1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Sensor Issues

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TacoGuy22, Jun 15, 2022.

  1. Jun 15, 2022 at 12:26 PM
    #1
    TacoGuy22

    TacoGuy22 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2022
    Member:
    #399470
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm at a loss of what to do and could use anyone's expertise and opinion...

    My 2006 Tacoma had new tires and sensors installed at a Costco about 3 years ago. No issues until recently when I had a flashing TPMS alarm. I took it in to Costco to diagnose/replace the sensor. They replaced 1 sensor and sent me on my way. 2 days later the alarm was flashing again. I returned to Costco and was advised the other 4 sensors needed replacement as well. It all seemed too coincidental to me, but I went ahead and replaced the rest of the sensors. Fast forward a couple days again and the flashing sensor alarm returned. All in all I made 4 separate visits to Costco where they ultimately uninstalled the sensors and refunded my money. They went ahead and let me keep the new sensors since they no longer had my original ones (that were only a few years old and maybe weren't broken after all?) and the fact that they broke a stud after cross threading a lug nut on a previous visit....what a mess.

    Fast forward to today. I've taken my truck to the local Toyota service department where I'm being told that the sensors sold by Costco are not readable/programmable and that it'll cost $1400 to replace all the sensors with OEM sensors. Besides the outrageous cost, any idea why Costco's sensors are giving me such a headache? Should I go to a separate tire shop and see if their sensors work? I know it's just a TPMS issue, but I like the idea of my truck telling me (or my wife) when there's an air pressure issue so I can fix it immediately.

    Happy to hear anyone's thoughts or opinions. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Jun 15, 2022 at 1:01 PM
    #2
    Marshall R

    Marshall R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Member:
    #156224
    Messages:
    4,398
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marshall
    Vehicle:
    07 White TRD double cab
    none
    Did they replace the one in the spare? Your truck has 5 working sensors.

    I have these in my 2007 Tacoma, pretty sure the same part number works on a 2006. Buy 5 of these and go back to Costco. I put 5 of them in my 2007 a couple of years ago and they worked perfectly. I bought them and took them to Discount tire and they installed them at no additional cost along with the new tires.

    I did have to find a used tire for my spare. Since the spare was over 10 years old Discount Tire, nor any reputable shop would touch it.

    At most any tire store shouldn't charge you more than about $10-$15 each to install them. And after the Costco fiasco I'd press them to do it at no charge.

    Cheaper to buy as a set:

    Amazon.com: MORESENSOR 315MHz TPMS Tire Pressure Sensor 4-Pack | Compatible with Lexus & Toyota Select Models | Replacement for 42607-33011 | Clamp-in | NX-S008-4 : Automotive

    Then you'll need one more for the spare.

    Amazon.com: MORESENSOR Signature Series 315MHz TPMS Tire Pressure Sensor | Preprogrammed for Select 270+ Japanese Brand Models | Replacement for 42607-33011 | Clamp-in | NX-S008 : Automotive

    I have Amazon TPMS sensors in 3 vehicles. They all cost about $20 each and have all worked perfectly.
     
  3. Jun 15, 2022 at 1:04 PM
    #3
    TacoGuy22

    TacoGuy22 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2022
    Member:
    #399470
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    I appreciate the response. Yeah, all 5 sensors were replaced over the course of a few weeks. From what I'm reading Costco will only install sensors purchased from the warehouse. I'm thinking I'll give it a shot and buy some on Amazon and find a local shop that will do it.
     
  4. Jun 15, 2022 at 1:39 PM
    #4
    muddog321

    muddog321 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Member:
    #27973
    Messages:
    1,123
    Gender:
    Male
    FL
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma DCSB 4wd TRD Off-Road w/e-locker Pyrite Mica
    TW 1-piece driveshaft with 1310 u-joints All Pro and Budbuilt skid plates OME Dakar rear springs 3" with 5100 5100 front set at 1.75" (3rd groove up) with stock springs Falken Wildpeak A/T3W 265/70R16 2018 TRD Offroad wheels 16x7J with +25mm offset Powerstop rotors with Z36 pads and rebuilt with OEM caliper kit Complete rebuilt rear brakes drums, shoes, springs, wheel cylinders Rebuilt rear diff with Yukon 3.73 ring/pinion Denso 130A rebuilt alternator AGM 24F Battery New OEM idlers and tensioner assembly New AC compressor New PS hose and flushed Walker SS Quiet Flow muffler Denso Iridium long life plugs #3421 (SK20HR11) OEM coolant, cap, and thermostat NAPA CV axles and new seals ECGS bushing Rhino front guard Shortened mud flaps Alziria Black Tail Lights Nilight Headlights X-Bull Traction Boards Maaco full single stage paint job 2023 Nat CV to Knuckle seals 710573 New SKF wheel bearings/hubs BR930978 New Moog stabilizer links K80946 & 948 New MOOG K80819 Suspension Stabilizer Bar Bushing 28mm New Dorman rear wheel bearings using complete axles 926-139 & 140 New Radiator support bushings Dorman 924-267 (front body mounts)
    Another option is Discount Tire that warrantees the sensors but about $60 each installed and programmed so not cheap - but they do what Costco should have.
    Never had a problem plus if you wack one off-road in rock fields they replace free - like chip the top of the valve stems (threaded area) but never had one leak or deflate.
     
    Robnik likes this.
  5. Jun 15, 2022 at 2:01 PM
    #5
    Chris(NJ)

    Chris(NJ) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Member:
    #29777
    Messages:
    4,911
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Usually in Central Jersey
    Vehicle:
    08 Indigo 4x4 DC OR
    Mods are currently being changed .....

    Not suggesting you'll have the same issues, but I tried the Amazon ones and the local tire shop (managed by a tw member) could not get the amazon sensors to read. I wound up getting generic ones from them. I wanna say they were around 100/ea? Can't really remember, but can look it up if you want.
     
  6. Jun 15, 2022 at 5:24 PM
    #6
    Marshall R

    Marshall R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Member:
    #156224
    Messages:
    4,398
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marshall
    Vehicle:
    07 White TRD double cab
    none
    Forgetting about the sensor in the spare is a common issue.

    And like you I like having working sensors and have never had a negative issue with them. You'll find lots of threads about disabling them and I'm surprised no one has suggested that so far. They aren't designed to replace an air gauge. They are designed to warn you of a sudden deflation while driving and give you time to get stopped before the tire completely fails. I've had that happen before and was glad the sensors gave me a few seconds advance warning.

    I bought a used Jeep Wrangler a few years ago and the original owner had aftermarket tires with no sensors when I bought it. I ordered the same brand from Amazon and a small local tire store installed them for $10 each.

    The last time I had new tires mounted on both my Tacoma and F150 I proactively replaced the sensors. They were still working, but I knew they would not outlast another set of tires. I don't consider around $80 every 7-10 years to be a problem. I'd hate to have to go with $1400 factory sensors. So far all of the ones I've bought are working fine.
     
  7. Jun 15, 2022 at 5:41 PM
    #7
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy old, forgetful, and decomposing

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    6,772
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Offroad DCSB AT- VSC,TRAC,HAC, & DAC
    Icon Stage 8, ECGS Bushing, Timbren bump stops, Crown braided/extended brake lines, Overland Custom Design sway bar links, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extension & reroute, front windows tint, Cat Security, XPEL headlight/fog & grill protection, OEM block heater, RCBS illuminated 4X4 switch, Sherpa Grand Teton/Crows nest, Baja Designs S8 light bar, Diode Dynamics SS3 Pro fog lights
    The batteries in my 2007's sensors died a few years back. I use a $10 pressure gauge now just like the good old days... problem solved. :thumbsup:
     
    Marc70 likes this.
  8. Jun 15, 2022 at 6:12 PM
    #8
    tacobp

    tacobp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2021
    Member:
    #382308
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma, 2.7 automatic
    Installed a Pop n Lock,,That's it !..Bone stock
    My original sensors in my 09 are still working ! When they die I'll use a tire pressure gauge as well...
     
  9. Jun 16, 2022 at 12:01 AM
    #9
    Jerry Bear

    Jerry Bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Member:
    #51743
    Messages:
    179
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Mesquite, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    tint, topper, receiver hitch, trailer wiring, topper lighting, cruise control, intermittent wipers, backup camera, auto-dim mirror
    You need to do some troubleshooting before you spend any more on sensors. You may have a problem with a TPWS component in the truck, not the sensor(s). Either way, you need to see what the TPWS system is doing.

    My next step would be to plug my laptop into the OBD port, run Techstream, and look for error codes and weirdness in the TPWS system. You should be able to see the pressures of all of the sensors in Techstream and figure out which is mounted to which tire by adding and subtracting air.

    Techstream is Toyota's service software. Old versions may be found for free on the net. A laptop-to-OBD cable may be purchased on the net.
     
    Raylo likes this.
  10. Jun 16, 2022 at 6:23 AM
    #10
    dtaco10

    dtaco10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Member:
    #258356
    Messages:
    654
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Anoka County, Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2010 White Tacoma 4x4, 4.0, Auto
  11. Jun 16, 2022 at 6:45 AM
    #11
    Robnik

    Robnik Disciplined Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Member:
    #84461
    Messages:
    6,389
    First Name:
    Rob
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 Base Reg Cab 2.7L 2TR-FE A340E
    I've always had good luck with Discount. When it comes to change mine, I'll go there. I like the way they do business & their employees. $60 is fine with me.

    [​IMG]

    Made in Germany, "wunderbar" LOL! :)
     
    TacoGuy22[OP] likes this.
  12. Jun 16, 2022 at 6:59 AM
    #12
    Leomania

    Leomania Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2021
    Member:
    #368975
    Messages:
    420
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Leo
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma TRD Sport DCLB v6 4x4
    All stock, baby!
    You can get these (alloy wheel model) direct from Denso online for about $40 each.

    https://www.densoproducts.com/denso-550-0103-tpms-sensor

    I got them there, had Discount Tire install and link them when I had new tires installed. Work like a charm, and no concerns about counterfeits.
     
  13. Jun 17, 2022 at 10:58 AM
    #13
    TacoGuy22

    TacoGuy22 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2022
    Member:
    #399470
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
  14. Jun 17, 2022 at 10:59 AM
    #14
    TacoGuy22

    TacoGuy22 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2022
    Member:
    #399470
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for everyone's input. I'm going to purchase some cheaper ones and see if Discount or somewhere less expensive than the dealer can fix the issue.
     
  15. Jun 17, 2022 at 8:06 PM
    #15
    ellocodetroit

    ellocodetroit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Member:
    #6366
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Louie
    Alhambra, So Cal
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner DCLB Eaton Truetrac 4.11
    Bilstein 6112/5160, Icon RXT Stage 3, Cooper ST Maxx, MF-1050 OBA. 348,000 Miles. Coupe battery tie down, Homertaco Grille, Weathertech Floorliners, Front shocks @1.94", ARE camper shell, TRD skid plate.
    Try airing down your tires and then air them back up. Denso TPMS sensors need to be woken up with this technique. I'm not sure if other brands work in the same manner.
     
  16. Jun 18, 2022 at 2:08 PM
    #16
    -Habibi-

    -Habibi- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Member:
    #232523
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Why not buy the OEM Denso from rock auto for $36/each?
     
    steelcity2 likes this.
  17. Aug 16, 2022 at 10:02 AM
    #17
    TexasPrd

    TexasPrd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2021
    Member:
    #362373
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prerunner (Possibly Sport)
    The above two posts are what I did. I had a bad sensor, and another one on it's way out (low battery). I bought two Denso 5500103 sensors from RA and had a local tire shop replace/install them, since I don't have a tire machine. I have a Snap-On Modis scan tool, which has Toyota TPMS functions. When I first tried to enter the sensor IDs (all five had to be entered, even though only two were new), the scan tool initiated a test after ID entry - this failed. There is a tag on the sensor stem that says if you don't have a TPMS tool with "updated software", you can wake up the sensor by releasing air from the tire for three seconds (or more). After releasing air from the two tires with new sensors, I input the IDs again and the scan tool completed the test cycle successfully. I did the relearn procedure with the under-dash button, and no more warning light.
     
  18. Aug 16, 2022 at 9:03 PM
    #18
    InfernoTRDPro

    InfernoTRDPro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2022
    Member:
    #401130
    Messages:
    176
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Pro 4x4
    "OEM+"
    Discount Tire also did my old tacoma for $60 per sensor installed and programmed. Hope that helps!
     
  19. Aug 17, 2022 at 8:43 PM
    #19
    optifree

    optifree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2022
    Member:
    #388186
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Pflugerville
    Vehicle:
    2010 AC TRD
    OME
    I paid a tire shop $140 to install their tpms sensor and program it because Discount Tire said they have issues with the sensors they have with Toyotas and they could not guarantee that they tpms light would go out.
     
  20. Aug 18, 2022 at 4:09 AM
    #20
    cmoore

    cmoore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53609
    Messages:
    152
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charlie
    Dallas, Texas
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner
    After reading this thread I'm glad I didn't let Costco replace my sensors. The sensors crapped out about 6 months after the purchase. They were stock. I solve the problem with some black felt and a tire pressure gauge.
     
To Top