1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Truck is taken apart right NOW... need help from audio people

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by BarefootBandit, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. Nov 27, 2010 at 6:37 PM
    #1
    BarefootBandit

    BarefootBandit [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Member:
    #40116
    Messages:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double-Cab TRD Sport 6-Speed
    delete
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2015
  2. Nov 27, 2010 at 6:52 PM
    #2
    fritzthecat

    fritzthecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Member:
    #7217
    Messages:
    131
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner Auto AccCab Indigo
    You can't connect one speaker to two radios/amplifiers.
    When you power on the HAM, the OEM radio sees a short in the speaker system and shuts down.
    Install a seperate speaker for the HAM. Or look into getting a isolation box that allows two inputs to one speaker. Expensive and complicated for the simple setup you want to do.

    Fritz



     
  3. Nov 27, 2010 at 7:01 PM
    #3
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    You need a means of switching the wires from the stock radio and the wires from the ham radio so that only one radio is hooked to that speaker at a time. A double pole double throw toggle switch would do the job. Should be able to get one at napa, radioshack, home depot, etc. Just have to route all the wires to the location where you put the switch.

    I've never experienced this myself, but I have been told that most stereos are "smart" enough to shut them selves down if they detect a backfeed into the speaker wires.

    Edit: Using a toggle switch isn't going to work if your goal is to have the stereo cut out automatically when you recieve a radio transmission on your ham radio.
     
To Top