1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TRD Off Road or TRD Sport?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by ozko, Mar 21, 2010.

1. Mar 21, 2010 at 10:35 PM
    ozko

ozko [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Ethan
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 DBL CAB 4x4 TRD O/R
    Hi everyone,
    I am a newbie here. I am going to buy 2010 DBL CAB Tacoma V6 4x4 TRD this week. However, I can not decide whether I need to buy TRD Off Road or TRD Sport. I like the smooth riding feeling with Sport, also the look of Sport (no chrome grill and no chrome rear bumper). However, TRD off road has engine skid plate, up/down hill control, off road suspension and tires. Later I might lift my truck and change tires for off road.

Would it be better to buy TRD off road or TRD sport?
    Does up/down hill control really help?

2. Mar 21, 2010 at 10:50 PM
    nvdeserted

nvdeserted Well-Known Member

Member:
    Reno, NV
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma TRD OR Access Cab
    Electric Dynolock tailgate, TrailGear Slides, , 285/75-16 Yoko Geolanders on Wheelers Type B, SAW 2.0 front and back, Camburg b/j UCA, 1.5" AAL, Ubolt flip, ARB bump.
    For me it was easy: the Off Road has a factory locker, the sport does not. You can put a locker on anything but I liked the warranty factor. Plus I've always had a locker on my rigs and there was no going back; i use it alot on trails and consider it an absolute necessity.