1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Trany temp guage

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by qwert, May 31, 2009.

  1. May 31, 2009 at 8:23 PM
    #1
    qwert

    qwert [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Member:
    #17870
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD
    Can anyone tell me if there is a port on the 09 Taco TRD trany for an add-on temp guage?
     
  2. Jun 1, 2009 at 2:48 AM
    #2
    DDD

    DDD Shine bright like a hymen

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14416
    Messages:
    2,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    The automatic transmission has a temperature sensor. I believe it is just connected to the computer. It probably won't work with an off the shelf gauge.
    Look at this.

    If I really wanted to add a temp gauge to monitor the fluid's temp. I would add it to the inlet hose on the trans cooler. Its just a rubber hose, you should be able cut it and splice in a sending unit.
     
  3. Jun 1, 2009 at 2:58 AM
    #3
    Anathollo

    Anathollo www.saveadane.org

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Member:
    #14071
    Messages:
    1,292
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Icon coilovers, Rear Fox Resi-shocks, 285/70/17 Toyo A/T's, Touchscreen JVC Headunit, Custom Rhino-lined sub box, Rocksford Fosgate components and Dual Rockford Fosgate 10" shallow subs, Pioneer and Rocksford Fosgate amps, 1250 watts total, Autometer Volt and Trans gauges with Lotek A-pillar, K&N Drop-in filter, WO Seat covers, Tint, NST WP pulley, Hi-lift jack, Diff breather mod, horn relocation mod, extra "D" rings, de-pinstriped, carrier bearing drop, Rear backup 886 bulbs, Camburg UCA's, AMW Catch can, BHLM, OME Dakars with AAL, Procomp 7089's, Front single hoop Demello bumper, Superwinch Tiger Shark 9500, Amsteel 3/8th synthetic line
    Yep, I spliced into the rubber hose to run my autometer trans temp gauge. It would be cheaper in the long run to just buy a scangauge 2 and have it read the trans temp for you. There's an old group buy for them and you can still get them for a 150$ shipped which is cheap!
     
  4. Jun 1, 2009 at 3:02 AM
    #4
    DDD

    DDD Shine bright like a hymen

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14416
    Messages:
    2,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    After reading this it may be possible to use the existing trans temp sensor and connect it to a Auto meter gauge.

    Someone smarter than me needs to read that PDF and find out if the resistance on the stock sensor is the same as an "off the shelf gauge". It looks like the stock sensor sending unit has a resistance between 79k ohms and 156k ohms.

    But, I agree with Anathollo. If it is that important to you, just get a Scangauge. TW member 3n1 still sells them for $150 shipped.
     
  5. Jun 1, 2009 at 3:27 AM
    #5
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    13,740
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2007 4.0L 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab A
    Advantage Torza top (tri-fold), Husky floor mats, RuffTuff seat covers, C2C hood struts, Homelink mirror, USA Spec PA15-Toy (120gig Classic & 8gig nano), Garmin Nuvi 660, Protecta Bed mat, Pop-n-lock, TSB Springs, Scangauge II, Heated drivers seat, Fumoto drain valve, Aries pushbar, PIAA 540 fog lights, Hood scoop grahics, Flowmaster 50 series dual catback exhaust, RainX Latitude windshield wipers, Husky rear floor liner (ontop of folded down seats). Console Vault.
    The Scangauge does not read trans temps. The company has not been able to get cooperation from Toyota to allow them to access the computer to get that information. I've been wanting this feature ever since I bought my Scangauge 2 years ago. It's like they gave up trying ....
     
  6. Jun 2, 2009 at 4:47 PM
    #6
    salsataco

    salsataco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Member:
    #16707
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male

    Any chance we could see pics and get part #'s?
     
  7. Jun 2, 2009 at 10:57 PM
    #7
    DDD

    DDD Shine bright like a hymen

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14416
    Messages:
    2,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    On second thought, a sending unit needs to be grounded. Connecting it in-line with a rubber hose would not give you a ground.

    I think your best solution would be to cut the steel lines that carry the fluid to the cooler. Then add a fitting such as the one pictured below.

    [​IMG]
     
To Top