1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Underglow issues.

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by spence1991, May 4, 2012.

  1. May 4, 2012 at 7:04 PM
    #1
    spence1991

    spence1991 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Member:
    #78216
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Spencer
    birmingham,al
    Vehicle:
    Black 07 DCSB Sr5 4x4
    Im new to tacoma world, but not to tinkerin with my trucks, ive had my double cab for a few months and started doing simple mods recently, ive run into problems wiring my LED light strips (Regular Advanced auto stuff) to work in tamdem with my dome light, im using them for ground lights when i open the doors so i only wanted them on when my door was ajar, i initially thought of tapping the fuse but it had constant power, next thought was to tap directly into the dome wiring(With an inline fuse), well thats where the problem was....there is three wires, one constant, one ground, and only relay im guessing???? which wire should i tap? or is there an easier way to do this im missing? i did however get power to them, but they wouldnt turn off with the doors..idk what the hell to do lol. thanks for any help..:confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. May 4, 2012 at 7:06 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,154
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Welcome to TW! Hopfully someone can chime in on this.
     
  3. May 4, 2012 at 7:09 PM
    #3
    DrewH

    DrewH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Member:
    #46791
    Messages:
    15,053
    Gender:
    Male
    hmmm, could you possibly tap into the door trigger for the dome light?

    Also.. I'm assuming you are running them off of a ballast of some sort?
     
  4. May 4, 2012 at 7:11 PM
    #4
    spence1991

    spence1991 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Member:
    #78216
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Spencer
    birmingham,al
    Vehicle:
    Black 07 DCSB Sr5 4x4
    Appreciate it, and im hoping so haha
     
  5. May 4, 2012 at 7:13 PM
    #5
    spence1991

    spence1991 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Member:
    #78216
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Spencer
    birmingham,al
    Vehicle:
    Black 07 DCSB Sr5 4x4
    i was trying to avoid pulling the switch because the wiring is basically all ran its just which wire to use, but i could easliy rip the wires out n start over, may save some headache. and ballast? im very unversed in technical talk lol
     
  6. May 4, 2012 at 7:15 PM
    #6
    DrewH

    DrewH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Member:
    #46791
    Messages:
    15,053
    Gender:
    Male
    There may be someone here that has done this, give a little time for some more responses.
     
  7. May 4, 2012 at 7:19 PM
    #7
    DrewH

    DrewH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Member:
    #46791
    Messages:
    15,053
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm not familair with the advanced auto led strips but typically LED's require a ballast to control the amount of current running to the lights.
     
  8. May 4, 2012 at 7:23 PM
    #8
    spence1991

    spence1991 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Member:
    #78216
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Spencer
    birmingham,al
    Vehicle:
    Black 07 DCSB Sr5 4x4
    you may be right, im not good with wiring,lights,etc at all. these just seemed basic and with a basic purpose. kinda wasted two hours i could been doin somethin cooler hahaha
     
  9. May 4, 2012 at 7:27 PM
    #9
    DrewH

    DrewH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Member:
    #46791
    Messages:
    15,053
    Gender:
    Male
    And I might be wrong , all my knowledge on LED's is from the signage industry. what you are using could be completely different but you may want to check it out with the place you bought them from. Good luck man.
     
  10. May 4, 2012 at 7:34 PM
    #10
    spence1991

    spence1991 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Member:
    #78216
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Spencer
    birmingham,al
    Vehicle:
    Black 07 DCSB Sr5 4x4
    Thanks buddy. i might scrap the plan if it turns into a mess...
     
  11. May 4, 2012 at 8:39 PM
    #11
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,404
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    2 wires.
    A hot, a ground, and the door sensor wire.

    The hot is hot 24/7.
    The ground is ground 24/7... but it is only connected to the lights when you turn the switch on manually.

    The door sensor wire applies a ground to the light when you open the door.
    That is the one you want to use to trigger the new lights.
     
  12. May 4, 2012 at 10:34 PM
    #12
    spence1991

    spence1991 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Member:
    #78216
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Spencer
    birmingham,al
    Vehicle:
    Black 07 DCSB Sr5 4x4
    i think thats the dark blue one, ill try it tomorrow, thanks alot!
     
  13. May 4, 2012 at 10:37 PM
    #13
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,404
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Theoretically, you could apply a constant hot to the positive on the LED strips, and attach the ground to the dark blue.

    But I don't know what the current capacity of the stock system is. If the LEDs overload the system, it could toast the part of the system that activates the dome light.
     
  14. May 4, 2012 at 10:44 PM
    #14
    spence1991

    spence1991 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Member:
    #78216
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Spencer
    birmingham,al
    Vehicle:
    Black 07 DCSB Sr5 4x4
    thats where i went wrong, i didnt use the ground as the wire that completed the circuit, i was grounded to the frame and tapping to the hot. makes sense now. Much thanks haha
     
  15. May 5, 2012 at 4:29 PM
    #15
    spence1991

    spence1991 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Member:
    #78216
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Spencer
    birmingham,al
    Vehicle:
    Black 07 DCSB Sr5 4x4
    got everything together the easiest way i could, maybe not the smartest, but its still not right, ive tied directly into the lamp positive, and grounded to the frame where the lights are mounted so everytime the dome came on so would the LEDs, now my fuse blows under the hood, the lights come on for just a sec then blows, they dont pull much at all i didnt think theyd blow a fuse?
     
To Top