1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Warm A/C

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by tweeek, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. Apr 14, 2012 at 9:02 AM
    #1
    tweeek

    tweeek [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74706
    Messages:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Victoria, BC
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Access Cab TRD OR
    I bought my 06 a couple months ago and never tested the A/C. We had a couple warm days and of course I find out that the A/C is blowing warm.

    The light stays on solid, and does not blink. When I press the button, there is no change in sound or RPMs from the engine, nor any change in temperature at all. Unless the A/C compressors on these things are really quiet, I dont even think the compressor is engaging. Fuse under hood is intact.

    I have read about alot of people's compressors failing prematurely, but did this not end in strange sounds from the compressor, not none at all?

    Not sure where to start troubleshooting this first. Truck only has 60k KM (37k Miles)

    Thanks
     
  2. Apr 14, 2012 at 9:12 AM
    #2
    Stubbs95tacoma

    Stubbs95tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Member:
    #47604
    Messages:
    3,281
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Wichita
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5
    6 Inch Lift
    Hmm. Mine did that and I took it in to check the freon levels. It was empty. So had it filled. Problem solved
     
  3. Apr 14, 2012 at 9:18 AM
    #3
    BAMFTACO

    BAMFTACO Pabst Blue Ribbon on ice

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Member:
    #30639
    Messages:
    10,289
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JUAN
    Malibu, CA
    Vehicle:
    Taco
    Lift- king 2.5 with light racing uppers,tc coil bucket gusset, timbern bumps ,defined extended shackles with shackle brace. Armor- tire gate, custom tube bumper, kr fab rear bumper,trail gear wiy 78 in sliders Performance-intake manifold spacer, vibrant resonator as muffler, hps silicone hoses Random stuff- kenwood head unit,b&m t shifter, hood bug deflector, rear dust lights with custom bed bar and hi lift mount.
    Probably just needs to recharge the system
     
  4. Apr 14, 2012 at 11:29 AM
    #4
    tweeek

    tweeek [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74706
    Messages:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Victoria, BC
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Access Cab TRD OR
    I hope thats all it is, I guess I will try this week to get it in. Anybody ever used a kit and done it themself?

    I have a 1999 ZR2 Blazer that has AC that blows freezing cold and it hasn't had a recharge in over 10 years.
     
  5. Apr 14, 2012 at 11:33 AM
    #5
    tweeek

    tweeek [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74706
    Messages:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Victoria, BC
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Access Cab TRD OR
    I guess my real concern is that I cannot hear the compressor come on
     
  6. Apr 14, 2012 at 11:37 AM
    #6
    Tacomanator

    Tacomanator Boiling denim and bangin whores

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Member:
    #40746
    Messages:
    4,634
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Clam Slammer
    Southern Cali
    King 2.5" extended travel coilovers with compression adjusters, Camburg UCA's, King 2.5" rear shocks, TRD 1st gen CAI.
    check your fuse. It's located inside the cab behind the dash.
     
  7. Apr 14, 2012 at 12:01 PM
    #7
    tweeek

    tweeek [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74706
    Messages:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Victoria, BC
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Access Cab TRD OR
    I see no fuse for AC in the in cab fuseblock, only under the hood, and that 10A fuse is intact.

    UPDATE: So, I can see the compressor, belt is spinning around the pulley, but center is not spinning. If it is like my Chevy, when the clutch engages the center of the compressor pulley should be spinning as well. This does not happen either while in defrost or AC.

    If the system is void of R134, should the compressor still not engage?

    the compressor spins freely by hand when the truck is off, so it is not seized.
     
  8. Apr 14, 2012 at 7:46 PM
    #8
    khx73

    khx73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Member:
    #63950
    Messages:
    609
    Gender:
    Male
    Saint John NB, CAN
    Vehicle:
    11 MGM DCLB TRD Sport +leather
    Rear camera anytime switch, 4x4 Illuminated Switch (from rcbs204) , rear view mirror lift bracket (from ImMrYo), 75 cent tailgate anti-theft. Technically not mods but give me a break I'm trying to fill space here... OEM Leather pkg, keyless unlock & ACC chime silence, BakFlip G2, Ultra Gauge EM, WeatherTech floor mats, OEM roof rack
    The compressor will engage regardless if the system has lost its refrigerant charge or not. If it has lost its charge, obviously there is a leak somewhere..perhaps very small, but a leak nonetheless.
    You should be able to hear the compressor clutch engage when you fire up the AC or defrost... have someone help you so you can listen nearby the compressor maybe?
    Hopefully it's just a fuse problem or something similar keeping the signal from getting to the compressor...
     
  9. Apr 14, 2012 at 9:55 PM
    #9
    tweeek

    tweeek [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74706
    Messages:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Victoria, BC
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Access Cab TRD OR
    This is what I thought as well. I checked, the compressor is indeed not engaging when the switch is pushed (Or when in defrost). Fuse is intact. The compressor spins freely by hand when the truck is off, so it is not seized, but the magnetic clutch is not engaging when it should.
     
  10. Apr 14, 2012 at 10:21 PM
    #10
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,404
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    If the system is overcharged or undercharged, the compressor will not engage.
    The system contains not only refrigerant, but also lubricant, and without lubricant, the compressor won't last 10 minutes.

    Take it to a shop. Do not just try to recharge it yourself.
    If the system is discharged it is discharged for a reason and there is likely a bad seal. The shop will draw a vacuum on the system to clear out the remaining refrigerant and any air/moisture that might be in there, and they'll confirm that it holds vacuum. If not, they will be able to locate the source of the leak.

    They will also be able to recharge it properly.
    Dumping can after can of "freon" into a system is not a "proper" recharge, especially if the system is so low that the compressor is not engaging.
     
  11. Apr 14, 2012 at 11:51 PM
    #11
    khx73

    khx73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Member:
    #63950
    Messages:
    609
    Gender:
    Male
    Saint John NB, CAN
    Vehicle:
    11 MGM DCLB TRD Sport +leather
    Rear camera anytime switch, 4x4 Illuminated Switch (from rcbs204) , rear view mirror lift bracket (from ImMrYo), 75 cent tailgate anti-theft. Technically not mods but give me a break I'm trying to fill space here... OEM Leather pkg, keyless unlock & ACC chime silence, BakFlip G2, Ultra Gauge EM, WeatherTech floor mats, OEM roof rack
    Oh really... oops. Makes sense given the lubricant part... I assumed the compressor would work either way. I had a '03 Honda that had lost its charge, and I'm pretty sure the compressor still kicked in/out.. but maybe not. :notsure:
     
  12. Apr 15, 2012 at 12:02 AM
    #12
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,404
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    It depends on the level.

    The charge can get pretty low before it kicks off.
    The sensor is on the low pressure side. When in the "off" state, the two sides equalize, when on, the pressure on the low side drops to less than half the "static" pressure, and the compressor needs to run at this pressure.

    If the charge is low, what will happen is the compressor will cycle off and on. This is also normal operation, so you have to pay attention to what's happening at the vents. When the evaporator gets too cold, pressure drops, and that causes the compressor to cycle off... kinda self-regulating to keep the system from getting too cold and icing over.

    So when the charge is "only a little low" it'll cycle, just more frequently than normal.
    Compounding this will be that a low charge level will often result in cooler evaporator temperatures, which again, increases cycling.

    But when the system is so drained that the compressor won't even kick on, it's pretty close to done.
    Definitely time for a pro at that point because it's lost too much refrigerant and lubricant to be safely replaced by a DIY kit.
     
To Top