1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Venting!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by fghtngsquirrel, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. Jul 23, 2009 at 1:42 PM
    #1
    fghtngsquirrel

    fghtngsquirrel [OP] Ka-freakin'-BOOM!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10158
    Messages:
    743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x2 Rad Red *SOLD*
    Here is a letter I am writing to the Better Business Bureau, as well as the FL Department of Agriculture:

    "I went into the (name withheld) shop on 07/23/2009 to purchase 1 1/2 inch wheel spacers for my 2008 Toyota Tacoma. (Name withheld) was my salesperson, and showed me four 1 1/2 wheel spacers that he had made previously, but not specifically for me. I told him that I would like to purchase them, so he wrote up an invoice and charged my credit card $---.00. At no time during this transaction did I see a return policy, (Name withheld) did not explain any type of return policy, and there was no mention of a return policy on the receipt, invoice or his website.

    Roughly 1 1/2 hours later, I left a message on his voice mail asking if I could return them because I found some spacers that would fit my truck better. The product I purchased from (Name withheld) stayed in my vehicle the whole time of ownership, were not installed, and I told him this. He returned my phone call and said that he did not accept returns. I then drove back to his shop to try and explain why I wanted a refund. He still refused a refund, so I asked why I had not seen a no-return policy on my receipt, invoice, in his store, or verbally from him. He told me that it did not matter if his no-return policy was not posted anywhere, as the parts he sold me were non-returnable. I told him that it was not right to deny me a refund, and he said that it was not right that I was "returning my product for someone else's product." At this point I told him that I would be filing with the Better Business Bureau, and he said fine and also threatened me not to dispute the charge with my credit card company since I already signed the receipt."

    The other part of this story is that I was able to find Spidertrax wheel spacers, so I want to return these. The ones I was sold are lug centric, and I need hub centric (or that's what I have come to understand).

    I work for a police department, and we were able to look up the statute that clearly says a return policy MUST be visible at the time of sale for retail locations. I think it's really shitty when people do business like this...

    Any other stories similar to this?

    *Since the results of this are still pending, I have withheld some information. I will make it public when this issue gets resolved.
     
  2. Jul 23, 2009 at 1:55 PM
    #2
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    yeah it is a shitty situation but I would be pissed if I was him and you were trying to return them because you found another product, you should have researched into the fact that you need hub centric for tacos, I did and I would never buy lug centric. just my opinion, im sure that if he didnt state anywhere the return policy then you should be able to return them.
     
  3. Jul 23, 2009 at 1:55 PM
    #3
    ColtsTRD

    ColtsTRD .....

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17177
    Messages:
    17,826
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 TRD DCSB
    Thats a bitch man...sorry to hear about you luck! I hate D-Bags!!
     
  4. Jul 23, 2009 at 1:59 PM
    #4
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    Yeah..That sucks. Best of luck getting your money back.
     
  5. Jul 23, 2009 at 2:04 PM
    #5
    petersharp

    petersharp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Member:
    #3566
    Messages:
    925
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Do you need to ask?! It's up there ^
    Louisville, CO
    Vehicle:
    Ex DC LB Sport owner.
    Go see him with a copy of that statute and he should change his attitude.
     
  6. Jul 23, 2009 at 2:05 PM
    #6
    fghtngsquirrel

    fghtngsquirrel [OP] Ka-freakin'-BOOM!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10158
    Messages:
    743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x2 Rad Red *SOLD*
    Yeah, and I apologized. I told him that I didn't want to be an asshole about it, but he decided to douche out, so I'm having to turn up the heat. I'm not going to lose out on a big chunk of money because he's offend that I don't want his product...
     
  7. Jul 23, 2009 at 2:09 PM
    #7
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    how much did you pay for them if you dont mind me asking? cause they should be under 100 for lug centric i believe
     
  8. Jul 23, 2009 at 2:13 PM
    #8
    fghtngsquirrel

    fghtngsquirrel [OP] Ka-freakin'-BOOM!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10158
    Messages:
    743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x2 Rad Red *SOLD*
    He was pretty unclear about hub vs. lug centric when I bought them, which should have tipped my mind, but I wasn't using my brain. For all four it was $200 plus tax, the same as the Spidertrax, which is why I am fighting to get my money back.

    The reason I bought these was pretty much because of a time crunch. Next week I'm taking a 3,000 mile trip and my new tires are rubbing, so I needed a quick fix. I'll obviously take some of the blame, but refusing a return is ridiculous.
     
  9. Sep 1, 2009 at 11:53 AM
    #9
    fghtngsquirrel

    fghtngsquirrel [OP] Ka-freakin'-BOOM!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10158
    Messages:
    743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x2 Rad Red *SOLD*
    It has been awhile, as most credit card disputes take some time. I have no resolution to this matter yet, though I have received paperwork from the BBB. The first letter stated that they had not received a response from the company Lugman, and that this would be filed. Today I received this from the BBB, which is a response finally from Lugman:

    "Complaint Information- John wanted to return a set of adapters for a refund a few hours after he purchased them. He was upset that I would not give him a refund.

    Company response- John mailed the product back to the Lugman certified mail. He indicated that he reversed or disputed the charge to his credit card (company) as well.

    Lugman response- At the time of the purchase, Lugman had a No Returns, No Refunds policy.

    After careful consideration, Lugman has amended it's return policy to allow for returns and refunds with a small restocking fee to be assessed. Signs have been generated and posted to reflect this policy."

    I have printed this correspondence and it will be faxed to my credit card company. My question is, since he was in violation of Florida law by refusing me a refund, can he now charge me a restocking fee from a store policy that was established AFTER this purchase?
     
  10. Sep 1, 2009 at 11:58 AM
    #10
    derekabraham

    derekabraham Living vicariously through everybody

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7822
    Messages:
    29,052
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    TW'S Hippy Liberal
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2002 4x4 4Runner
    Stick on hood scoop from Autozone.
    At least it's slowly getting resolved...
     
  11. Oct 12, 2009 at 11:02 AM
    #11
    fghtngsquirrel

    fghtngsquirrel [OP] Ka-freakin'-BOOM!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10158
    Messages:
    743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x2 Rad Red *SOLD*
    Today marks 60 days since Mastercard received the paperwork to move forward with the dispute. I called them twice, and the first rep ended up disconnecting the call (and I was being polite...no cuss words). The second time I called I requested a manager, who told me the dispute was still "pending" and that they would have to get back in contact with me within 48 hours. Really?!

    I have been without this money since July 23, the Lugman shop has had the wheel spacers since July 25th, and I'm the one still out of my money!

    Today I wrote a letter to a local news station who investigates cases like this, so maybe Mastercard and the credit union will get negative attention. I really hate being or feeling like an ass, but I have complied and done everything I can, yet I see no positive results...
     
  12. Oct 12, 2009 at 3:01 PM
    #12
    nd

    nd Radical Town. It's a hell of a place!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1047
    Messages:
    12,651
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nate
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off-Road 4x4 debadged
    De badged, 5100's, Black Toyota Baja wheels
    i'd cancel with teh card. the return policy is suppose to be displayed somewhere. i'd cancel the card then take them back up there and leave them. tell him he can take em or leave em but he's not getting money for them.
     
  13. Oct 12, 2009 at 3:04 PM
    #13
    fghtngsquirrel

    fghtngsquirrel [OP] Ka-freakin'-BOOM!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Member:
    #10158
    Messages:
    743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x2 Rad Red *SOLD*
    The Lugman shop got paid by Mastercard on July 23rd, and Mastercard told me to ship the spacers back, so Lugman not only has my $214, he's had the wheel spacers since July 25th. I'm the one getting shafted...

    You better believe I'm cancelling this damn credit card after this situation gets resolved!
     
To Top