1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Transmission cooler hookup question

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by soilsample, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. Apr 13, 2010 at 10:24 AM
    #1
    soilsample

    soilsample [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Member:
    #26958
    Messages:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Donald
    Southwest Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    '09 4x4 Double Cab
    Hi guys,
    I have a new transmission cooler:
    [​IMG]
    The cooler has 1/2" treaded ports for the oil lines.
    I need to buy some hose and fittings to tap into my Tacoma.

    Can anybody tell me what size (diameter) hose and fittings I'll need?
    I think the hoses are 3/8" but not quite sure.

    Thanks
    Donald
     
  2. Apr 13, 2010 at 10:40 AM
    #2
    phoneguy44

    phoneguy44 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Member:
    #31423
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Oxford, Alabama
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Double Cab
    just asking........but why do you need a transmission cooler ?
     
  3. Apr 13, 2010 at 11:00 AM
    #3
    Kyouto42

    Kyouto42 Iron Beard

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8614
    Messages:
    9,243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Vehicle:
    BSP '10 4x4 TRD Off-Road DC
    See build thread in signature
    Automatic transmissions need coolers under high loads of stress... like towing or heavy wheeling. Keeping the temps down prevents damage to the internal components.

    As for the question, sorry I didn't find it. I searched through the Toyota FSM with no luck on the sizes... I'll check my Haynes too...

    Sorry no go on that either. You could measure it out with a tape measure though...
     
  4. Apr 13, 2010 at 11:01 AM
    #4
    My68ur8trd

    My68ur8trd Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Member:
    #2961
    Messages:
    1,531
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Williamsburg, VA
    Vehicle:
    2007 TRD OR Dcab 4x4
    URD Catback | TRD CAI | TRD S/C | APR X-1 | DTLT | APR 2.85" Pulley |Fabtech 6" | Icon C/O | Alcan Leafs | 33 Grabber AT2 | 17" XD Addicts
    do you have the factory cooler?

    if so it should be pretty simple to hook up

    keep us posted on how it goes, this is on my future mod list to add a larger one to my 4x4

    Justin
     
  5. Apr 13, 2010 at 12:09 PM
    #5
    soilsample

    soilsample [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Member:
    #26958
    Messages:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Donald
    Southwest Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    '09 4x4 Double Cab
    I don't have the factory cooler, but the installation of the new cooler should be fairly easy. We have rubber hoses running from the transmission into the bottom portion of the radiator on all tacomas.
    I will just route the transmission fluid from the outlet of the radiator to the inlet of my cooler and back to the transmission.

    I'm setting up my truck to pull a pretty big Travel Trailer.... It's 5100# dry. My truck will be used for mostly short trips (less than 100 miles). I've pulled the Trailer a couple of times with the tacoma and it has plenty of power, but I've added firestone airbags to the rear end, a Tekonsha brake controller, and now the transmission cooler.

    Thanks for trying to help!
    Donald
     
  6. Apr 13, 2010 at 3:57 PM
    #6
    Isthatahemi

    Isthatahemi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Member:
    #16582
    Messages:
    1,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD OFF ROAD
    BFG AT's, Weathertechs, Hoppy's brake controller.
    FYI - The factory cooler is flow thermostatically controlled. I know nothing of the climate where you live. But where I'm at, this would be important.
     
  7. Apr 13, 2010 at 5:34 PM
    #7
    MassTaco

    MassTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Member:
    #16384
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    V6 4x4 SR5 DC AT5
    The factory lines are 3/8". I'd just buy some 1/2" NPT to 3/8" hose barb fittings from any local parts store.

    Isthatahemi, are you sure the later A750F tranny has a thermostat to control atf flow to the cooler? I know the earlier A750F's in the tundra had a thermostat and atf warmer right on the passenger side of the case, but mine just has steel lines running out of the case forward, then ultimately to the radiator and atf cooler. Did Aisin move the t-stat into the case?
     
  8. Apr 13, 2010 at 5:41 PM
    #8
    MassTaco

    MassTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Member:
    #16384
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    V6 4x4 SR5 DC AT5
    By the way, to the OP: that's a sweet cooler!
     
  9. Apr 13, 2010 at 6:05 PM
    #9
    Isthatahemi

    Isthatahemi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Member:
    #16582
    Messages:
    1,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD OFF ROAD
    BFG AT's, Weathertechs, Hoppy's brake controller.
    I saw a breakdown of the 750, and it showed a temperature controlled bypass for the cooler lines (not all 750's have this). I haven't been able to find it since. The lines on the Tundra were for the heat exchanger, and there is no fluid bypass / or regulation on the trucks with this style heat exchanger. And from what I know, the thermostat was for the engine coolant. I am not positive, so maybe I should not have posted.
     
  10. Apr 13, 2010 at 6:17 PM
    #10
    MassTaco

    MassTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Member:
    #16384
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    V6 4x4 SR5 DC AT5
    I have a sneaking suspicion that at least in the later tacoma there's no t-stat. I went as far as to install jiffy-tite quick disconnects to take the oil-to-air atf cooler out of the loop for the coldest part of winter. I did this because when the temps went down around 0*F, the tranny didn't seem to get up to temp on the highway, even after 60 miles. I was seeing a 35% drop in fuel economy in this temp range and I thought that could be partially attributed to ATF that was never warming up. Next winter I will see I guess.
     
  11. Apr 13, 2010 at 6:40 PM
    #11
    soilsample

    soilsample [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Member:
    #26958
    Messages:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Donald
    Southwest Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    '09 4x4 Double Cab
    Thanks for the input guys!

    The setup I'll be using has a thermostat to control the fan, but the oil will always flow through the cooler.
    The factory tow package is set up similarly but without the fan.
     
  12. Apr 18, 2010 at 4:09 AM
    #12
    toytac05

    toytac05 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Member:
    #14683
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
    los angeles
    Vehicle:
    05 trd sport
    icon ext travel co dirt king lca dirt king heimed uca fox bumps dmz sua icon piggy back fox bumps Solo Motorsports pre runner bumper ifs trans tcase skids demello wrap around rear bumper mcniel fiberglass fenders and bedsides front suspension and rear suspension set up by Solo Motorsports
    I have a 2005 TRD 4x4 sport v6 auto with the factory cooler the hoses are 10mm. 3/8 is 9.5 mm this doesn't sound like much but with the bulge at the end of the hard line 3/8ths wont fit. At least I couldn't get the hoses on. I got a perma cool thermostat put 3/8th barb ends and the stock 10 mm hoses fit and put 3/8ths hose to the same cooler.
     
  13. Apr 18, 2010 at 5:01 AM
    #13
    MassTaco

    MassTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Member:
    #16384
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    V6 4x4 SR5 DC AT5
    You're right toytac05, the factory lines are probably really 10mm. But at 9.5mm the 3/8" barbs work fine. It would be much more difficult to try to stuff a 10mm barb into a 3/8 line.
     
To Top