1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS sensor question

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by michaelg589, Jul 17, 2011.

  1. Jul 17, 2011 at 5:00 PM
    #1
    michaelg589

    michaelg589 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Member:
    #41927
    Messages:
    501
    Gender:
    Male
    I should be getting my new wheels in about another week. I have been trying to decide what to do about my TPMS situation. Whether or not I should buy new ones, try to find used ones, or reuse mine.

    My question is about buying replacements. If I buy new ones, will I have to have a dealer program them? If I buy a used set from someone, will I have to change anything? $300 for new sensors plus having to get them reprogrammed is not exactly something i want to do.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Jul 17, 2011 at 5:09 PM
    #2
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    You would have to have any new or used sensors (other than the ones you had) reprogrammed by the dealer. I would use the sensors you have now on your new wheels.
     
  3. Aug 5, 2011 at 8:33 AM
    #3
    candypaintdrip1

    candypaintdrip1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Member:
    #61061
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andrew
    MN
    Vehicle:
    09 toyo tacoma trdsport
    Hid kit and fogs painted window visors skid plate led third brake light led reverse lights painted hard toneau cover
    So im planning on buying a new set of wheels and tires, and using my stock 17 inch alloys for the winter on a diff set of tires....So what would you do in that case? just not transfer the tpms on my summer tires and leave it with the stock wheel? Thank you
     
  4. Aug 5, 2011 at 12:33 PM
    #4
    daggertats

    daggertats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Member:
    #39720
    Messages:
    544
    Gender:
    Male
    arden nc
    Vehicle:
    2010 tacoma 4x4 reg cab
    undercover tonneau ,bug deflector, removal of all tacoma emblems added a set of component speakers behind the rear seat egr in channel window visors
    other threads have quotes of 85 bucks for a dealer to reprogram the sensors. id definitly use the ones you have if at all possible. in your case andrew, some people just ran a set of wheels and tires and ignored the dash light. they say if you park close to where the old tires are where the sensors are itll make the light go out. itll come on again when the computer cant pick up the sensor signal. ive seen threads where some members built a airtight pvc canister ,put the sensors in it and put air in it thus tricking the computer. i believe i also seen a thread here where someone actually disconnected the sensor light. that being said if i was runnin 2 sets of wheels id probably just deal with the light on till i switched my wheels back to the ones with the sensors in them
     
  5. Aug 5, 2011 at 4:58 PM
    #5
    cobia23

    cobia23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Member:
    #14665
    Messages:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5
    I bought a set of 4 for $60 from OE wheels on EBay, they were brand new, I had the dealer install them and they charged me $130 to mount and balance 4 tires and program the new TPMS sensors. I have them on an 09 and they work perfect.
     
  6. Aug 6, 2011 at 5:46 AM
    #6
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,321
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    I opted to leave my sensors in my stock steel set & run no sensors in summer alloy set.
    The truck tpms does not throw a light unless I exceed its distance over a period of time such as going out of town around 30 miles. The range is pretty good & consistant.
    When it does happen, once back home overnight the system resets itself.
    It has been this way for me the last 4 winter seasons. Several others on here as well.
    Once it did throw a light in the driveway was to tell me one of the tires in the storage shed was low. lol.
     
  7. Aug 8, 2011 at 4:40 PM
    #7
    candypaintdrip1

    candypaintdrip1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Member:
    #61061
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andrew
    MN
    Vehicle:
    09 toyo tacoma trdsport
    Hid kit and fogs painted window visors skid plate led third brake light led reverse lights painted hard toneau cover
    Thanks for the replies, I think I will deal with the light durning the summer months as u said daggertatts.
     
To Top