1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

URD TCAI Filter Question

Discussion in 'Underdog Racing Development' started by 007Tacoma, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. Aug 21, 2009 at 10:56 AM
    #1
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma [OP] I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    Gadget,

    Normally, I would send you an email. Since this isn't a big deal and plenty people on here would probably like to know; I am asking here...

    Since I purchased a URD TCAI second hand, I got a filter that had already been used for who knows how long. I am looking to replace it as it was "well used" when I got it. The filter that you guys have for the Supercharger kit looks like the same thing. Is it? Can I just order one of these from you guys to replace the one I have?

    Thanks!


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Aug 25, 2009 at 12:51 PM
    #2
    Gadget@URD

    Gadget@URD Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9183
    Messages:
    638
    Southern Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    URD Supercharged XRunner
    Yes, we use the same filter for the supercharger kits and the URD TCAI.

    Out of stock for about a week. Got a large shipment on its way!!

    The new filter is slightly different. I worked with Injen/AMSOIL to redesign the filter slightly. It now has a lip in the pipe section to prevent folks from sliding it on to far killing performance.

    Gadget
     
  3. Aug 25, 2009 at 1:01 PM
    #3
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma [OP] I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    Awesome! I will be ordering one ASAP. The one I have now is deteriorating on the pipe fitting. The rubber is starting to crack and the filter looks like it has been on the truck for years.
    :rolleyes:
    That's what I get for getting used, eh?

    Cheers!
     
  4. Aug 25, 2009 at 1:22 PM
    #4
    Gadget@URD

    Gadget@URD Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9183
    Messages:
    638
    Southern Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    URD Supercharged XRunner
    Wow. Never heard of that happening before.

    I used the same filter for years, did all the prototype MkI supercharger testing, then the URD TCAI testing and on to the MkII supercharger development. The only reason I put a new one on was to take pictures for the website one day and I decided to leave it on. I put the old filter on one of my other project trucks so it is still going...

    G
     
  5. Aug 25, 2009 at 1:29 PM
    #5
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,079
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    I have an afe pro 5R if you want it, idk how much its worth tho

    brand new never used
     
  6. Aug 25, 2009 at 1:36 PM
    #6
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma [OP] I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    I think the guy that had it before me abused the junk out of it. It has been sitting in the desert heat and harsh winters that I drive through. It probably has close to 100K miles on it.

    I was going to see about cleaning it to at least make it look blue again, but I think I would rather just buy a new one.

    Can you use soap and water on these things? :confused:
     
  7. Aug 25, 2009 at 1:37 PM
    #7
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma [OP] I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    No thanks. I love my URD TCAI!!! It just needs a new filter!!! :D
     
  8. Sep 14, 2009 at 5:55 AM
    #8
    Gadget@URD

    Gadget@URD Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9183
    Messages:
    638
    Southern Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    URD Supercharged XRunner
    I have a huge shipment of the special filters inbound right now to URD. I should be able to ship the filter later in the week if you want to go ahead and place your order now.

    Just a word of caution. You should not use any other filter with the URD TCAI. We carefully designed the placement of the MAF sensor, the tube, and the filter to work together to provide a very clean and accurate signal from the MAF sensor. The curved velocity stack of the filter is very important to provide smooth air flow into the tube before the MAF. I have seen people attempt to use other filters and they induce all kinds of turbulence to the air flow causing a very poor and unstable MAF reading.

    G
     
  9. Sep 14, 2009 at 10:27 AM
    #9
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma [OP] I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    Maybe the filter is what is wrong with my MAF readings. About once every 3 months I get a CEL on MAF errors. When I check the readings in the driveway, they seem fine. This only happens when I am driving down a certain stretch of I-10 that is very windy and I am pulling 70-75 MPH uphill. I had forgotten all about it since I haven't had a CEL in months, but I got one yesterday driving that same strip in a crosswind.

    At first, I thought it was my soldering job on the wires to the MAF. However, I took all of that out and re-soldered (heatshrink and all) a few months ago. After yesterday's CEL, I was beginning to think it was the MAF itself ($130 part!). Hopefully it is just bad turbulence due to a really clogged filter.

    I will be ordering a new filter this week. :D
     
  10. Sep 14, 2009 at 12:32 PM
    #10
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma [OP] I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    ordered via paypal. :D
     
  11. Sep 14, 2009 at 7:58 PM
    #11
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma [OP] I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    LMAO!!! The last 3 digits of my order number are 007.


    ...okay, it was funny to me.
     
  12. Sep 14, 2009 at 8:08 PM
    #12
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,935
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
  13. Sep 18, 2009 at 12:50 PM
    #13
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma [OP] I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    Gadget,

    Any update as to when the new ones will be shipped out?
     
  14. Sep 24, 2009 at 9:01 PM
    #14
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma [OP] I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,703
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner SE 4WD
    I got my new filter today. Same design for the most part, but it looks better without the chrome ring at the end. The new one has the lip that Gadget was talking about. You can see the lip in this picture...

    [​IMG]

    The new one also has a different interior design - complete with logos that you will never get to show off without a picture like this. ;)

    [​IMG]

    You can see how far I had the old one on. The bad thing is I had no idea that it was on that far. As Gadget was stating earlier, this disrupts the air flow that this setup was designed to produce. No wonder my MAF was throwing codes!!! :frusty:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Dec 10, 2009 at 3:30 PM
    #15
    mreimann

    mreimann vv I think it's growing

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Member:
    #21434
    Messages:
    2,044
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    05 dbl cab 4x4 TRD OR
    Icon C/O, Bilstien 5100, All Pro Expo leafs, Total Chaos UCA's, URD CAI, Magnaflow 40, Custom Built Bed Rack, sliders and skid plate. CBI bumpers front and rear, SmittyBuilt winch. RTT
    i know this is an old thread but i didn't wanna start a new one

    gadget, you said that the TCAI comes with the blue intake?
    cuz mine came with a red one, and when it's on the intake tube it doesn't have the filter on the right side/top part. just the main filter that wraps around the center.

    i've also had problems with the CEL light
     
  16. Jan 8, 2010 at 6:35 PM
    #16
    BigJoe311

    BigJoe311 Bigjoe311

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Member:
    #28694
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    06 SR5 4 door 6 ft bed
    toneau cover,tinted window shades, 20% tint all around, performance spark plugs, altrezzi smoked tail lights. AEM cold air intake. stainless exhaust tip, 6000k HID head lights
    its brand new? and its a cai?
     
  17. Jan 11, 2010 at 3:14 PM
    #17
    SkyHighTacoma

    SkyHighTacoma Josh

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Member:
    #21054
    Messages:
    1,222
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Brazoria County Texas
    Can you give me the deminsions on the filter opening please? :eek:
     
  18. Jan 17, 2010 at 11:54 AM
    #18
    Gadget@URD

    Gadget@URD Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9183
    Messages:
    638
    Southern Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    URD Supercharged XRunner
    Sorry about getting the wrong filter shipped to you a long time ago.

    Your replacement filter is shipping tomorrow!!

    Gadget
     
  19. Jan 17, 2010 at 12:13 PM
    #19
    mreimann

    mreimann vv I think it's growing

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Member:
    #21434
    Messages:
    2,044
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    05 dbl cab 4x4 TRD OR
    Icon C/O, Bilstien 5100, All Pro Expo leafs, Total Chaos UCA's, URD CAI, Magnaflow 40, Custom Built Bed Rack, sliders and skid plate. CBI bumpers front and rear, SmittyBuilt winch. RTT
    Sweet, thanks gadget. I really appreciate you correcting the issue:thumbsup:
     
To Top