1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

What length Yakima Rack Tracks on DC?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Drainbung, Apr 19, 2012.

  1. Apr 19, 2012 at 6:21 AM
    #1
    Drainbung

    Drainbung [OP] Some days you watch the show, and some days...

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42629
    Messages:
    1,928
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob but I was Chad 616 for a moment
    Oceanside, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 DCLB
    I'd have more money as a Crackhead...
    Did a search and found some info but nothing about what length tracks to install on a DC roof. They're available in 42" and 54" and I'd really rather avoid having to cut them.
     
  2. Apr 19, 2012 at 12:35 PM
    #2
    yoda-master

    yoda-master Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Member:
    #19788
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    06 Taco TRD OR
    Any reason you want to drill into the roof for tracks and not do a Q tower or whispbar system? If you want to install tracks on the roof, I would go with the 54" tracks and trim them as needed. The longer the spacing, the more stable the platform is to carry your stuff.
     
  3. Apr 20, 2012 at 6:25 AM
    #3
    Drainbung

    Drainbung [OP] Some days you watch the show, and some days...

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42629
    Messages:
    1,928
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob but I was Chad 616 for a moment
    Oceanside, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 DCLB
    I'd have more money as a Crackhead...
    I already have rack tracks on my camper and another truck "cap/topper/thing that covers the bed with a lot of names" so all I'd have to do is swap the racks between units rather than buying a complete new system. Agreed, the longer platform equals more stability. Thanks for the input.
     
To Top