1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Upgraded my gauge cluster.....

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Racerboy221, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. Apr 25, 2011 at 7:49 PM
    #1
    Racerboy221

    Racerboy221 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Member:
    #53292
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Litchfield Park, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2.4, Std cab/bed, 18"wheels,airshocks
    18" Wheels & Tires, Airshocks, CB Radio
    I currently have a 1998 2.4 base model truck.

    The only real options on the truck are A/C and Power Steering.

    So, the other day I bought an SR5 Gauge Cluster from a 2004 2.4 off of eBay for cheap and installed it myself. Since its all electronic, it went in and works PERFECTLY!!

    Now, I have a Tachometer, something sorely missing from the original as well the Low Fuel Light is functional!!

    Sorry, no pics, it was a simple upgrade, just wanted to pass long the fact that the instrument clusters (electronic) are exactly the same for 1998-2004 Gen-1 Taco's. Whoo Hoo!!
     
  2. Apr 25, 2011 at 7:52 PM
    #2
    01Tac0ma

    01Tac0ma Bash Fabriction & Off-Road

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Member:
    #38782
    Messages:
    6,260
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    West Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    SAS 01 TRD 4x4
    Look at build!
    Nice, good info for someone else looking to do this which i recall seeing something about lately, Now to just change the color from ORange!
     
  3. Apr 25, 2011 at 7:53 PM
    #3
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    Good deal!! Tachs are really good to have.....either auto or manual........kinda pointless to not have them from the factory as far as I'm concerned.
     
  4. Apr 25, 2011 at 7:56 PM
    #4
    Racerboy221

    Racerboy221 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Member:
    #53292
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Litchfield Park, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2.4, Std cab/bed, 18"wheels,airshocks
    18" Wheels & Tires, Airshocks, CB Radio
    This is my 8th HiLux/Tacoma since 1982 and I have only ever had one with a tach, my 1990 SR5 Ex-Cab. Other than that, all of them have been base model trucks because I usually end up modding the hell out of them so I start out as inexpensive as possible. I really like having it now.
     
  5. Apr 28, 2011 at 4:41 PM
    #5
    jeffz0rz

    jeffz0rz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Member:
    #27296
    Messages:
    3,693
    Gender:
    Male
    san diego
    Vehicle:
    1996 tacoma 4cyl, 5spd
    when looking for a cluster, do you have to find a 2.4/2.7/3.4 specific cluster ?
     
  6. Apr 29, 2011 at 2:42 AM
    #6
    Racerboy221

    Racerboy221 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Member:
    #53292
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Litchfield Park, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2.4, Std cab/bed, 18"wheels,airshocks
    18" Wheels & Tires, Airshocks, CB Radio
    Yes....my understanding is the 4cyl and 6cyl clusters are different wiring configuration

    So, the 2.4/2.7 are the same and the V6 is a bit different.
     
  7. Apr 29, 2011 at 8:21 AM
    #7
    jeffz0rz

    jeffz0rz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Member:
    #27296
    Messages:
    3,693
    Gender:
    Male
    san diego
    Vehicle:
    1996 tacoma 4cyl, 5spd
    gotcha. its getting old not having a tach.
     
  8. May 30, 2011 at 5:30 PM
    #8
    trdracing5

    trdracing5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Member:
    #3944
    Messages:
    819
    Gender:
    Male
    Elizabeth City, NC
    Vehicle:
    1995 Tacoma 4X4
    ARE Impulse Shell, BFG AT KO's
    did your 2.4 have the digital odometer originally?
     
  9. Jul 12, 2015 at 2:46 PM
    #9
    Caligula

    Caligula He loves gaaaaaawld

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43228
    Messages:
    1,484
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2000 Ext. Cab Prerunner 2.7L
    Same question, did you go from a roller to an electric odometer?
     
  10. Jul 12, 2015 at 4:03 PM
    #10
    keakar

    keakar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Member:
    #139537
    Messages:
    4,914
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    karl
    louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2004 SR5 Tacoma 2wd Prerunner 3.4L v6 ext cab (white)
    no, the 98-04 are the LED mileage meters with electric speedometers.

    if you have the earlier cable speedo it must stay with the cable speedo and roller mileage meters
     
  11. Jul 13, 2015 at 3:18 AM
    #11
    johnny3

    johnny3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Member:
    #159153
    Messages:
    152
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    01 Tacoma TRD
    Hi new owner/member here, mines a 01 4x4, ext. cab. The inst. cluster lights are red with white tach & speedometer faces. Was that standard from the factory? I'm 73 & can hardly see the red lighted guages while driving at night. thanks
     
  12. Jul 13, 2015 at 6:59 AM
    #12
    Caligula

    Caligula He loves gaaaaaawld

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43228
    Messages:
    1,484
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2000 Ext. Cab Prerunner 2.7L
    My current cluster is a speedometer only, electronic, with the roller odometer. Im seeing 4runner clusters that may fit with swapping out the rear housing.

    What happens if i plug in a digital odometer into mine??
     
  13. Jul 13, 2015 at 11:51 AM
    #13
    keakar

    keakar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Member:
    #139537
    Messages:
    4,914
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    karl
    louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2004 SR5 Tacoma 2wd Prerunner 3.4L v6 ext cab (white)
    you cant, it takes a plug you dont have to make it work and the ECM you don't have, to post the mileage
     
  14. Jul 13, 2015 at 1:34 PM
    #14
    Caligula

    Caligula He loves gaaaaaawld

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43228
    Messages:
    1,484
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2000 Ext. Cab Prerunner 2.7L
  15. Jul 16, 2015 at 2:18 AM
    #15
    Caligula

    Caligula He loves gaaaaaawld

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43228
    Messages:
    1,484
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2000 Ext. Cab Prerunner 2.7L
    Im not really a fan of the white gauges. Has anyone found black faced gauge replacement or been able to fit a 4runner gauge?
     
To Top