1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Unusual winch use.... Sanity check

Discussion in 'Recovery' started by mutilatedjak, Jan 23, 2018.

1. Jan 23, 2018 at 8:38 PM
    mutilatedjak

mutilatedjak [OP] n00b waffle

Member:
    WA
    Vehicle:
    11 DC SB TRD Sport 6spd
    BP-51s, Dakar leafs, ARB bumper, 4xinnovations rear HC, 3x trail camera, pure android, lightforce 170s, Dick Cepek 255 85s extreme terrain.
    So I have a 50 degree roughly 100ft downhill slope along which I need to bushwack a path through several metric shit tons of black berry bushes. I have a climbing harness and a belay device... But no decent rope. I have an old winch without a wireless controller.... So I am debating whether I tell my wife I "need" to upgrade my 1st gen 8k x2o smittybilt winch to a 9.5k xrc (but I would have to buy a separate wireless remote) or a 2nd gen 10k x2o winch with the included wireless controller, so that I can use it to help lower my self down the slope. Yes I realize this is a huge stretch... But shit if I can justify a new winch because of yard work my wife wants done... I will sure try heh.
    I have searched and searched for the wireless range of the x2o and I can't find anything.... It would be a bummer to get 50ft down and for it to lose signal. I knew I could just pull myself back up, but still.

Am I crazy /stupid to try and lower myself with my winch? If it was a vertical cliff I would not even tempt this, but it's just a super steep hill.... Let me know what you think!

austin2009 and Wishbone Runner like this.
  2. Jan 23, 2018 at 8:45 PM
    ImplicitlyAlberta

ImplicitlyAlberta VA6DCO

Member: