1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Turn Signal Flash x3, is it possible?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by voz, May 19, 2014.

  1. May 19, 2014 at 5:03 PM
    #1
    voz

    voz [OP] Nothing Witty To Say

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Member:
    #128687
    Messages:
    5,709
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    VOZ
    VOZLAND
    Vehicle:
    The Clean One
    In Progress, Progressively
    I recently rented a 14 Corolla, when you hit the turn signal lever once it flashes it three times, like BMW & MB...

    Is it possible to make a Tacoma do that?

    I own a 528i and have become fond of this feature.. I find myself hitting/tapping the lever only once when changing lanes..



    Is it just a relay?
     
  2. May 19, 2014 at 5:22 PM
    #2
    koditten

    koditten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Member:
    #112077
    Messages:
    11,134
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kirk
    Central Michigan
    Vehicle:
    04 trd x-cab 4 x 4 3.4l
    Reserected from the dead.
    The signal is controlled by a relay. Find out if the corolla has the same design and if yes, plug it into your truck. Relays are cheap, that wired flash might be a little more money, but I bet you could get one over the internet for less than $25.

    IM curious. Do it and report back.
     
  3. May 19, 2014 at 5:30 PM
    #3
    Timbo's Customs

    Timbo's Customs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Member:
    #110078
    Messages:
    6,717
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Timothy
    Auburndale FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 prerunner
    MaxTrac spindles, 5100s at all corners. Front set @1.75 expo springs out back. Wheels are a 20x12 moto metal -44mm offset wrapped with 305/55/20 nitto Terras. Performance is just a drop in k&n and a Flowmaster thunder series exhaust and a few stickers ha.
    My 13 altima and 13 silverado both did this and miss it report back please
     
  4. May 19, 2014 at 5:33 PM
    #4
    koditten

    koditten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Member:
    #112077
    Messages:
    11,134
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kirk
    Central Michigan
    Vehicle:
    04 trd x-cab 4 x 4 3.4l
    Reserected from the dead.
    You say your car has this feature, check to see if the relays have the same electrical contact configuration. If they are the same, swap them out. You can find out right away.
     
  5. May 19, 2014 at 5:35 PM
    #5
    Rsoxfan1

    Rsoxfan1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Member:
    #75442
    Messages:
    821
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Mass
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB TRD Sport 4x4
    I'm pretty sure it's going to require more than a relay...I think it's controlled by a module....
     
  6. May 19, 2014 at 6:11 PM
    #6
    voz

    voz [OP] Nothing Witty To Say

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Member:
    #128687
    Messages:
    5,709
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    VOZ
    VOZLAND
    Vehicle:
    The Clean One
    In Progress, Progressively

    Corolla was a rental,
    I have a BMW 528i that has it and my old MB had it also...

    I will try to call my buddy at our local toyota dealer..
     
  7. May 19, 2014 at 6:15 PM
    #7
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    15,284
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Missoula, MT
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    This isn't a relay issue. The turn signal you had is more or less a 2 position switch. You would need some sort of module that would allow ours to do that. Or else try to rig up the control box from a Corolla to our lever. Sounds like a lot of work to me. It is a noce feature though I will admit.
     
  8. May 20, 2014 at 5:05 AM
    #8
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    9,197
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    It would have to involve a counter that is set to the number of flashes desired. The signal from the stalk would set the counter which would energize the flasher the flasher output would decrement the counter from the set count to zero at zero it would stop flashing. This would involve interrupting the normal circuit path or at the very least paralleling the existing circuit.

    Very doable for someone with an understanding of electricity and circuits.

    These are very easy to setup: http://www.ia.omron.com/product/item/h3ca1001b/
     
  9. May 20, 2014 at 6:27 AM
    #9
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    15,284
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Missoula, MT
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Then you'd have to hold the stalk down if you want continuous blinkers not?
     
  10. May 20, 2014 at 6:31 AM
    #10
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    34,287
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '18 Ford F-250 SCREW
    F-250 Land Yacht Mod
    I'm pretty sure Memario has it right, it's the switch that would need to be replaced. You don't need a counter, a timer would suffice. You know 3 flashes takes X amount of time so set the timer to allow electricity flow for that amount of time. My Ford has this feature, if I press the stalk down slightly, it flashes 3 times, if I push it down harder, the blinker stays on until I make a sharp enough turn or turn it off manually. I would bet the switch is the control in this case.
     
  11. May 20, 2014 at 6:51 AM
    #11
    Bender581

    Bender581 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Member:
    #76015
    Messages:
    633
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    AL
    Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2012 4X4 Tacoma
    Gobi roof rack. Icon coilovers, Icon tubular UCAs, FOX 2.0 rear shocks, Icon 3-leaf progressive AAL.
    My wife's Rav4 has this feature. It is programmable to flash 1, 2, or 3 times when you lightly press the blinker switch. This change can be done by the owner. Some one on the Rav4 forum says you can take it to that dealer, and they can program it to flash up to 5 times. I haven't played with this feature. She doesn't like me playing around with her car.
     
  12. May 20, 2014 at 8:40 PM
    #12
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    9,197
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5

    No, not if you run the counter circuit in parallel.
     
  13. May 20, 2014 at 8:45 PM
    #13
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    9,197
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    I didn't say that they did it with a counter explicitly. I said you could use a countdown counter and run it parallel with the existing circuit. The same would hold true if pressed down slightly it would trigger the counter for set # of blinks. If pressed all the way the turn signal would operate normally with the exception that it would give three additional blinks before turning off.

    Yes, you could also do the same with a timer...

    Unlike Memario, I think if you really wanted this it would be relatively easy to do.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2014
  14. May 21, 2014 at 2:44 AM
    #14
    memario1214

    memario1214 Vivid Illumination Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Member:
    #23628
    Messages:
    15,284
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    Missoula, MT
    Vehicle:
    05 Dub Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah, I gots boost
    Its a cool feature for sure. Im more than happy to be proven incorrect. :)
     
  15. May 21, 2014 at 4:48 AM
    #15
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    9,197
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    If I get time tonight at work I'll see if I can dummy up a rough idea of what I am taking about.

    DTRL or No DTRL will make a difference.
     
  16. Sep 4, 2015 at 9:43 AM
    #16
    cseaman

    cseaman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Member:
    #162973
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Atropia
    Vehicle:
    2007 Z06, 2017 Tacoma
    Anyone ever have any luck with this, or find any products to do it?
     
  17. Sep 4, 2015 at 10:04 AM
    #17
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Member:
    #99256
    Messages:
    1,890
    San Pablo, CA
    Vehicle:
    Beat up Lexus LS430
    Garbage. Pure garbage.
    People use their signals in socal?
     
    PzTank likes this.
  18. Sep 4, 2015 at 10:41 AM
    #18
    127.0.0.1

    127.0.0.1 AKA ::1

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Member:
    #93641
    Messages:
    3,710
    Gender:
    Male
    /etc/hosts
    Vehicle:
    2013 NBM AC 4.0 4x4 Auto OR
  19. Sep 9, 2015 at 8:34 AM
    #19
    voz

    voz [OP] Nothing Witty To Say

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Member:
    #128687
    Messages:
    5,709
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    VOZ
    VOZLAND
    Vehicle:
    The Clean One
    In Progress, Progressively
    Interesting...

    Q: Can I install the One-Touch Signals module on any car?

    A: Most new cars use a computer to run the turn signals. The turn signal stalk sends a ground input to the computer. Find a wiring diagram of your car, or use a volt meter or test lamp to determine which wires on your car go from the turn signal stalk to the car's lighting computer. If that signal goes to ground when you move the stalk for right and left turn, then you can install our module and control the number of flashes you get for a One-Touch sequence.


    Does anyone know if the signal for a tacoma goes to ground?
    If not does anyone have the wiring schematics?
     
  20. Sep 9, 2015 at 8:50 AM
    #20
    xJuice

    xJuice My spoon is too Big!

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Member:
    #3208
    Messages:
    9,489
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    North DFW
    Vehicle:
    07 DCSB Sport 2wd
    5100s @ 0.85, Grom iPod/Bluetooth adapter, mud flaps removed, clear turn signal bulbs, two extra D-rings, debadged, fog light anytime, OEM bed mat, Undercover classic, Falken Wildpeak A/T3W, Fumoto valve
    Just buy a 2016. They're set up like this.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top