1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS Serial Number Question

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by jdben, Oct 23, 2010.

  1. Oct 23, 2010 at 5:45 PM
    #1
    jdben

    jdben [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42577
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JB
    VT
    Vehicle:
    11 4cyl automatic
    I have a 2011 Tacoma. I bought a set of used OEM 16" steel wheels that have the OEM TPMS on them.

    First, my Toyota dealer is telling me that if I mount my snow tires on the spare wheels, they will need to record the serial numbers for each TPMS into my truck's computer. Then when I switch to my original wheels with the OEM tires, they must reenter the original TPMS serial numbers. Are they giving me a line ? I would think they could just add the 4 serial numbers from the spare wheels and the computer would recognize and read any of the 9 serial numbers (5 original plus 4 spare wheels).
    Am I being scammed ?

    If not, can someone who is adept at computers, program the truck's computer to accept nine serial numbers ?

    Second, I want to record the serial numbers for my spare wheels on paper before the winter tires are mounted. As I face the the inside of the wheel toward me, I see two sets of serial numbers in the upper right hand corner of the TPMS valves. The top serial number is very small. The serial number underneath it is larger. Which number is needed for input into the truck's computer in order to make it recognize the TPMS ?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. Oct 23, 2010 at 6:06 PM
    #2
    NelsonTacoma

    NelsonTacoma This is my derpawayinator!!!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Member:
    #33969
    Messages:
    2,080
    Gender:
    Male
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD Sport 03 4Runner Limited 4wd
    Bilstein 5100's , 6000k HID Hi/Low Kit, Magnaflow Muffler, 1.5 inch AP Wheel Spacers, Mudflap Delete
    No they are not giving you a line. The TPMS system can only store the serial numbers for up to 5 tires at a time or 4 depending upon the vehicle. It's very easy to reprogram them, but it's not gonna be free. I would suggest (if you don't wanna deal with re-programming) just deciding which tires you are gonna use the most and program those and just live with the tire light the rest of the time.

    Also, you don't need to write down the serial numbers, when the dealership programs your computer they have a scanner thing that reads each tire sensor and then sends it to the computer for programming.
     
  3. Oct 23, 2010 at 8:26 PM
    #3
    Jere

    Jere Outdoorsman

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Member:
    #38814
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Chester County, PA
    Vehicle:
    '10 Access SR5 4x4 4cyl
    NelsonTacoma has it right.
    As an option, TireRack sells a tool that allows you to perform exactly what you are looking to do. That is maintain two sets of serial numbers and switch back and forth with the seasons. It's called an ATEQ Quick Set for about $125, which is cheaper than any quote I've heard from the dealer to make the switch twice. So, for the price of two switches, you can set your self for the life of the vehicle.

    Take a look, you can download the user manual on .pdf and confirm this is what you want.
     
  4. Oct 23, 2010 at 8:33 PM
    #4
    8th sin

    8th sin Swollen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Member:
    #11357
    Messages:
    511
    Gender:
    Male
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCLB 4x4 Sport
    Llumar CTX Tint, Grillcraft MX Upper, Pro Comp Rockwell 5034 17x8.5, Nitto Terra Grappler G2 LT285/70/17, Icon Stage III
    Are you sure? When I traded my factory wheels/tires for another set with OEM toyota sensors, the dealer had to break down each wheel/tire to get the serials. Cost a fvcking arm and a leg!
     
  5. Oct 24, 2010 at 7:15 AM
    #5
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,323
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    What dealer? Heritage? lol

    I have two sets of rims/tires for winter & summer. My summers rims/tires have no sensors.
    My winter set is the oem steel rims that came on the truck. I mounted winter tires on those w/ factory sensors already programmed into they system.

    In the summer, the sensored tires are stored in the garage.
    I never trigger a light only if I go out of town like from Burlington to Barre.
    When that happens, I throw a business card over the light on the dash.
    When I get home, the light resets over night.
    Its been this way for 4 yrs.

    If you want the system year round than yeah you will have to get that tool or pay somebody to do the reprogram once you get the numbers. I figured winter is when I want to know most.

    Welcome to the forum from Burlington :wave:
     
  6. Oct 24, 2010 at 8:43 AM
    #6
    Jere

    Jere Outdoorsman

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Member:
    #38814
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Chester County, PA
    Vehicle:
    '10 Access SR5 4x4 4cyl
    In case you are still interested in one of your original questions, here are the four TPMS numbers for my steel wheel OEM TPMS sensors:
    TPMS Steels
    4F424C6
    52CB4D7
    22034D4
    55EB4D7
     
  7. Oct 24, 2010 at 12:16 PM
    #7
    jdben

    jdben [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42577
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JB
    VT
    Vehicle:
    11 4cyl automatic
    Funny, it was the dealer service department that told me they write the serial numbers down - otherwise they would have to break the beads on the rims to get the numbers .
     
  8. Oct 24, 2010 at 12:33 PM
    #8
    jdben

    jdben [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42577
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JB
    VT
    Vehicle:
    11 4cyl automatic
    Thanks. I'm in VT on dial-up, so I'll have to go to the library to downlaod and read the 12 meg manual. It sounds like you input the serial numbers once, but have to plug the ATEQ Quickset into the truck's computer each time you change over from winter to summer and vice versa, right ?k
     
  9. Oct 24, 2010 at 1:18 PM
    #9
    NelsonTacoma

    NelsonTacoma This is my derpawayinator!!!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Member:
    #33969
    Messages:
    2,080
    Gender:
    Male
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD Sport 03 4Runner Limited 4wd
    Bilstein 5100's , 6000k HID Hi/Low Kit, Magnaflow Muffler, 1.5 inch AP Wheel Spacers, Mudflap Delete

    I work at a dealership. I've programmed tire sensors on Kia's and GM's personally. Never dealt with the Toyota ones, but I'm pretty sure they all work the same. I mean, what a waste of time to break down the tires....Maybe you got ripped off? Or maybe that's how the Toyota sensors get programmed?
     
  10. Oct 24, 2010 at 3:47 PM
    #10
    Jere

    Jere Outdoorsman

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Member:
    #38814
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Chester County, PA
    Vehicle:
    '10 Access SR5 4x4 4cyl
    That's what the pdf says, I have not done it myself. But, I am interested, and read the manual. The tool first connects to a pc where a user-friendly interface lets you load your tpms profiles for your two sets of tires. The windows based tool then lets you "flip-flop" your settings so you don't have to re-enter the numbers each time. Once loaded to the tool, you take the tool to your garage, plug it into the TPMS ECU and initiate the replace.

    There is an implication that the tool is for private use only, and enforces that by keeping a maximum number of different numbers. That way, a tire service place couldn't buy one of these and sell the reprogramming service. I assume a much more expensive tool is available to service centers.

    That said, anyone in SE PA interesting in sharing one?
     
  11. Nov 10, 2010 at 5:30 PM
    #11
    jdben

    jdben [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42577
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JB
    VT
    Vehicle:
    11 4cyl automatic
    I wonder if there is any possibility of ordering duplicate serial number TPMS valves ? That way spare wheels could be equiped to shadow the serial numbers on the stock wheels and there would be no need to swap serial numbers in the ECU when swapping wheels with the seasons.

    Anyone know the answer ?
     
  12. Nov 10, 2010 at 5:53 PM
    #12
    AlerAero

    AlerAero Equipment MFG

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17202
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma V6 SR5 4x4
    BakFlip Folding Tonneau, Locking bed storage compartments, Bug/rock guard, Anytime backup cam mod, Hitch + wiring
    Are you using Heritage or Handy Toyota? Fellow Northern Vermonter here!
     
  13. Nov 10, 2010 at 5:58 PM
    #13
    AlerAero

    AlerAero Equipment MFG

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17202
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma V6 SR5 4x4
    BakFlip Folding Tonneau, Locking bed storage compartments, Bug/rock guard, Anytime backup cam mod, Hitch + wiring
    Somehow I dont think that is possable. I bet there is not one the same.. now if you could reprogram a set and change the SN# that would be some kinda undertaking. but is it worth it! I got rims for winter without TPMS!! I can deal with a light for a few month of the year. Also I dont trust them! I perfer to check my tire pressure myself!
     
  14. Nov 10, 2010 at 6:32 PM
    #14
    jdben

    jdben [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42577
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JB
    VT
    Vehicle:
    11 4cyl automatic
    Heritage Toyota. You're right about the spare wheels. I'm just miffed that Toyota doesn't provide for the ECU to record more than 5 TPMS serial numbers at a time ! It should then logic: "if any of the 4 or 5 serial numbers are on the car, read and report on them." For God's sake, it's a computer after all ! Is it just to make owners have to return to the dealer for service ?
     
  15. Nov 10, 2010 at 6:47 PM
    #15
    AlerAero

    AlerAero Equipment MFG

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17202
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma V6 SR5 4x4
    BakFlip Folding Tonneau, Locking bed storage compartments, Bug/rock guard, Anytime backup cam mod, Hitch + wiring
    Cool, That’s where I got my Taco! ya I think the reason they did that with the ECU is so not to confuse the system with tires that are not currently on/inuse. Only part I find logical about the TPMS. its not going to know what set is on and what sensor is dead or whatever. And ya they are not making things easier to use! The TPMS is only making things worse. now how many people with the system still check their tire pressure. I do!
     
  16. Nov 10, 2010 at 7:11 PM
    #16
    AlerAero

    AlerAero Equipment MFG

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17202
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Vermont
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma V6 SR5 4x4
    BakFlip Folding Tonneau, Locking bed storage compartments, Bug/rock guard, Anytime backup cam mod, Hitch + wiring
    I think not its why I have my winters on rims without TPMS on them! So the stealership can keep their grubby hands to themselves suck my exhaust. LOL :infantry:
     
  17. Nov 10, 2010 at 7:17 PM
    #17
    volkrays

    volkrays Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Member:
    #45718
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Sport DC
    100% bone stock for now...
    U can get the ATEQ TPMS cheaper at AutoPartsWarehouse $107.37 with free shipping.

    hxxp://www.autopartswarehouse.com/sku/ATEQ/TPMS_Sensor/ATEQOBD30000.html?tlc=Auto+Body+Parts+%26+Mirrors

    I emailed my local toyota dealer the other day and this is what they told me. (Longo Toyota, CA)

    ME:
    how much would it cost to register 4 new tire pressure monitors for a second set of tires for a tacoma 2008 double cab. Also will the original TPMS still work as i plan to have a set of tires for summer and a set of tires for winter.

    Longo:
    Hello,

    I regret to inform you that the ’08 Tacoma will only allow to register one set (5 sensors) of the wheels at a time. Therefore you need to re-register every time whenever you switch the wheel set otherwise the tire pressure light will remain “ON”.
    This is not a warrantable condition for that reason it will cost $110.88 at the time when you need to re-register the ID of all the TPS sensors by re-writing the computer information.
    I apologize that I am not much of a help at this time.
    If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me via e-mail or by phone.

    Regards,
     
  18. Nov 10, 2010 at 9:55 PM
    #18
    lembowski

    lembowski Rompin Around

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Member:
    #20347
    Messages:
    7,058
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Rolando, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 LT, Caged, 4WD
    Discount Tire did this for me for free last week. They have a device that plugs into the ODBI port and they take it up to each tire and press program a few inches from the TMPS sensor......wham bam 5 minutes later I was out.
     
  19. Nov 11, 2010 at 8:47 AM
    #19
    jdben

    jdben [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Member:
    #42577
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JB
    VT
    Vehicle:
    11 4cyl automatic
    how much did they charge you?
     
  20. Nov 11, 2010 at 11:52 AM
    #20
    lembowski

    lembowski Rompin Around

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Member:
    #20347
    Messages:
    7,058
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Rolando, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 LT, Caged, 4WD
    See above :)
     
To Top