1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

volant cold air intake, engine light on

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by k2jacob789, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. Apr 5, 2011 at 8:58 PM
    #1
    k2jacob789

    k2jacob789 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Member:
    #53056
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    hi folks i have a question, i just installed a volant cold air intake, i relplaced my k & N that i had. i noticed a little difference when i changed it over to the volant. the next day the engine light came on. i took it to the mechanic and he hooked up his computer to it, it said something like " lean air" can't remember exactly what the error said. he reset it the later in the day it come on again. any suggestions
     
  2. Apr 6, 2011 at 2:22 AM
    #2
    SkyHighTacoma

    SkyHighTacoma Josh

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Member:
    #21054
    Messages:
    1,235
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Brazoria County Texas
    Well if its because its running lean, that means your a/f ratio isnt good and your getting to much air and not enough fuel. And thats NOT good. Unless its just throwing that code and its wrong?
     
  3. Apr 6, 2011 at 2:41 AM
    #3
    SkyHighTacoma

    SkyHighTacoma Josh

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Member:
    #21054
    Messages:
    1,235
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Brazoria County Texas
    I read that same thing about the Volant.
     
  4. Apr 6, 2011 at 7:13 AM
    #4
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    4,698
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    More than likely this. Only known fixes for it are; remove it; or, URD MAF calibrator. My understanding is the the Volant intake's cross section is larger than stock. The stock MAF sensor is calibrated for a specific intake cross section. Since the Volant is larger, the MAF sensor reads less air passing by then what actually is, and adjusts the fuel to what it thinks is there as opposed to what is actually there. This makes for a lean condition.
     
  5. Apr 6, 2011 at 7:49 AM
    #5
    k2jacob789

    k2jacob789 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Member:
    #53056
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    guys what should i do about the check engine light situation. i'm i damaging my engine
     
  6. Apr 6, 2011 at 7:49 AM
    #6
    k2jacob789

    k2jacob789 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Member:
    #53056
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    guys what should i do about the check engine light situation. i'm i damaging my engine
     
  7. Apr 6, 2011 at 8:43 AM
    #7
    RecklessTaco

    RecklessTaco Ainokea

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Member:
    #22290
    Messages:
    5,185
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Wellington, NV.
    Vehicle:
    08 Dbl Cab Prerunner TRD Sport Debadged
    ENGAGE LT KIT, King 2.5x 8" coilovers w/600lb 18"coil springs, a custom built leaf pack in the rear by OMD, and a custom built prerunner bumper by SurfInferno. 33x12.50-17General Grabbers on 17x9 Black RBP 93R rims, Volant CAI w/Amsoil dry filter, Volant Ram Air, Poweraid Throttle body spacer, URD MAF Calibrator, Flowmaster40, Uniden Bearcat cb w/ 4' fire fly firestick antenna, & a Icom V80 Handheld(Modded for race channels)
    The only way to fix that problem is the URD MAF Calibrator!:D
     
  8. Apr 6, 2011 at 8:45 AM
    #8
    Joben7726

    Joben7726 wes mantooth ™

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Member:
    #45285
    Messages:
    6,380
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joben
    Western PA/Va Beach
    Vehicle:
    Trail limo
    more than list-able
    but the MAF calibrator only works in an OPEN LOOP. (above about 2000 RPM) just FYI.

    and i have the Volant intake...anyone want it??????
     
  9. Apr 6, 2011 at 9:24 AM
    #9
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    4,698
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    But in Closed loop, the AF ratio is more driven by the O2 sensors. Again, according to what I've researched and read, as I have no actual experience with the Volant.
     
  10. Apr 6, 2011 at 9:34 AM
    #10
    babbott

    babbott Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Member:
    #14246
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Tooele, Utah
    Vehicle:
    08 off road speedway blue
    make sure the MAF sensor is as vertical as possible. I had the same problem and after some adjusting to the intake tract mine seems to have gone away. The intake tract tube is a POS! The mounting for the MAF is the worst I have ever seen.
     
  11. Apr 6, 2011 at 12:21 PM
    #11
    Joben7726

    Joben7726 wes mantooth ™

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Member:
    #45285
    Messages:
    6,380
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joben
    Western PA/Va Beach
    Vehicle:
    Trail limo
    more than list-able
    That is the truth...
     
  12. Apr 6, 2011 at 12:26 PM
    #12
    K1992f

    K1992f Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Member:
    #47980
    Messages:
    871
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kanon
    Dirty Hanover pa ...
    Vehicle:
    2012 tacoma TRD sport fully loaded
    6" fabteck 20" fuel hostage 33" nitto MTs
    Ok looks like I'm not buying this S$&T .... Almost did today
     
To Top