1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

trailer wiring harness on a non towing package truck?

Discussion in 'Towing' started by justin14200, Apr 16, 2010.

  1. Apr 16, 2010 at 6:44 PM
    #1
    justin14200

    justin14200 [OP] frequent reader

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Member:
    #33732
    Messages:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    justin
    baton rouge
    Vehicle:
    2010 prerunner sr5 bsp
    stock
    i have a 2010 toyota tacoma prerunner sr5 with the v6. i didnt buy the towing package. does it still have wiring? its too dark for me to go look right now...
     
  2. Apr 16, 2010 at 6:46 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Nope. You need to get the harness from the dealer.
     
  3. Apr 16, 2010 at 6:46 PM
    #3
    justin14200

    justin14200 [OP] frequent reader

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Member:
    #33732
    Messages:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    justin
    baton rouge
    Vehicle:
    2010 prerunner sr5 bsp
    stock
    any idea how much they cost? where does it plug in?
     
  4. Apr 16, 2010 at 6:47 PM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    You can get them for about $80.00. Much better than the aftermarket ones.
     
  5. Apr 16, 2010 at 6:49 PM
    #5
    justin14200

    justin14200 [OP] frequent reader

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Member:
    #33732
    Messages:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    justin
    baton rouge
    Vehicle:
    2010 prerunner sr5 bsp
    stock
    awesome. thanks
     
  6. Apr 16, 2010 at 6:54 PM
    #6
    dhurley

    dhurley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Member:
    #17817
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    04 Double Cab TRD SR5 V6
    TRD, Snugtop Super-Sport, bedliner, receiver hitch, alarm mod, deck plate mod, AFE Pro-Dry S, Saddleman camo seat covers, TW decal, grey wire mod w/switch, DRL, LED cupholder mod, Dynomax Super Turbo, aux back-up lights, Devil Horns by Andres, "blue plug" mod for 2LO, shorty antenna, Pro Comp fog & driving lights, receiver shackle, 15% tint front windows, stainless nerf bars, Ultra Gauge, diff breather mod
    I'd put an aftermarket one on a previous truck, it was plug & play. Very simple.
     
  7. Apr 17, 2010 at 3:22 AM
    #7
    FoxySandChick

    FoxySandChick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Member:
    #9505
    Messages:
    2,963
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Kristin
    Henderson, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4x4 Base model V6 Impulse Red Pearl
    De-badged, limo tint, black wet okole's, weathertechs, extra d-rings, TSB bilsteins
  8. Apr 22, 2010 at 5:09 AM
    #8
    JDCPA

    JDCPA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Member:
    #10777
    Messages:
    936
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    SW FL
    Vehicle:
    09 5 Lug Access Cab SR5
    Curt Hitch and etrailer.com wiring harness.
    Why is that, Chris?

    I've been using an aftermarket harness mounted in the tail lights that works great and is a hundred times easier to install than the oem.
     
  9. Apr 22, 2010 at 5:33 AM
    #9
    911-3.2

    911-3.2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11724
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    CT
    Vehicle:
    Sold - 2010 Access Cab 4x4 I4 SR5
    Curt Receiver Hitch, Access Literider Tonneau
    If all you are looking for is a 4 pin wiring harness I'd just pick up one of the aforementioned aftermarket kits. I have one from etrailer.com and it was easy to install and works well.
     
  10. Apr 22, 2010 at 5:48 PM
    #10
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    The OEM harnes gives a dedicated circut to the trailor. The aftermarket ones dont.
     
  11. Apr 24, 2010 at 7:50 PM
    #11
    Isthatahemi

    Isthatahemi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Member:
    #16582
    Messages:
    1,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD OFF ROAD
    BFG AT's, Weathertechs, Hoppy's brake controller.
    And people have had issues with the aftermarket ones, if they have a high current draw from many lights or whatever. It's like buying a Toyota, and putting Yugo wiring in it.
     
  12. Mar 4, 2011 at 4:32 PM
    #12
    mattygabe

    mattygabe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Member:
    #50137
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Western PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Access Cab SR5
    Access Limited Soft Rollup Tonneau Cover
    Again, I think this is just an issue of what you're planning on doing. If you have a ton of lights, obviously you're going to want the OEM that has a dedicated circuit. I recently bought an aftermarket Curt harness from eTrailer, and right on the back of the box I think it says it's only rated for one light per each side that's a certain size and pulls a certain voltage, so (without reading or hearing about those problems, mind you) it might just be a case of someone not realizing that they don't have the proper equipment for what they need to do.
     
  13. Dec 30, 2011 at 11:01 AM
    #13
    fixenu

    fixenu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Member:
    #16152
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    NV
    Vehicle:
    trd
    I priced a plug here in elko and the dealer wants over $200.00 for harness any ideals were i can fined a better price?
     
  14. Sep 30, 2014 at 11:48 PM
    #14
    NotRed

    NotRed KM6ANH

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Member:
    #139429
    Messages:
    1,775
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jimbow
    SoCal, IE
    Vehicle:
    2015 AccessCab 4x4x5x4
    personalized, of course!
    A way around overloading the existing light harness and fuses is to get the aftermarket ones that have a dedicated power connection to the battery. They just take the signal from the existing harness and get the power for the trailer's lights from the battery. A fancy relay if you will.
    Of course that does mean you have to run a wire to a power source but that's not such a big deal.
     
To Top