1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS sensor question with pics

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by DAVE94LIGHTNING, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. Dec 9, 2011 at 8:43 PM
    #1
    DAVE94LIGHTNING

    DAVE94LIGHTNING [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Member:
    #54052
    Messages:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm trying to build a capsule to pressurize to get rid of the low pressure warning light. I need to know if I can just use one sensor as the valve and just keep the rest of the sensors in the capsule or do I need to fill each sensor?

    Tube drilled for valve

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    One Valve installed

    [​IMG]

    Can the rest just sit in the canister??

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Dec 9, 2011 at 8:54 PM
    #2
    NelsonTacoma

    NelsonTacoma This is my derpawayinator!!!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Member:
    #33969
    Messages:
    2,080
    Gender:
    Male
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD Sport 03 4Runner Limited 4wd
    Bilstein 5100's , 6000k HID Hi/Low Kit, Magnaflow Muffler, 1.5 inch AP Wheel Spacers, Mudflap Delete
    The rest can just sit in the can. Nice design. :thumbsup:
     
  3. Dec 10, 2011 at 7:35 AM
    #3
    06SR5canada

    06SR5canada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Member:
    #60338
    Messages:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    06 dblcab SR5
    2ndary air filter removed, flowmaster 40
    Love my 06 mod to turn it off
     
  4. Dec 10, 2011 at 7:58 AM
    #4
    kieth

    kieth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Member:
    #45462
    Messages:
    181
    Gender:
    Male
    British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    06 trd
    Full OME lift with Dakars, 886s and LR UCA's, Firestone air bags w\ onboard compressor, 2 kicker CVT 10" subs , MB Quart 1000w amp ,Alpine media player
    what is your 06 mod to turn it off? it would be nice if it only monitored your spare. the one tire u cant visually see all the time and your screwed if its flat and u need it.
     
  5. Dec 10, 2011 at 8:02 AM
    #5
    Hayes

    Hayes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60946
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2011 Regular Cab Tacoma 4x4

    You can just install all the sensors in the spare tire... Same concept as above.
     
  6. Dec 10, 2011 at 8:03 AM
    #6
    Hayes

    Hayes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60946
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2011 Regular Cab Tacoma 4x4
    What are you using to seal the ends? I built one of these but have had problems with sealing the ends. It leaks like mad and I gave up recently.
     
  7. Dec 10, 2011 at 8:35 AM
    #7
    DAVE94LIGHTNING

    DAVE94LIGHTNING [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Member:
    #54052
    Messages:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    ABS adhesive and RTV.
     
  8. Dec 10, 2011 at 11:42 AM
    #8
    DAVE94LIGHTNING

    DAVE94LIGHTNING [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Member:
    #54052
    Messages:
    183
    Gender:
    Male

    DAMN...wish I thought of this before buying all the crap to build this contraption. LOL I think i'll just do the spare tire thing and call it a day. Do you know if they have to be "loose" in the spare tire to read the pressure or can they be in a little baggie etc....I'm assuming loose or it wont get an accurate pressure reading. Maybe i;ll just use ruber adhesive to stick them to the ratial tire wall on the inside.
     
  9. Dec 10, 2011 at 1:32 PM
    #9
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,016
    Gender:
    Male
    I think you're still going to want to be able to balance your spare.
     
  10. Dec 10, 2011 at 1:46 PM
    #10
    jflan

    jflan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Member:
    #11901
    Messages:
    1,013
    Vancouver, WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Access 4x4 2.7L manual SR5
    SnugTop SuperSport Sportsman keyless cap Weathertech mats - OEM skidplate - OEM hitch
    I think that I would try to anchor them equidistant around the inside (deepest) part of the wheel (not tire).
    Wouldn't want to try to stick them to rubber and you definitely don't want them loose in there.

    Might use epoxy or banding to anchor them.
     
  11. Dec 10, 2011 at 4:14 PM
    #11
    boatswain

    boatswain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Member:
    #48621
    Messages:
    2,473
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    carl
    palmerton,PA.
    Vehicle:
    09 barcelona red , base
    darn, where did you get instructions for that thing. plenty of instructions on this forum to build one. I made a "pipe bomb", and it works fine.
     
  12. Dec 11, 2011 at 10:36 AM
    #12
    DAVE94LIGHTNING

    DAVE94LIGHTNING [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Member:
    #54052
    Messages:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Instructions? Who the hell uses those? lol
     
  13. Dec 11, 2011 at 1:16 PM
    #13
    boatswain

    boatswain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Member:
    #48621
    Messages:
    2,473
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    carl
    palmerton,PA.
    Vehicle:
    09 barcelona red , base
    UHH!! ME :D! :anonymous:
     
  14. Dec 11, 2011 at 2:40 PM
    #14
    Phantom

    Phantom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Member:
    #64682
    Messages:
    56
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD Sport Double Cab
    What happens if you get new tires and dont have the sensors installed? Other then the light always being on is there anything else? This is the first time Ive had a truck with TPMS.
     
  15. Dec 11, 2011 at 5:06 PM
    #15
    weazel

    weazel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37480
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    I did the same thing and working great for over a year
    003.jpg
     
  16. Dec 11, 2011 at 10:04 PM
    #16
    Hayes

    Hayes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60946
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2011 Regular Cab Tacoma 4x4
    If you mount them in the drop center of the wheel, you will break sensors every time you dismount the tire. The drop center needs to be used to install and remove the tire.

    Op, if you install them in a Baggie, you won't get a good reading because inside the bag will have a different pressure than the rest of the wheel.


    Throwing out an idea, you could probably drill out more valve holes very close together on the spare if you are concerned about mounting them solidly and balance it...
     
  17. Dec 11, 2011 at 10:07 PM
    #17
    MonkeyProof

    MonkeyProof Power Top

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Member:
    #9774
    Messages:
    9,564
    SoCal- SGV
    i seen someone at TTORA do this a few years back..pretty cool.

    be fun tho in explaining what appears to be a pipe bomb in the pack seat of your taco if searched by law enforcement for whatever reason hahah
     
  18. Dec 11, 2011 at 10:13 PM
    #18
    jflan

    jflan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Member:
    #11901
    Messages:
    1,013
    Vancouver, WA
    Vehicle:
    09 Access 4x4 2.7L manual SR5
    SnugTop SuperSport Sportsman keyless cap Weathertech mats - OEM skidplate - OEM hitch
    I'd thought about that, but why not equidistant ?
    Seems like it would balance better that way.
     
  19. Dec 11, 2011 at 10:17 PM
    #19
    Hayes

    Hayes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60946
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2011 Regular Cab Tacoma 4x4
    If you watch someone mount a tire, there is one section that has to get 'tight' on the wheel to mount it up an if the sensor is in that spot, you will break a sensor. Therefore if you mount one at at every 45 degrees, you'll actually break 3 out of 4 sensors while mounting the tire.

    It's hard to explain but if you saw it, you'd see why immediately.
     
  20. Dec 11, 2011 at 10:22 PM
    #20
    Hayes

    Hayes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Member:
    #60946
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2011 Regular Cab Tacoma 4x4
    Plus it is your spare, which (theoretically) only needs to be balanced for shorter distances. Having a heavy weight on the wheel won't affect the wheel and tire for as long as it takes to get to a place to get your tire fixed or replaced.
     
To Top