1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

tps light is blinking

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by pinktaco808, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. Aug 15, 2010 at 9:14 PM
    #1
    pinktaco808

    pinktaco808 [OP] Hot Steppa

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Member:
    #40651
    Messages:
    2,784
    Gender:
    Male
    after i installed my x runner rims on my 2006 tacoma standard cab it was running ok until a week later when my tps light is blinking. What could be problem??? it was ok for a week until today this happened it blinking all the time??? tire pressure is all good any advice???
     
  2. Aug 15, 2010 at 9:20 PM
    #2
    achirdo

    achirdo I Weld!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Member:
    #34819
    Messages:
    10,266
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    North DFW
    Vehicle:
    06 dodge ram 3500 5.9 cummins
    reprogram the TPS.
     
  3. Aug 15, 2010 at 9:21 PM
    #3
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    did you reinstall your original TPMS sensors into the X rims?
     
  4. Aug 15, 2010 at 9:41 PM
    #4
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy This ain't Dodge City, and you ain't Bill Hickok

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,258
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop, piaa, weathertech, westin, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    did you check the pressure in the spare?
     
  5. Aug 15, 2010 at 9:45 PM
    #5
    Asgard

    Asgard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Member:
    #6078
    Messages:
    1,093
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner DC SR5 w/LSD
    X2
     
  6. Aug 15, 2010 at 10:03 PM
    #6
    pinktaco808

    pinktaco808 [OP] Hot Steppa

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Member:
    #40651
    Messages:
    2,784
    Gender:
    Male
    no man they came with the x runner rims why???
     
  7. Aug 15, 2010 at 10:06 PM
    #7
    rdcar

    rdcar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Member:
    #39203
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 tacoma
    X2
     
  8. Aug 15, 2010 at 10:06 PM
    #8
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    b/c they need to be programmed to your computer. they do not pick up random TPMS on their own. dealer will charge like $90 to do this.

    oh...and if you still have your stockers around, the computer will pick them up and you will have no light while near them, but once you get away from them the light will go off.
     
  9. Aug 15, 2010 at 10:26 PM
    #9
    pinktaco808

    pinktaco808 [OP] Hot Steppa

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Member:
    #40651
    Messages:
    2,784
    Gender:
    Male
    the only stocker is in the spare if it has one does it??? can you re program it yourself???? finally where the write on cutting the wire to the tps system???
     
  10. Aug 15, 2010 at 10:30 PM
    #10
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    if you have an 05-08, then you have one in the stock spare. you cannot reprogram it yourself. and i'm not sure about cutting the TMPS system.
     
  11. Aug 15, 2010 at 10:58 PM
    #11
    pinktaco808

    pinktaco808 [OP] Hot Steppa

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Member:
    #40651
    Messages:
    2,784
    Gender:
    Male
    so just let it blink????
     
  12. Aug 15, 2010 at 11:01 PM
    #12
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    it's not hurting anything. mine has been blinking for over 40k miles now. i have a set of TPMS installed in my rims, but never cared to have the dealer reprogram it. either let it blink, have them reprogram it, pop out the cluster and remove/cover the LED, or find out how to disable the system itself
     
  13. Aug 15, 2010 at 11:02 PM
    #13
    TacoTron

    TacoTron Tacotronn

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Member:
    #26782
    Messages:
    2,275
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Albuquerque, NM
    Vehicle:
    07 Toyota Tacoma
    Fabtech Lift on top of 3 inch body lift. 34s trail grapplers on 18inch eagle alloys. KRFab Rear bumper, BHLM with HIDs, TRD seat covers, Hood scoop, N fab tire carrier, black valence, TRD intake, 40s Flowmasters, Foglight mod, best for last and thats my 4.56 gears, and much more too come.
    I know if you cut it it will just blink forever and youll regret cutting it. Have you aired up your spare? I know mine keeps going off now because I dont have a spare under there nomore. When i put new rims on and the tps it didnt change anything. So Its either the spare or those new tps on the truck. Just dont cut anything!
     
  14. Aug 15, 2010 at 11:14 PM
    #14
    pinktaco808

    pinktaco808 [OP] Hot Steppa

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Member:
    #40651
    Messages:
    2,784
    Gender:
    Male
  15. Aug 16, 2010 at 9:35 AM
    #15
    Silver06Taco

    Silver06Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21472
    Messages:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    WA state
    Vehicle:
    Silver 06 DC TRD Sport
    Some tire shops can do the reprogramming. Otherwise electric tape can do the job.
     
  16. Aug 16, 2010 at 7:17 PM
    #16
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy This ain't Dodge City, and you ain't Bill Hickok

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,258
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop, piaa, weathertech, westin, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    Or you can remove all the sensors...there's a strap available that fits like a large hose clamp to secure the sensors to the insde of each wheel. Also, you could do the pipe bomb... Get some pvc pipe and cap one end. Drill and install a valve stem in the cap. Put sensors inside, cap the other end and fill er up to around 32 psi. Strap this thing to the frame or inside a storage compartment. Another method is to get a wheel barrel tire, remove the tire from the rim, throw in the sensors, re-install tire and fill up to 32 psi.
     
  17. Aug 16, 2010 at 7:22 PM
    #17
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    it would still have to be reprogrammed as the sensors in his wheels are not the stock ones that the computer is looking for
     
  18. Aug 16, 2010 at 7:23 PM
    #18
    MsTRD

    MsTRD hell yes i love my truck

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Member:
    #9244
    Messages:
    3,362
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Samantha
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 White Prerunner TRD Sport
    mines been blinking since january...you get used to it :)
     
  19. Aug 16, 2010 at 7:24 PM
    #19
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    mine's been blinking since the day i bought it and swapped off rims/tires from my 07...over 2 years ago..haha
     
  20. Aug 16, 2010 at 7:32 PM
    #20
    OffroadToy

    OffroadToy This ain't Dodge City, and you ain't Bill Hickok

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Member:
    #22680
    Messages:
    5,258
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD OFFROAD 4x4 VSC/TRAC/DAC/HAC
    snugtop, piaa, weathertech, westin, oem bed mat, trd seat covers, avs inchannel vent visors, 2" suspension lift, front diff drop, rear differential breather extension, oil filter drain hose, a/c drain hose extention & reroute, front window tint, cat theft protection plate, tailgate clamp mod, xpel headlight/foglight protecters, oem block heater, bfg 265/75R/16 a/t k/o's, cabin air rodent protection screen, rcbs illuminated 4X4 switch mod
    forgot about that...would he have to get the serial#'s off each sensor for a re-program?:confused:
     
To Top