1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPS Steel Wheels to Alloy Wheels

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by mobilerd, Mar 16, 2016.

  1. Mar 16, 2016 at 2:29 PM
    #1
    mobilerd

    mobilerd [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Member:
    #180823
    Messages:
    52
    Mobile, Al
    I have standard 16" steel wheels. I would like to change to an OEM 16" Tacoma wheel. Does anyone know if the tire pressure sensors will work on the alloys? Or are they different angles?
     
  2. Mar 16, 2016 at 3:10 PM
    #2
    Soonertaco

    Soonertaco Taco Lover

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Member:
    #169988
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM Tacoma DCSB TRD Sport 4X4
    I think the angles of the tpms sensors are different. I know my son's 2006 was different when we put 2005 Tundra alloys on his. Not 100% sure though.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2016
  3. Mar 16, 2016 at 4:19 PM
    #3
    moe2o4

    moe2o4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Member:
    #148236
    Messages:
    7,588
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Pittsburgh PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 SR Silver 2.7L 5 Speed
    OME 3" Lift, 32" Tires, Lots of Mods!
    16" Steel sensors will not work in alloy wheels. I just upgraded my 16" Steel wheels to 16" alloy trd bronze wheels and I made a tpms pipe bomb for my sensors and threw it under the back seats and my lights off and put regular stems in my wheels!

    Old wheels:
    20160307_130746.jpg
    New wheels:
    IMG_20160314_151230.jpg
    Tpms pipe:
    20160308_131458.jpg
    20160311_195125.jpg
     
  4. Mar 16, 2016 at 4:22 PM
    #4
    ScTuna

    ScTuna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Member:
    #102382
    Messages:
    915
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma
    Just flip the sensor 180 degree and remember it's flip if you ever have to dismount the tire to patch for nail puncture.
     
    Garyji likes this.
  5. Mar 16, 2016 at 4:55 PM
    #5
    mobilerd

    mobilerd [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Member:
    #180823
    Messages:
    52
    Mobile, Al
    Thanks guys. I will probably just ditch them. I'm old school anyway. I got a very accurate dial pressure gauge and a compressor in my garage. Nice wheel swap moe2o4.
     
    moe2o4 likes this.
  6. Mar 16, 2016 at 5:01 PM
    #6
    bobrown14

    bobrown14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Member:
    #165752
    Messages:
    4,481
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2.9 Gen - I am not a cunt
    Wheels tires sliders LED fogs VooDoo racks tail gate letters bed liner - suspension on the way....
    Get new programmable sensors for your new wheels - then you can get the truck programmed to recognize the new sensors. Put winter tires or whatever you want on the steelies and when you swap - hit the button on the dash for when you rotate tires ... good to go.

    The steel wheel sensors don't fit as mentioned. turning them around and hoping a guy at the tire shop doesn't f-them up ... good luck.
     
  7. Mar 16, 2016 at 5:18 PM
    #7
    mobilerd

    mobilerd [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Member:
    #180823
    Messages:
    52
    Mobile, Al

    We don't have Winter here on the Gulf Coast, so no tire swapping. However if any one can tell me what angle sensors I need for the alloys i may get them. Local dealers part department was clueless. They didn't know what sensor fit which wheel. Called a company that specializes in sensors they were no help either. I agree, turning them around is sketchy.
     
  8. Mar 16, 2016 at 5:30 PM
    #8
    jofish1983

    jofish1983 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Member:
    #159693
    Messages:
    156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jofish
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 tacoma prerunner
    I bought a set of tpms on ebay for $30 and they are oem toyota they work great
     
  9. Mar 16, 2016 at 6:32 PM
    #9
    mobilerd

    mobilerd [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Member:
    #180823
    Messages:
    52
    Mobile, Al
    I suppose they specify what wheels they are compatible to?
     
  10. Mar 16, 2016 at 6:48 PM
    #10
    jofish1983

    jofish1983 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Member:
    #159693
    Messages:
    156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jofish
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 tacoma prerunner
  11. Mar 17, 2016 at 7:26 AM
    #11
    moe2o4

    moe2o4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Member:
    #148236
    Messages:
    7,588
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Pittsburgh PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 SR Silver 2.7L 5 Speed
    OME 3" Lift, 32" Tires, Lots of Mods!
    Thanks man!
     
  12. Mar 17, 2016 at 11:04 AM
    #12
    Garyji

    Garyji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Member:
    #168245
    Messages:
    1,692
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Western North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2016 BR SR5 DCSB V6 4WD. TRD Pro 17's, BFG KO2's
    There is a lot of info on TW about this, so just do a search. I went through the whole process, and it wasn't easy. Your sensors will work if you flip them over. I'm still having issues with the individual pressure read-outs after a rotation.

    G.
     
  13. Mar 19, 2016 at 4:16 PM
    #13
    bobrown14

    bobrown14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Member:
    #165752
    Messages:
    4,481
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2.9 Gen - I am not a cunt
    Wheels tires sliders LED fogs VooDoo racks tail gate letters bed liner - suspension on the way....
    Did you hit the button on the dash down by the driver's right knee, there's a procedure for that ... then you need to drive the truck at highway speeds for 10 minutes. Mine worked after I drove the truck over 70.. which was also when the warning light came on before I got them programmed. What would happen is I would park truck in front of garage where my original wheels and sensors that were programmed in to the ECU are located. Computer would read them and the warning light would turn off. Then every time driving with the new wheels and sensors that were not programmed yet, every time I would go over 70 or thereabouts the warning light would come on. A lot of extra expense/hassle ....

    I'm not sure I'm ever going to get anywhere near the value of price paid, even if a wheel goes flat. Pretty sure I'm going to notice a flat without a dash light telling me I have a flat?? I know I see a-holes driving with a flat on a rim.. pretty sure an indicator light is not going to stop that craziness. I could see it helping say NASCAR IF the sensors were fast enough, I don't think they are all that responsive... it took my truck 2 days or more to notice I didn't have any air pressure due to non-programmed sensors mounted and being driven to turn on the warning light. :facepalm:
     

Products Discussed in

To Top