1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Trouble whit my engine

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by reynir859, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. Jan 11, 2011 at 3:56 PM
    #1
    reynir859

    reynir859 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Member:
    #49108
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm having trouble coming my Tacoma (car A), to running.I bought a car that had been in a flood and everything was destroyed in his electrical.so I bought one that had been in a car accident (car B) and moved the electrical system from (carB) in to (car A). So now everything works. Except that the engine does not start. So I was wondering if anyone could tell me what would be best to start by viewing in the car so I will get it to running?
     
  2. Jan 11, 2011 at 4:03 PM
    #2
    sethr21785

    sethr21785 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Member:
    #29372
    Messages:
    170
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    Windham Maine
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD SPORT
    TRD Short Throw, TRD Exhaust, 5100 1.5, Weathertech floor liners, AFE Filter, Projector Head and fogs, Weathertech vent visors
    move engine from car B to car A and presto!! starty starty!!!
     
  3. Jan 11, 2011 at 4:03 PM
    #3
    reynir859

    reynir859 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Member:
    #49108
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    (Car A) 2005 model (Car B) 2006 model
     
  4. Jan 11, 2011 at 4:19 PM
    #4
    cc350

    cc350 Buckeye Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Member:
    #44527
    Messages:
    946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chas
    Liberty,Twp Ohio
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD DC
    TRex3 eyelids,Undercover hardshell cover,Timbrens
    Swap ecu or dealer for reprogramming.
     
  5. Jan 12, 2011 at 1:37 AM
    #5
    reynir859

    reynir859 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Member:
    #49108
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes but Engine Control Module is new and transponder Key ECU also and key and remote is new also
     
  6. Jan 12, 2011 at 8:16 AM
    #6
    BlueT

    BlueT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Member:
    #15341
    Messages:
    5,645
    Gender:
    Male
    NorthEast
    Vehicle:
    07 Dbl Cab LB with LSD
    I moded 1999 Taco so much it had turned to Land Cruiser
    Did you swap engines too or just electronics ?
    If you just swapped electronics you need reflash ECU and programm all the Engine controls to the ECU. Its drive by wire so swapping ECu but not swapping every single sensor in the vehicle will not work. That includs transmission too.
     
  7. Jan 12, 2011 at 8:24 AM
    #7
    90YotaPU

    90YotaPU The Messiah

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Member:
    #37191
    Messages:
    3,069
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Union County, NJ
    Vehicle:
    1990 Toyota 4x4 (Pre-Taco)
    Aftermarket Stereo, Spidertrax Wheel Spacers, HF Air Horns, 3" Lift
    Is this a math problem??? Car A / Car B?
     
  8. Jan 12, 2011 at 9:13 AM
    #8
    reynir859

    reynir859 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Member:
    #49108
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    I just swap electronics.
     
  9. Jan 12, 2011 at 9:16 AM
    #9
    reynir859

    reynir859 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Member:
    #49108
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    But I bought new transponder Key ECU
     
  10. Jan 12, 2011 at 9:21 AM
    #10
    JoshO

    JoshO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Member:
    #41343
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Baltimore MD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Double Cab 4x4 TRD Sport (Silver)
    None Yet
    Did the engine run after being flooded?
     
  11. Jan 12, 2011 at 10:00 AM
    #11
    reynir859

    reynir859 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Member:
    #49108
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    I don´t know but that was no water in oil and I could not try to start because of the electrical break
     
To Top