1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Vibration/Humming peaks @ 30MPH (front end?)

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by TacOhioTRD, Jan 8, 2012.

1. Jan 8, 2012 at 10:30 AM
    TacOhioTRD

TacOhioTRD [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Matt
    Cleveland, OH
    Vehicle:
    03 TRD SR5 V6 5-speed
    Ok, so I'm still pretty new to TW but for the past few weeks I've looked through just about all threads having to do with any vibration and am still stumped with the vibes I'm getting.

My truck is a stock 2003 TRD Xtra Cab 3.4 4WD with 89,000mi and a replaced frame. To my knowledge the truck was never lifted, however it does seem to sit an inch or so higher than other stock tacomas, which I've heard can be a result of the frame replacement ( http://www.customtacos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=143581

Anyway, the vibrations (like rumble strips, though not as bad) start around 20mph and can be felt all the way up to 45mph (significantly less distinguishable) before completely tapering off before 50. It is an intermittent vibration felt through the floorboards and the pedals, but NOT through the steering wheel. The vibration hits a sweet spot right around 30 mph where it is most pronounced, and at this peak it can be heard as a low pitch "humming" noise (still intermittent). Vibrations persist whether accelerating, decelerating, or coasting while in gear or in neutral. Turning the wheel or swerving from one side of the road to the other has no effect on the vibration.