1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

what Mbps you got and suggest?

Discussion in 'Technology' started by DBTaco, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. Mar 21, 2013 at 12:43 PM
    #1
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    874
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    Wondering what Mbps you have on your cable internet connection. Through our cable we have 15mbps, 30mbps, or 50mbps. Right now I have the 15mbps but didn't know if I should get more if I have a laptop, tablet, 2 smartphones, wireless printer, play Xbox live regularly.
     
  2. Mar 21, 2013 at 1:00 PM
    #2
    127.0.0.1

    127.0.0.1 AKA ::1

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Member:
    #93641
    Messages:
    1,608
    Gender:
    Male
    /etc/hosts
    Vehicle:
    2013 NBM AC 4.0 4x4 Auto OR
    You probably don't need more bandwidth, you can have 100 computers using the same connection...

    it is about latency and delay for any tasks you want to accomplish...at the same time

    a) is your xbox latency OK to deal with ?

    b) do you watch movies online without issue ?

    if a and b are true, then you don't need more bandwidth
    for more devices, unless each new device will also be streaming
    video at the same time as the other devices, and it causes
    increased latency or jerky movies...

    give the US cable providers the LEAST money you can deal with...because in the USA
    all of us are getting totally robbed blind by the cable and phone providers. Too much
    money for small pipes. In EU and Asia, you get huge bandwidth for ultra cheap. US is
    filled with robber-barons running the show....
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  3. Mar 21, 2013 at 3:49 PM
    #3
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    874
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    So do I need just a better wireless router?
     
  4. Mar 21, 2013 at 3:52 PM
    #4
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    12,326
    Gender:
    Male
    I have 60down 40up on Cox communications. I use ALOT of up bandwidth. 60$ a month.

    Are you having issues? What wireless router do you currently use?
     
  5. Mar 21, 2013 at 3:53 PM
    #5
    rickmeseke

    rickmeseke subaru of america

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Member:
    #90811
    Messages:
    966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ricky
    Brunswick, GA
    Vehicle:
    a white truck
    i have 15dl/2up and two laptops, an ipad, two phones, and a ps3 i play everyday and never have an issue, but i also have 15mbps

    when i had 1mbps it was still good enough for what i did, except for netflix lol
     
  6. Mar 21, 2013 at 4:17 PM
    #6
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    874
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    I have 15mbps right now through the cable company and I currently have the Cisco Linksys E1550. The internet connection will drop a lot right here lately and I did a speed test on it last night and download speed was 5.31 I thnk and upload was 1.51. So I put my laptop connected directly to modem and speed test was dowload 17 or 19mbps. So I think the router has crapped out
     
  7. Mar 21, 2013 at 4:21 PM
    #7
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    874
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    I iwas thinking linksys ea3500 or ea4500 but lady at office depot said the Ea2500 would be enough. But with gaming I didn't know or doubted it.
     
  8. Mar 21, 2013 at 4:33 PM
    #8
    2ski4life7

    2ski4life7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Member:
    #77911
    Messages:
    620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Diego ca
    Vehicle:
    '12 DCLB 4x4 FTMFW
    Is there a reason you are using cisco routers? Is it because they lay flat?

    Depending on how much you want to invest, Asus and netgear routers are a lot better than cisco in my opinion. The Asus RTN-56u is one of the best. It is 11n. If you are looking for something with 11AC, Asus is coming out in the next month or so with a model RTAC-56u or something similar.

    A good website for reviews is the following

    http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-reviews

    Also if you live in a apt complex, I would download innsider 2.0 and check what channels everyone elses routers are on and then set your router on a different channel.
     
  9. Mar 21, 2013 at 5:22 PM
    #9
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    874
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    Just I've had two cisco routers and the first one lasted about 5 years and this one but only has lasted about 2 years at the most. Just started playing xbox live, this is my 2nd year so I don't know if I have punished it wore out the low grade router. So if I have the 15mbps plan through cable company with a new router what is the most mbps I could see? Wired speed test was about 17-19mbps. My brother did a speed test on his wireless and he has the e4200 i think he said, and his speed was 30 something mbps. I asked him today what mbps plan they have and he said he had no idea. I was trying to compare.
     
  10. Mar 21, 2013 at 6:03 PM
    #10
    2ski4life7

    2ski4life7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Member:
    #77911
    Messages:
    620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Diego ca
    Vehicle:
    '12 DCLB 4x4 FTMFW
    I think it depends more on the traffic/latency. Its not like the company streams a 15MBps connection the whole time, it will fluctuate. Most of the higher end devices are meant to allow a high amount of throughput but the router isn't always configured out of the box to be the best in each scenario.

    Just taking a quick look at the e2500 and e4200 a big difference is the e2500 has no PA's, Besides divulging into the radio. A decision also is if you have any devices that can use 5GHz spectrum. It is fairly new so if you have any devices that can use the 5GHz radio then you might see better performance becuase there will be less over the air traffic although the e4200 seemed to not perform too well in that regards.
     
  11. Mar 21, 2013 at 6:10 PM
    #11
    TuFerLife

    TuFerLife 2 4 LIFE!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Member:
    #77564
    Messages:
    2,602
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Taylor
    Chattanooga, TN
    Vehicle:
    2011 Ford Raptor (I'm a traitor)
    I have 50 up and down... And I'm about to get bumped to 100 up and down. Perks of living in a city of a company trying to compete for the fastest Internet in the country!! Winning!!!
     
  12. Mar 21, 2013 at 6:14 PM
    #12
    DBTaco

    DBTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Member:
    #89420
    Messages:
    874
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '08 4x4 TRD off road
    Before I went to Office Depot I was debating between the EA3500 and EA4500. I just couldn't decide and if I would need either one since I only had 15MBps coming in
     
  13. Mar 28, 2013 at 10:40 AM
    #13
    Evil Monkey

    Evil Monkey There's an evil monkey in my truck

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Member:
    #2352
    Messages:
    8,376
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Escondido, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 DC SR5 TRD Off-road
    Weathertech front & rear mats, rear suspension TSB, Toytec AAL for TSB, Hi-Lift Jack, Bilstein 5100 & Toytec Adjustable coilovers, Built Right UCAs, KMC XD 795 Hoss Wheels, Definity Dakota MTs 285/75R16, Leer XR, Thule Tracker II & Thule MOAB basket
  14. Mar 28, 2013 at 10:44 AM
    #14
    Monster Coma

    Monster Coma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Member:
    #80740
    Messages:
    23,807
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Pittsburgh, PA/Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 WRB WRX
    It's a wagon
    gotta love school internet...

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Mar 28, 2013 at 1:48 PM
    #15
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,433
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Olympia, WA
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    I went ahead and read your other thread, and you aren't looking at all the details at once. Your variables are:

    internet speed down
    internet speed up
    router speed
    network card in the device you are using
    modem

    From the sounds of it, you are/were using a wireless G on a single band wireless N, hooked to a a possible non-DOCSIS 3 modem, over a 15mbps cable line.

    Your two restrictions would be the modem and the wireless card.

    My advice:
    -upgrade to DOCSIS 3.0 modem. You need this no matter what
    -upgrade network cards to wireless N. If possible, reduce wireless usage.


    15mbps is typically OK unless you live in a high-population area with everyone smashing on the connection.


    I'm lucky enough that I used to be on Verizon FiOS, and their routers were rent-to-own after a 1 year term. I've moved a lot, and I now own two such routers. They are really powerful, and I've been able to convert them to MOCA bridges - in other words, my Xbox in my living room connects to my router in my office via cable lines, which gives me a better, more reliable connection than wireless can provide. :D

    All depends on their QoS settings. Many colleges crush anything that isn't email or basic web browsing.
     
  16. Mar 28, 2013 at 5:12 PM
    #16
    khx73

    khx73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Member:
    #63950
    Messages:
    611
    Gender:
    Male
    Saint John NB, CAN
    Vehicle:
    11 MGM DCLB TRD Sport +leather
    Rear camera anytime switch, 4x4 Illuminated Switch (from rcbs204) , rear view mirror lift bracket (from ImMrYo), 75 cent tailgate anti-theft. Technically not mods but give me a break I'm trying to fill space here... OEM Leather pkg, keyless unlock & ACC chime silence, BakFlip G2, Ultra Gauge EM, WeatherTech floor mats, OEM roof rack
    80 down 30 up. Fiber FTW! :D
     
  17. Mar 28, 2013 at 5:23 PM
    #17
    tostidos

    tostidos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Member:
    #48149
    Messages:
    4,742
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Apple Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 LT 6spd
    100 down 50 up from verizon, They also offer 1 200 or 250 down (cant remember which one) But you need a gigabit network adapter and they run fiber straight to a special modem if you get anything above 100.
     
  18. Mar 28, 2013 at 5:38 PM
    #18
    joneill03

    joneill03 Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,349
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    The fios quantum is available where i live now. 300mb speeds :eek:
    Love my fiber:)
     
  19. Mar 28, 2013 at 5:39 PM
    #19
    EricTheRed

    EricTheRed Damn dirty Swede

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Member:
    #95566
    Messages:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric Sven
    Kelowna, BC
    Vehicle:
    Five lugs of might and fury
    BHLM, General Grabber A/T2 235/75R15 on stockers, Magnaflow 11225, Tonneau cover, Pop 'n Lock, Lots of dog hair...
    Hey...at least you're still doing better than Canada. Also, you have more than two options for service. In Canada, it's a friggin monopoly.

    I'm currently with Telus, getting 25 down, 2.5 up. It's their top-tier package. *sigh*
    Most "basic" interweb packages here still have 512k up speed :eek:

    I used to torrent a lot while simultaneously play WoW on a 15 down/512k up connection and didn't have any issue with that...
     
  20. Mar 28, 2013 at 5:39 PM
    #20
    tostidos

    tostidos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Member:
    #48149
    Messages:
    4,742
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Apple Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 LT 6spd
    Yeah its fairly new here too. It actually didnt cost me anything to upgrade from 30 down to 100 down because I was doing a one bill and re-upping my contract. So im paying the same monthly :cool:
     
To Top