1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Wanted OEM 6-disc changer for 08 taco

Discussion in 'Buy / Sell / Trade' started by tomonian77, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. Oct 10, 2009 at 9:18 AM
    #1
    tomonian77

    tomonian77 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16008
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Magnolia, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 PR DC 4.0
    Painted Rims Black, Painted Emblems Black, Aftermarket Stereo, Grillcraft, BHLM, K&N CAI
    I am wanting to replace my stock single disc stereo with a 6-disc changer. I have a 08 double cab with a standard stereo system.
     
  2. Oct 10, 2009 at 7:05 PM
    #2
    paintdiddy

    paintdiddy Machine gun shits

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Member:
    #9924
    Messages:
    10,327
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    shithead
    nj and not from "the jersey shore"
    Vehicle:
    silver bullet
    try egay???
     
  3. Oct 13, 2009 at 8:51 PM
    #3
    mthogmartin

    mthogmartin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Member:
    #20454
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma DBL Cab TRD
    Custom Seat Covers, Weathertech Floor Liners, Roll-up Tonno Cover
    Hey man, I have an 07 Double Cab Tacoma with the 6 disc jbl head unit. Im looking to upgrade to a touch screen and would like to sell the stock one. It will fit your 08 since the trucks didnt change between years. If your interested shoot me an offer.
    Thanks
     
  4. Oct 14, 2009 at 6:12 AM
    #4
    tomonian77

    tomonian77 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16008
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Magnolia, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 PR DC 4.0
    Painted Rims Black, Painted Emblems Black, Aftermarket Stereo, Grillcraft, BHLM, K&N CAI
    I would take it off your hands but my system is standard, not JBL. Unfortunately the JBL comes with different connectors because it's considered a premium system.
     
  5. Oct 14, 2009 at 6:18 AM
    #5
    Jigzor

    Jigzor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Member:
    #17413
    Messages:
    3,064
    Gender:
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    14 GMC Terrain AWD
    I have a 6 disc laying around from my 08. Silver face. Interested? PM me.
     
  6. Oct 14, 2009 at 6:22 AM
    #6
    T@co_Pr3runn3r

    T@co_Pr3runn3r XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Member:
    #12767
    Messages:
    10,423
    Gender:
    Male
    <----------------->
    Vehicle:
    08 RC Prerunner SR5
    There was a dude in the FS section selling a leather steering wheel with audio controls that also had a 6 disc oem stereo. He wanted 200.00 for the wheel & the cd player. Just need the premuim clockspring & smaller airbag to add to non audio control steering vehicle.
     
  7. Oct 14, 2009 at 7:33 AM
    #7
    hendooman

    hendooman The Stroker Ace

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14421
    Messages:
    3,023
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO 4Runner
    I have a standard non jbl 6 disc, looking for an excuse to get a new stereo, what would you be willing to offer?

    09 truck it would come out of, would not sell the wheel though
     
  8. Oct 14, 2009 at 7:36 AM
    #8
    tomonian77

    tomonian77 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16008
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Magnolia, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 PR DC 4.0
    Painted Rims Black, Painted Emblems Black, Aftermarket Stereo, Grillcraft, BHLM, K&N CAI
    My main reason for wanting one is so I can play MP3/Data discs. I am staring to think the 6-disc doesn't play them either. I may have to upgrade to an after market to get the WMA feature.
     
  9. Oct 14, 2009 at 7:38 AM
    #9
    T@co_Pr3runn3r

    T@co_Pr3runn3r XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Member:
    #12767
    Messages:
    10,423
    Gender:
    Male
    <----------------->
    Vehicle:
    08 RC Prerunner SR5
    There are several ipod/mp3 adapter options out there that plug into cd1 hole on the back of the oem single disc or 6 disc units.
     
  10. Oct 14, 2009 at 7:41 AM
    #10
    tomonian77

    tomonian77 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16008
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Magnolia, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 PR DC 4.0
    Painted Rims Black, Painted Emblems Black, Aftermarket Stereo, Grillcraft, BHLM, K&N CAI
    I am referring to the data discs you burn music onto which allows you to put 100 times more music on a cd.
     
  11. Oct 14, 2009 at 7:51 AM
    #11
    tomonian77

    tomonian77 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16008
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Magnolia, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 PR DC 4.0
    Painted Rims Black, Painted Emblems Black, Aftermarket Stereo, Grillcraft, BHLM, K&N CAI
    Does your head unit have the WMA symbol on it?
     
  12. Oct 14, 2009 at 8:55 AM
    #12
    hendooman

    hendooman The Stroker Ace

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14421
    Messages:
    3,023
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO 4Runner
    Yeah, it plays MP3's, it has the WMA symbol.
     
  13. Oct 14, 2009 at 8:58 AM
    #13
    hendooman

    hendooman The Stroker Ace

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14421
    Messages:
    3,023
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO 4Runner
  14. Oct 14, 2009 at 9:12 AM
    #14
    tomonian77

    tomonian77 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16008
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Magnolia, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 PR DC 4.0
    Painted Rims Black, Painted Emblems Black, Aftermarket Stereo, Grillcraft, BHLM, K&N CAI
    That's exactly what I am looking for. How much?
     
  15. Oct 14, 2009 at 11:22 AM
    #15
    T@co_Pr3runn3r

    T@co_Pr3runn3r XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Member:
    #12767
    Messages:
    10,423
    Gender:
    Male
    <----------------->
    Vehicle:
    08 RC Prerunner SR5
    I know that. I'm talking about puttin that same data on something that holds 10 times the mp3s that'll fit on a 700mb cd, like my phone with 8gb of music on it, plugs right into the connection to the oem stereo. And whatever ipod or mp3 device
     
  16. Oct 14, 2009 at 11:27 AM
    #16
    tomonian77

    tomonian77 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16008
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Magnolia, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 PR DC 4.0
    Painted Rims Black, Painted Emblems Black, Aftermarket Stereo, Grillcraft, BHLM, K&N CAI
    what kind of adapter would i need for that?
     
  17. Oct 14, 2009 at 12:06 PM
    #17
    tomonian77

    tomonian77 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16008
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Thomas
    Magnolia, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 PR DC 4.0
    Painted Rims Black, Painted Emblems Black, Aftermarket Stereo, Grillcraft, BHLM, K&N CAI
    After doing a bit of research I think I am going to try the adapter. Looking over some of the forum posts it appears all I have to do is plug it into the back of my current stock stereo. Hopefully this will work.
     
To Top