is damaged.
    Flashing tpms light means a problem.
    There is no need to play with your tpms sensor reset. All you do is change the threshold pressure.

    Get the tpms ecu read and make sure it's only a dead sensor.
     
  17. Oct 27, 2013 at 2:20 PM
    #57
    Brandoaz

    Brandoaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Member:
    #105378
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Long story short, i kind of inherited/repossessed /assumed ownership of this truck form my brother in law...long story he is incarcerated now.
    This thing has had loads of problems, he beat the crap out of it..sad.

    Anyway..the blown wheel/spare does not have the metal stem that the other wheels that are on the truck do have.
    ok, so it makes no difference that the spare is 100 feet from the vehicle?
    does it "look" for 5 sensor reading so to speak and if it doesnt see one stays lit or flashes?
    Whats odd is i dont recall this light being on prior to the blow out...perhaps im wrong, could have been on the list of crap i need to look at, i wasnt driving it much, but now i am and noticing things
     
  18. Oct 27, 2013 at 2:33 PM
    #58
    Tacoma Mike

    Tacoma Mike 41 Year Toyota/Chrysler Tech/ASE Master

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Member:
    #61230
    Messages:
    3,615
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Maine
    Vehicle:
    2011 Double Cab V6
    Large Storage Box, 02610 intermittent switch swap, "Hot Wire" Power Outlets, DRL Shut Off, Disable Fob Beep, Disable Seat Belt Buzzers, Parking Light Mod, Battery Tender, 4 Leaf Spring Pack, Rear Headrest Removal, Custom Ultragauge Mount, Factory Tow Package (7 Pin)
    U have a 5 sensor system.
    Looks for 5
    See's anything less it flashes. Then stays on steady
     
  19. Oct 27, 2013 at 2:35 PM
    #59
    The Stig

    The Stig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Member:
    #109473
    Messages:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    My truck came with TPMS sensors in the original wheels but now that I changed the wheels, the light has only come on once and was gone next time I started the truck. I'm not sure what the deal with that is but I'm ok with it.
     
  20. Oct 27, 2013 at 2:36 PM
    #60
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Your '07 has 5 (and needs 5 valid transmitters at proper pressure)
    '09 or '10, they eliminated the spare sensor.

    But if the rims have ever been swapped, the new sensors may not be programmed into the ECU. They not only have to be there, the computer has to recognize the electronic serial number.

    Also, since the truck is older, the batteries in the sensors may be dead. They are lithium button cell batteries and life is anywhere from 5-8 years.

    Go to a tire shop and ask them to check your TPMS programming. Discount/America's will do it for free.
     
To Top