1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Ultragauge calibration question..

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Rodallg, Apr 13, 2012.

  1. Apr 13, 2012 at 11:33 AM
    #1
    Rodallg

    Rodallg [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Member:
    #35256
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    CA
    Can someone clarify or confirm this please.
    In the instructions on page 36 step 3, you enter the gallons used and record the calibration factor I assume you then zero the MPG and then go in and enter the factor or will it be retained?
    It was vague to me but since you have to zero every time you fill up wipes out the previous calculation so after the fill is done I would have to go into the menu and zero then enter the factor.
    Thanks
     
  2. Apr 13, 2012 at 11:44 AM
    #2
    jester156

    jester156 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Member:
    #24005
    Messages:
    797
    Gender:
    Male
    Cumberland, RI
    Vehicle:
    08 V6 4x4 DC TRD, 6spd
    TRD Supercharger, TRD CAI, Sirius, Rear TSB, Front 5100 with Eibach coils, 1.5" AAL, URD short throw, fog light mod, weather tech liners,
    first you need to clear the MPG from the menu screen, fill the tank.
    upon next fill, record the gallons. go into the calibration and adjust the actual (from pump) against the scanguage reading, this will give you the calibration factor.

    you don't need to redo the cal factor after the first time unless you do as you said and zero the MPG, this will erase the factor.

     
  3. Apr 13, 2012 at 11:53 AM
    #3
    puckstopper55

    puckstopper55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Member:
    #56857
    Messages:
    615
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    '11 Double Cab TRD Sport, Mag Grey
    tailgate anti-theft Map Light LED's Dome Light LED LP LED Halogen Bed Light Extra D-Rings in bed Anytime Fog Lights Tri-Fold tonnau cover Wet Ok's
    Pretty much what ^ said.

    1)Fill up at local gas station pump X
    2) Zero the MPG/AVG setting.
    3) Drive
    4) Go back to the same station and pump and let it click off. Do not top off.
    5) Go into vehicle setup and fuel calibration. Enter the gallons displayed on the gas pump. Basically you are adjusting what the UG thought you used.

    I do this on every fill-up, but after that first calibration, its pretty close. My correction factor is about 1.113
     
  4. Apr 13, 2012 at 11:56 AM
    #4
    Rodallg

    Rodallg [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Member:
    #35256
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    CA

    Ok thanks, I have done this. I must be missing something since after the fill up and you have to reset for the fill up so your factor would be lost correct?
     
  5. Apr 13, 2012 at 3:11 PM
    #5
    iroh

    iroh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Member:
    #65439
    Messages:
    1,398
    Gender:
    Male
    michigander
    Vehicle:
    07 AC SR5 2.7 5MT 4x4
    tonneau
    I would recommend keeping a continuous additive tally of your miles and gallons and update the ultragauge on each for the first 5 tanks or so. By then it should be close enough for government work.

    Remember that simple changes such as winter/summer gas or big humidity changes (or lots of driving with a lead foot that runs the engine richer stoich) can throw it off a tad from tank to tank, so don't count on it being 100%. That said it should easily keep within 0.3 gallons per tank.
     
  6. Apr 16, 2012 at 4:25 AM
    #6
    puckstopper55

    puckstopper55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Member:
    #56857
    Messages:
    615
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    '11 Double Cab TRD Sport, Mag Grey
    tailgate anti-theft Map Light LED's Dome Light LED LP LED Halogen Bed Light Extra D-Rings in bed Anytime Fog Lights Tri-Fold tonnau cover Wet Ok's
    no. The correction factor stays (just like the distance correction factor that you should have done when you first used the UG).

    All you are doing after a fill up (if you dont adjust the gallons used) is just holding the up button. Basically this just lets the UG know you filled up and to reset the fuel level to 21.1 gallons.

    Just this past weekend I drove until the DTE (distance to empty) read 41 miles, and my gas gauge was below E. When I filled up I took 18.68 gallons and avg 17.2 MPG. So if you do the math (21.1 gallons - 18.68 gallons used, i have 2.42 gallons left.) If I multiply the 2.42 gallons left by my avg MPG of 17.2 I find out that I could go another 41.64 miles (assuming my avg mpg stays the same). Once you dial this in, you get pretty accurate #'s
     
  7. Apr 16, 2012 at 4:36 AM
    #7
    AbsolutPolack

    AbsolutPolack Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Member:
    #69572
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Central MA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Stock DCSB 6spd
    21.1 gallons? Does the TRD have a bigger tank than SR5? I was told my tank (2011 SR5 DCSB) was 17 gallons. I've ran it with the gas light on for 25 or so miles before filling up 17.92 gallons so I assumed it was 18 and the dealer misspoke. Are our tanks really that large?
     
  8. Apr 16, 2012 at 5:26 AM
    #8
    Boilerman

    Boilerman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Member:
    #35501
    Messages:
    523
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Texas, northwest of the Big Pond
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prerunner SR5 Magnetic Gray 2.7L
    My SR5 has a 21.1 gallon tank
     
  9. Apr 16, 2012 at 7:40 AM
    #9
    puckstopper55

    puckstopper55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Member:
    #56857
    Messages:
    615
    Gender:
    Male
    Long Island
    Vehicle:
    '11 Double Cab TRD Sport, Mag Grey
    tailgate anti-theft Map Light LED's Dome Light LED LP LED Halogen Bed Light Extra D-Rings in bed Anytime Fog Lights Tri-Fold tonnau cover Wet Ok's
    What does your owners manual say? I thought all newer Tacos have a 21.1 gallon tank
     
  10. Apr 16, 2012 at 10:23 AM
    #10
    Bobbb

    Bobbb "Rumors of Bob, but never Bob. It is Bob, right?"

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Member:
    #63498
    Messages:
    1,211
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Bob
    Vehicle:
    Bob
    Tundra TRD/OR
    Never trust what the numbnuts at dealerships say. Just look in your manual and you'll see that it's 21.1 gal. I had to tell my salesman that my cargo box is composite and not a liner.
     
  11. Apr 16, 2012 at 12:27 PM
    #11
    Rodallg

    Rodallg [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Member:
    #35256
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    CA

    Thank you, this is what I was looking for. The correction factor will stay in the memory even after you reset when you fill up.
     
  12. Nov 4, 2015 at 1:49 AM
    #12
    NewShockerGuy

    NewShockerGuy Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Member:
    #79414
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nigel
    DC

    Ok I have to ask because I can't seem to get tihs to work.

    I plugged in my UG a week ago. I did the first calibration with the miles via GPS... so my speed/odo are correct on the UG.

    I have YET to touch the full fill up button (top botton held down), nor have I calibrated how much gas used, other than the intital setup of telling UG what my engine size was and the total size of fuel tank.

    Today when I go to get fuel, I will be filling up a full tank (though it won't be full full in terms of me running it until it's empty. Total fuel tank on my Ranger is 16.5 gallons and I would image I am going to fill up today at around 15. So once I fill up, so I zero out my trip/mpg, then push up on the top button indictating a FULL fill, then go back to the calibration settings and adjust? Or do I do the adjustment first, then use the top button to indicate a full fill up?

    I can't seem to source the answer anywhere and everything I've read isn't 100% clear to me for some reason...

    Thanks,
    -Nigel
     
  13. Nov 4, 2015 at 2:22 AM
    #13
    unclemike

    unclemike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Member:
    #122115
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Vehicle:
    14 TRD Off Road 4x4
    Calibrate, zero out, and then up button.
     
To Top