1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

URD CAI question

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by awoit, May 20, 2009.

  1. May 20, 2009 at 2:02 PM
    #1
    awoit

    awoit [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Member:
    #3639
    Messages:
    376
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD, SR5, Debadged
    URD CAI, Flowmaster super 40, Debadged, 15% Tint all around, 12" sub, amp, and upgraded kenwood headunit,
    So im planning on going with this intake because there are so many discussions on which one is the best and I just simply decided to try this one out first. MY question is, is it required to run a MAF Sensor Calibrator or is that just to help optimize performance? because if it will work just fine without it then im still buyin it, if its not going to run correctly without it, TRD here i come :D
     
  2. May 20, 2009 at 2:03 PM
    #2
    tacoskim

    tacoskim Tuned By Gadget

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5252
    Messages:
    2,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD 4x4 Pyrite Mica
    Stock
    no u do not. but u are going to need to extend ur maf sensor but soldering some wires
     
  3. May 20, 2009 at 3:54 PM
    #3
    rexrunner

    rexrunner Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Member:
    #17415
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    gt35r
    my vote is trd or something similar...


    If you want reason pm me, I seem to get in trouble lot
     
  4. May 20, 2009 at 4:41 PM
    #4
    awoit

    awoit [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Member:
    #3639
    Messages:
    376
    Gender:
    Male
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD, SR5, Debadged
    URD CAI, Flowmaster super 40, Debadged, 15% Tint all around, 12" sub, amp, and upgraded kenwood headunit,

    And what would happen if i didnt extend the sensor? theoretically speaking
     
  5. May 20, 2009 at 4:47 PM
    #5
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,930
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Wires wont be long nough to plug into the new location on the intake tube.
     
  6. May 20, 2009 at 5:19 PM
    #6
    tacoskim

    tacoskim Tuned By Gadget

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5252
    Messages:
    2,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD 4x4 Pyrite Mica
    Stock
    what he said... damn chris your fast
     
  7. Jul 19, 2009 at 11:51 AM
    #7
    RDAY

    RDAY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11700
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    NY
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma SR5 4x4
    how hard it it to do this does it come with the wire to do this?
    Will u still gain the proper mpg without buying the maf sensor? Its basically just for the performance right?
     
  8. Jul 19, 2009 at 12:03 PM
    #8
    jaxchrisfla

    jaxchrisfla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Member:
    #8422
    Messages:
    949
    flooriduh
    lots
    The wires (5 of them) and the heatshrink come with the kit. Its not very hard to solder the wires, and if you need help there are many people on here that can help or a quick search on the web can yield great results.

    You dont need the Urd Maf Cal to run the intake, but it will help smoothen out the power band, and that usually opens up a few mpg. IIRC, the stock ecu tells the truck to run at or around 10.1 AFR in WOT, thats pig ass rich. The maf cal will allow you (or someone skilled to do it) to adjust maf voltage at a given rpm to level things out a bit more.
     
To Top