1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

trouble with TPMS

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by txusa03, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. Jun 29, 2009 at 7:00 AM
    #1
    txusa03

    txusa03 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12279
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    For some reason the tpms is showing up on my 09 tacoma and I cannot for the life of me reset it. The manual said to turn ignition to ON (do not drive the car), press and hold the TPMS button for 3 seconds, the tpms will blink (telling you it is resetting). Does not work for me. What did I do wrong? I might have to swing by the dealer and have them look over it.

    Btw, I had this light on for 4 days now and I have checked in inspected all 4 tires and they are still holding air. Could I have a defect in one of the TPMS sensor?
     
  2. Jun 29, 2009 at 7:06 AM
    #2
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    796
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100 CO's @ 1.75" - Icon UCA's - TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Flowmaster 50 Duals(RIP...back to stock for now) - Avid Offroad Arctic Bar - Avid Offroad Nerf Bars - Leer 550 Bedcover - AVS Hood Protector(RIP) - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
    Check the spare tire.
     
  3. Jun 29, 2009 at 7:20 AM
    #3
    txusa03

    txusa03 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12279
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks, I did lowered the spare tire and checked the pressure and it has 33 psi in it. I am 100% sure my spare tire does not have the TPMS sensor in it because the stem valve on the spare tire is of copper. It is not the same stem valves seen on the other 4 tires.

    My radio has been acting up and the dealer is ordering me a new radio so when I bring my car in to have the radio replace, I will have them look at the TPMS issues.
     
  4. Jun 29, 2009 at 8:15 AM
    #4
    jrws6

    jrws6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Member:
    #5668
    Messages:
    232
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Western North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    07, Dodge Ram 35004x4 Cummins Turbo Diesel 6M
    2009's dont have one in the spare, thats correct.
    TPMS is a bitch! Disable it or do the black tape mod. There is no real easy way to disable it except for the black tape mod.
     
  5. Jun 29, 2009 at 8:21 AM
    #5
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    its not the fact that they are all holding air, its that there is a certain tolerance that they allow before turning on. make sure they are all what the door jam says, if stock tires, and do the reset procedures
     
  6. Jun 29, 2009 at 8:23 AM
    #6
    txusa03

    txusa03 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12279
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    I wonder how sensitive these sensor are and can they withstand the rough impact of dialy driving? Could I pass the state inspection if the sensor light up?

    I just saw another thread on here regarding the tirerack sensor link. I think that one is more practicle as you don't need to depend on dealer to program the sensor and rip you off.

    That is what I did Sunday morning on cold tire. Door jam said for the regular cab, front 30 and rear 33. Non of my tires lost any air. I don't think my reset button work either.
     
  7. Jun 29, 2009 at 8:28 AM
    #7
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?

    well since you are completely still under warranty, i'd be taking it to the dealer before i did anything else
     
  8. Jun 29, 2009 at 9:03 AM
    #8
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    796
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100 CO's @ 1.75" - Icon UCA's - TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Flowmaster 50 Duals(RIP...back to stock for now) - Avid Offroad Arctic Bar - Avid Offroad Nerf Bars - Leer 550 Bedcover - AVS Hood Protector(RIP) - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
    So, today I learned something new about my truck. Thanx!:thumbsup:
     
  9. Jun 29, 2009 at 9:51 AM
    #9
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    i think people have said that if u remove the cables going to the TPMS brain, that is down and behind the stereo, that it'll remove the lights
     
  10. Jun 29, 2009 at 10:36 AM
    #10
    txusa03

    txusa03 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Member:
    #12279
    Messages:
    112
    Gender:
    Male
    You mean cut off the blood supply to that part of the brain (lol). Let see what the dealer say first before taking drastic measure.
     
  11. Jun 29, 2009 at 1:49 PM
    #11
    Celtic

    Celtic Tactical Trunk Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Member:
    #14928
    Messages:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Willows, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 AC TRD 4X4 SR5 6spd
    BHLM, Devil horns, trimmed front flaps, Flowmaster muffler,
    I know some tpms sensor systems need to be driven a certain distance before shutting off the warning. I was a Land Rover tech and their tpms sensor systems could take almost 10 miles to reset. Also I have found a trick of lowering the pressures down to like 15psi and refilling them to proper spec will reset the sensor computer and then driving it. Just my .02.
     
To Top