1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Ultragauge

Discussion in 'Product Reviews' started by Pugga, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. Feb 28, 2011 at 2:58 PM
    #1
    Pugga

    Pugga [OP] Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,089
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I stole this idea for a mounting point (Thanks Whippersnapper). So far, the Ultragauge has been great. The set-up is pretty self-explanatory. I haven't messed with it too much but I've got a question for you long-time Ultragauge users... I bought the Ultragauge, filled up my tank and just went for a refill. The Ultragauge says my average fuel economy is 19.0 MPG, my calculated MPG is 17. Anyone else notice this discrepancy with theirs?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Mar 1, 2011 at 8:32 AM
    #2
    DonL

    DonL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Member:
    #26507
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Don
    Prescott, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD
    Monster Exhaust, Shell, 5100's all around, Airlift airbags, Hankook Atm, K&M air filter
    Did you CALIBRATE DISTANCE and then CALIBRATE MPG/FUEL as per page 29-30 in the INSTALLATION & OPERATION manual? That will set up your UltraGuage to give you your true mileage.
     
  3. Mar 1, 2011 at 9:10 AM
    #3
    Pugga

    Pugga [OP] Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,089
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Mine didn't come with a manual... just went to the site and downloaded it. I'll try that calibration you mentioned. Thanks!
     
  4. Mar 1, 2011 at 1:21 PM
    #4
    DonL

    DonL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Member:
    #26507
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Don
    Prescott, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD
    Monster Exhaust, Shell, 5100's all around, Airlift airbags, Hankook Atm, K&M air filter
    Yes, for some reason none of the Ultragauges came with a manual. You want to CALIBRATE DISTANCE on page thirty (30) first and then the CALIBRATE MPG/FUEL on page twenty nine (29). Good luck.
     
  5. Mar 1, 2011 at 1:36 PM
    #5
    Paul's TRD

    Paul's TRD I'm Not Your F***ing Brother

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Member:
    #30306
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    TX
    Vehicle:
    2011 Z71 4x4 5.3L V8
    That's where I have mine mounted and I didn't steel the idea from anyone, just seemed like the right place to put it and cable reached. As for the answer of the fuel reading. Mine is somewhere like 13.8 avg mpg
     
  6. Mar 13, 2012 at 2:19 PM
    #6
    canadaman

    canadaman Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Member:
    #61292
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport
    Dumb question here.... but do you guys know how to make it stop calculating MPG when you are stopped? If I am at a light, I can just watch as my DTE decreases...? It would be nice if it used an average when moving.
     
  7. Mar 13, 2012 at 5:01 PM
    #7
    Pugga

    Pugga [OP] Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,089
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    At a light, your DTE shouldn't change enough to say so. If you spend enough time sitting and idling though, your Distance to Empty is decreasing... If you don't want it to show it, change the settings so the DTE isn't displayed. It constantly calculates average MPG and DTE.
     
  8. Mar 14, 2012 at 8:05 AM
    #8
    Boilerman

    Boilerman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Member:
    #35501
    Messages:
    449
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Texas, northwest of the Big Pond
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prerunner SR5 Magnetic Gray 2.7L
    Yep have to calculate distance and mpg. Since doing that mine has only been off from .2 to .4 mpg's.
     
  9. Mar 14, 2012 at 8:08 AM
    #9
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
  10. Mar 14, 2012 at 8:13 AM
    #10
    PLC721

    PLC721 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Member:
    #28268
    Messages:
    18,232
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Chandler, Az
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab
    See Build in Sig
    So these can be recalibrated for 35" tires? Since my speedo and odometer are about 12 % off
     
  11. Mar 14, 2012 at 8:29 AM
    #11
    Pugga

    Pugga [OP] Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,089
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Yep
     
  12. Mar 17, 2012 at 9:48 PM
    #12
    TacomaJPP

    TacomaJPP To secure peace, is to prepare for war

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Member:
    #47218
    Messages:
    567
    Gender:
    Male
    East TN
    Vehicle:
    03 4WD TRD XTD Cab
    Snugtop Camper Brushguard
    Heres mine on the A pillar:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Mar 18, 2012 at 6:46 AM
    #13
    Rellik01

    Rellik01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Member:
    #54920
    Messages:
    838
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Windermere, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Sport 4x4 White
    Bull Guard powder coated white, chrome aftermarket tail lights,Led interior lights, Factory roof rack, Bug deflector, Factory tow package, Garmin GPS, Viper 5901 alarm with auto start, Weather tech window wind deflectors, , 3" Tube steps powder coated white, CB Radio, Radio Scanner.
    BTW, I recently emailed UG and they said that they shortly will have a fix to have the Transmission Temperature reporting on the gauge.
     
  14. Mar 18, 2012 at 7:00 AM
    #14
    Tacoma Mike

    Tacoma Mike 41 Year Toyota Master/ASE Master

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Member:
    #61230
    Messages:
    3,642
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Maine
    Vehicle:
    2011 Double Cab V6
    Large Storage Box, 02610 intermittent switch swap, "Hot Wire" Power Outlets, DRL Shut Off, Disable Fob Beep, Disable Seat Belt Buzzers, Parking Light Mod, Battery Tender, 4 Leaf Spring Pack, Rear Headrest Removal, Custom Ultragauge Mount, Factory Tow Package (7 Pin)
    Really !!!!!!!!!!!!! I wonder how they will accomplish this...
     
  15. Mar 19, 2012 at 8:31 AM
    #15
    tan4x4

    tan4x4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Member:
    #67982
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Folsom, CA
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma EC 4x4 2.7L Auto
    Bilsteins, OME 881's, 3-leaf AAL, Detroit TruTrac, 31" tires, Michelin LTX AT2, stock gears, Tranny skidplate, TC skidplate, CBI rear bumper, sliders, UltraGauge, PowerTank, CB
    Looks good. How did you feed the UG cable down to the OBD2 port? I wanted to do that but the OBD plug is so large, I couldn't see how to feed it without dismantling the dash.
     
  16. Mar 19, 2012 at 8:41 AM
    #16
    Pugga

    Pugga [OP] Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,089
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I pulled the A-pillar cover off and ran the wire behind it. If you pull the A-pillar cover off, you'd only have to cut a small notch at the front, where it meets the windshield, to run the wire into it and fish the OBD II plug behind the dash or between the dash and the door. Sometimes you just gotta be creative with hiding your wires, you shouldn't have to tear your dash apart, just remove the a-pillar cover.
     
  17. Jul 24, 2012 at 12:33 AM
    #17
    Gene563

    Gene563 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Member:
    #8171
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eugene
    Lanoka Harbor, NJ
    Vehicle:
    08 Double Cab, LB, TRD Sport
    TRD catback exhaust, Undercover hard tonneau, Vent visors, Husky liners, customized seat covers, front license plate bracket, rear suspension TSB, Eibach springs w 5100s@0, & General Grabber AT2 (265.70.17).
    Pugga, I like how you mounted yours above the mirror (I know you said you got the idea from WS). Do you have any pics of how it's attached?
    Thanks.
     
  18. Jul 24, 2012 at 3:13 AM
    #18
    2TRunner

    2TRunner Don't give up here just yet

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Member:
    #40980
    Messages:
    3,073
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Around To Many People
    Vehicle:
    1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Lugs
    Brute Force Bumpers: rear & custom front tube, Saw-A-Way Racerunner 2.5 Coilovers with Total Chaos UCAs. Icon AAL.
    Enjoy mine very much.

    Took a look back through that online manual. I have done either of those calibrations. They'll be done soon. I also forgot about some of the optional gauges. Gonna set up the Engine Run Time on one. It's been something I've been thinking about lately.

    I actually don't have a pic of how I've had mine mounted for quite some time now. This is a pic from when I first got it. It's still in about the same location except it's not hooked onto that stupid mount.

    I simply went to Meijer and found some small "L" brackets. I 3M taped the bracket to the top of the dash, then 3M'd the UG to the bracket. The wire is still run the exact same way.
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Jul 24, 2012 at 4:43 AM
    #19
    Pugga

    Pugga [OP] Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    29,089
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    The picture in the first post is actually Whipper's truck, I just have mine mounted the same way. If you look on the top of the mirror, on the right side you'll see the top of the suction cup in the back ground. It's mounted there by taking the UG supplied suction cup mount and bending it into an S shape around the rear view mirror. I can take a side pic tonight if you'd like. Just make sure the suction cup is below that ceramic frit at the top of the window otherwise it won't stay.
     
  20. Jul 24, 2012 at 10:10 PM
    #20
    Gene563

    Gene563 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Member:
    #8171
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eugene
    Lanoka Harbor, NJ
    Vehicle:
    08 Double Cab, LB, TRD Sport
    TRD catback exhaust, Undercover hard tonneau, Vent visors, Husky liners, customized seat covers, front license plate bracket, rear suspension TSB, Eibach springs w 5100s@0, & General Grabber AT2 (265.70.17).
    Gotcha... Thanks.
    Don't bother with the pictures, I understand. I thought it was clipped on to the mirror somehow.
     
To Top