1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Watch Dog or ScanGauge II questions?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by KodiakVA, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. Aug 13, 2009 at 6:00 AM
    #1
    KodiakVA

    KodiakVA [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Member:
    #20273
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Richmond Virginia
    Vehicle:
    09 4x4 XCab Sport BarcelRed
    I like the look of the Bully Dog Watch Dog better than the Scan Gauge II. SG does get the nod for its size and $ though. If I get one of these I would like to monitor these items:

    Coolant Temp
    Transmission Temp
    Battery Voltge
    Real Time Fuel Economy

    Does anyone with one of these gauges know if the 09 Tacoma can have these items read? I did see that not all items can be read from all vehicles so I thought I would ask before I lay out any $. As always thanks for any reply.
     
  2. Aug 13, 2009 at 6:35 AM
    #2
    Ridingontrd

    Ridingontrd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Member:
    #6459
    Messages:
    7,955
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Laughlin,N.V
    Vehicle:
    trd sport 4x4 w/towpkg
    aFe prodry,Dynomax ultra flo ss,Scangauge2,Demello front bumper,BudBuilt skids,sliders(local)AllPro rear bumper,Wet O's cobalt blu,w/halfpiping,TRD logo in gold,R/L hood struts,5150's@10"aal 3 pack,T/C uca,Light racing c/o,1"diff.drop,de-badged,
    No tran temps w/the S/G.:(
     
  3. Aug 13, 2009 at 1:40 PM
    #3
    usaf167aw

    usaf167aw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10880
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 SR5 Access Cab
    None
    Watchdog Does All Those EXCEPT The Trans Temp :( Iv Had Mine For Couple Months Now And I Like It.
     
  4. Aug 13, 2009 at 4:15 PM
    #4
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,016
    Gender:
    Male
    Does the Tacoma even have a trans temp sensor?
     
  5. Aug 13, 2009 at 5:07 PM
    #5
    KodiakVA

    KodiakVA [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Member:
    #20273
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Richmond Virginia
    Vehicle:
    09 4x4 XCab Sport BarcelRed
    Thanks for the replies guys. Pity about the Trans Temp. That would be a major + if it would give you that readout.

    usaf167aw, with the Watchdog can you pick the 4 items to display (on left) and then pick some different item for the large center display? The one I have seen only shows the RPM's but since I already have a tach I would like to show something else there. Also what would you have to do to clear codes, like the engine maint oil change light. Thanks again for the reply.
     
  6. Aug 13, 2009 at 5:16 PM
    #6
    DDD

    DDD Shine bright like a hymen

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14416
    Messages:
    2,254
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
  7. Aug 13, 2009 at 5:33 PM
    #7
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    IIRC the reason why SG is having problems is that Toyota uses 2 sensors for the tranny and the SG can only read one sensor at a time. SG hasn't figured out a way to read 2 sensors at the same time.
     
  8. Aug 14, 2009 at 4:32 AM
    #8
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,254
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    That's their excuse?

    Why would they need to read both? They gotta find out WHERE the sensors are and which one is best to take temps from.

    That's probably part of the problem.

    Scangauge probably can't identifiy HOW to get the data from one sensor or the other and Toyota probably takes both data and manipulates it into something else (which Scangauge can't access).
     
  9. Aug 14, 2009 at 5:45 AM
    #9
    KodiakVA

    KodiakVA [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Member:
    #20273
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Richmond Virginia
    Vehicle:
    09 4x4 XCab Sport BarcelRed
    Why would they need to read both? They gotta find out WHERE the sensors are and which one is best to take temps from.

    Thats exactly what I was thinking. If the truck has two sensors, maybe before and after a cooler, or wherever, just pick one. It will serve the same purpose. The actual temp is not really the main thing it is seeing if changes are happening. I know if my trucks trans runs at 200 degrees unloaded and now it at 300 I have some issue to check out. If there is a sensor tape into it and use it.

     
  10. Aug 14, 2009 at 7:40 AM
    #10
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,254
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    The tranny temp thing (with Scangauge) has been around for years. I was communicating with them about all that before I bought my Scangauge (2 years ago). They kept leading me to believe "We're working on it".
    It's been 2 years and I highly doubt they'll have tranny temps or oil pressure anytime soon.

    But then again, they're probably working on a new unit (like Scangauge III). It'll probably have all that stuff that we want ....but it'll require us to send them our hard earned money to upgrade or buy new units. I'm just guessing.... From a business standpoint, why would they bother with new features when they could encorporate it into a new product & a money making efforts in the long run?
     
  11. Aug 14, 2009 at 8:00 AM
    #11
    wiscdave

    wiscdave Lets Do It!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Member:
    #5392
    Messages:
    2,543
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Rock Warrior
    Past ride - 3" OME 885s&Shocks/ TSB 1.5AAL/ AX184 Rims 285 Firestone destination ATs/ 2 Shallow mount P310s in Supercrew Box - Punch 601s, Beefed up Hunter Brush guard, Tint, Fog light mod, AFE Drop in, AC and Fog light mods, scangauge
    Well if makes you fell any better (and if Scanguage is reading our posts), I have not bought a Scangauge because they can't tell me my Tranny temp or oil pressure. ;) Just having the mpg is all they think people want.
     
  12. Aug 14, 2009 at 11:13 AM
    #12
    KodiakVA

    KodiakVA [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Member:
    #20273
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Richmond Virginia
    Vehicle:
    09 4x4 XCab Sport BarcelRed
    But then again, they're probably working on a new unit (like Scangauge III). It'll probably have all that stuff that we want ....but it'll require us to send them our hard earned money to upgrade or buy new units. I'm just guessing.... From a business standpoint, why would they bother with new features when they could incorporate it into a new product & a money making efforts in the long run?

    Isn't that always the case. Throw you a crumb here and there, but sock you with the new model later. It has all the features the "beta testers" who laid out there money want. :(

    Just having the mpg is all they think people want.

    LOL, now real time MPG is very nice but I have been figuring out MPG with a calculator since my first car, a 63 Chevy II (no laughing please).


     
  13. Aug 14, 2009 at 1:01 PM
    #13
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,254
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....


    Exactly....

    Don't get me wrong, I love having my Scangauge. But the way they handled that whole situation is disappointing. A 'ding' in their reputation (in my mind).
     
  14. Aug 15, 2009 at 6:55 AM
    #14
    usaf167aw

    usaf167aw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10880
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 SR5 Access Cab
    None
    yes 4things real time and you push button and it will give you a details about each read out. the one i like the most is that watchdog shows exhaust gas temp (egt) thats really nice when towing IMO
     
  15. Aug 15, 2009 at 11:07 AM
    #15
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,016
    Gender:
    Male
    Haven't they already done exactly that--adding the X-gauge features to the existing product, and upgrading older ones for a pretty low fee?

    I think you are not considering the value of loyal customers, and the likelihood that good customer service will result in loyal customers who bring in new customers.

    It works for Valentine One.
     
To Top