1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Want to join the military - round 2.

Discussion in 'Military' started by TRDguyKC, Jun 8, 2010.

1. Jun 8, 2010 at 1:33 PM
    TRDguyKC

TRDguyKC [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Kris
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Ok, so this will be my second thread in this forum basically regarding the same thing.

So heres a quick background.

My name is Kris. I grew up in a military family. My father is a retired Lt. Col. from the Air Force (career flying f-16's primarily). In december of 2009 I graduated from ASU with my bachelor of science in Business Management. I am 24 years old with a wife and a 1.5 year old son. I currently work for USAA as an insurance adjuster.

I want to join the service.......

Being that i have a wife and a child, I was really contemplating the Guard or reserves. The only problem here is that from the research I have done has led me to the conclusion that i would need to join enlisted because most units commission from within. This is something i WOULD do, but only as a last resort.

That being said, I leave all the doors open. I am partial to guard/reserves, but i would also go active duty as well.

What im looking for is some input as to how i should go about joining. Id like to know what some of you would do if you were placed in my shoes at this time in this day in age.

side note: I am very interested in flying and am currently in the process of obtaining my private pilots license. I would eventually like to pursue this, but i know that joining with a pilot slot as a civilian is like 1 in a million.