1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

what size circuit breaker and wire

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by austinstaco, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. Dec 21, 2010 at 3:51 PM
    #1
    austinstaco

    austinstaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Member:
    #41040
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austin
    Dallas TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    to many
    I wanting to instal a blue sea systems 12 circuit fuse block for all my accessories. I need to know what size wire to run to the fuse block and what size circuit breaker to use.
     
  2. Dec 21, 2010 at 3:53 PM
    #2
    brutalguyracing

    brutalguyracing BIG DADDY

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19000
    Messages:
    24,005
    Gender:
    Male
    F.U> GUYZ
    broken mods
    i would say at least 0 gauge if not 1/0
    100 amp

    depending on what exact;y your using/ installing
     
  3. Dec 21, 2010 at 3:54 PM
    #3
    austinstaco

    austinstaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Member:
    #41040
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austin
    Dallas TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    to many
    Does anyone have a set up like this? pics please
     
  4. Dec 21, 2010 at 5:04 PM
    #4
    bigmooze

    bigmooze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Member:
    #12437
    Messages:
    797
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Belle River, ON
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 access cab SR5
    Bilstein 5100's all round (0" up front with stock springs), 265/75/16 Goodyear Wrangler Duratracs, K&N 63 Series Aircharger Kit, Flowmaster Super 44 Muffler, Delta Champion Toolbox, fog lights, back-up lights, Sirius satellite radio with PA15-TOY, Midland 1001z CB radio with 2' Firestik II antenna, Weathertech floor mats, AVS sill protectors, Marathon SuperHides Seatcovers (Universal Digital Camo), trimmed front mud flaps, Viair 20005 OBA, Warn W650D driving lights and W650F fog lights on N-Fab light bar, Hi-Lift X-treme jack with off road accessories, TracRac "TracONE" system
    Not to direct traffic away from TW, but I started here back when I did my install: http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/showthread.php?t=287644

    I believe I used #10 conductor for the battery supply to my Blue Sea panel. I fused the positive at 50 A. I run a 12 circuit panel for back-up lights, fog lights, CB radio, and have plans for a couple of extra sets of lights and a 12 V fridge hookup and on board air. I will increase the supply conductors and main fuse size as my load increases.
     
  5. Dec 21, 2010 at 5:17 PM
    #5
    rhodehard09

    rhodehard09 sometimes nonsense is the only sense someone has

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Member:
    #22964
    Messages:
    3,488
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    tampa, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road 4x4 doublecab
    3" lift, allpro u-bolt flip kit,285/75/16 km2s, hella hid lights, hid conversions for headlights and foglights, led everything, debadged, 9145 reverse light bulbs, black tail lights, black headlight mod,trail-gear rock sliders, dynomax ultra flo muffler,satoshi with custom woven stainless grill,hella 100watt floods in grill, pioneer 4100 in dash dvd player, pioneer 800watt 4 channel amp, pioneer 4way 6x9s, pioneer 4 way 6.5s, 2 rockford p3 10's,rockford power 500.1 mono amp w/bass knob, 7 pin relocated, highlift and mount in bed, diff breather mod, led bed lights, secondary air filter removed,t-rex eyelids, mefab bumper bar, muddy under carriage
    if i were to run a new fuse block i would feed it with at least a #8 wire. at 25' distance from the source this will give you around 50a safely.
     
  6. Dec 21, 2010 at 5:23 PM
    #6
    bigmooze

    bigmooze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Member:
    #12437
    Messages:
    797
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    Belle River, ON
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 access cab SR5
    Bilstein 5100's all round (0" up front with stock springs), 265/75/16 Goodyear Wrangler Duratracs, K&N 63 Series Aircharger Kit, Flowmaster Super 44 Muffler, Delta Champion Toolbox, fog lights, back-up lights, Sirius satellite radio with PA15-TOY, Midland 1001z CB radio with 2' Firestik II antenna, Weathertech floor mats, AVS sill protectors, Marathon SuperHides Seatcovers (Universal Digital Camo), trimmed front mud flaps, Viair 20005 OBA, Warn W650D driving lights and W650F fog lights on N-Fab light bar, Hi-Lift X-treme jack with off road accessories, TracRac "TracONE" system
    The distance between the battery and fuse block (assuming the fuse block is under the hood) is pretty small.

    The summation of load supplied by the fuse block should NOT exceed the ampacity of the fuse block supply conductor.

    The fuse connected between the battery and the fuse block should be sized to 1. protect that short length of supply conductor and 2. supply the total fuse panel load without blowing.

    Remember also to consider the maximum current that the blue sea panel can supply (probably fairly high).
     
  7. Dec 21, 2010 at 6:10 PM
    #7
    austinstaco

    austinstaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Member:
    #41040
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austin
    Dallas TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    to many
    only planing on : 4 hella 500ff, 2 hella matador, maglite rechargable, cb radio, ham radio , inverter and air compressor
     
  8. Dec 21, 2010 at 6:12 PM
    #8
    rhodehard09

    rhodehard09 sometimes nonsense is the only sense someone has

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Member:
    #22964
    Messages:
    3,488
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    tampa, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road 4x4 doublecab
    3" lift, allpro u-bolt flip kit,285/75/16 km2s, hella hid lights, hid conversions for headlights and foglights, led everything, debadged, 9145 reverse light bulbs, black tail lights, black headlight mod,trail-gear rock sliders, dynomax ultra flo muffler,satoshi with custom woven stainless grill,hella 100watt floods in grill, pioneer 4100 in dash dvd player, pioneer 800watt 4 channel amp, pioneer 4way 6x9s, pioneer 4 way 6.5s, 2 rockford p3 10's,rockford power 500.1 mono amp w/bass knob, 7 pin relocated, highlift and mount in bed, diff breather mod, led bed lights, secondary air filter removed,t-rex eyelids, mefab bumper bar, muddy under carriage
    not to change the subject, are you a registered ham radio operator?
    i didn't think anyone did that anymore
     
  9. Dec 21, 2010 at 6:26 PM
    #9
    austinstaco

    austinstaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Member:
    #41040
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austin
    Dallas TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    to many
    gona take the test next month my gpaw got me in to it
     
  10. Dec 21, 2010 at 6:34 PM
    #10
    austinstaco

    austinstaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Member:
    #41040
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austin
    Dallas TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    to many
  11. Dec 21, 2010 at 7:48 PM
    #11
    austinstaco

    austinstaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Member:
    #41040
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austin
    Dallas TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    to many
    can i use a battery isolator down stream of the circuit breaker, so that everything on the fuse panel is killed with the ignition so i do not have to worry about draning my battery
     
  12. Jan 26, 2011 at 2:33 AM
    #12
    MadeInMaine

    MadeInMaine MadeInMaine

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Member:
    #26678
    Messages:
    1,163
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Owen
    Boston, MA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tundra Crew Max Limited
    Hey boss,

    in your setup... you have a circuit breaker... what is your amps?
    Some guys do a 30A, typical of fuse
    Some guys do a 100A, covering the whole setup.

    if you have a bunch of fuses for each compenent, do you need a 30A or 100A circuit breaker...

    thanks boss....

    Owen
     
  13. Feb 15, 2011 at 2:23 PM
    #13
    Average JOE

    Average JOE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Member:
    #46747
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner
    3'lift,Upgraded sound system,Dyanamat interior flowmaster,K&N,
  14. Feb 15, 2011 at 2:26 PM
    #14
    Average JOE

    Average JOE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Member:
    #46747
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner
    3'lift,Upgraded sound system,Dyanamat interior flowmaster,K&N,
    [​IMG]


    The wire on the right is from the AMP for my subs. It has a 100 AMP fuse. I used a 150 AMP breaker. The package from Blue Sea recomends a 125 AMP Breaker. I couldn't find one any where so I got the 150 AMP. I used 4 gage wire.
     
  15. Apr 29, 2011 at 12:48 AM
    #15
    MY50cal

    MY50cal I think I'm getting the Fear.

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Member:
    #15613
    Messages:
    2,743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mojo
    Parkesburg, PA
    Vehicle:
    05 SWB TRD 4x4
    Yes.
    Will be wiring up all my stuff this weekend;

    Blue sea (5026) 12 circuit with negative bus w/ cover
    100 amp circuit breaker
    4 gauge wire
     
  16. Apr 29, 2011 at 1:30 AM
    #16
    woody6047

    woody6047 McGrubber

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Member:
    #26254
    Messages:
    4,702
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Beau
    Austin/ Waco Texas
    Vehicle:
    05 tacoma 4x4 dc
    100%stock, except for the exhaust leak and custom windshield crack mod
    im so screwed when i try this, i just bought all the shit last night haha
     
  17. Apr 29, 2011 at 2:53 AM
    #17
    MY50cal

    MY50cal I think I'm getting the Fear.

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Member:
    #15613
    Messages:
    2,743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mojo
    Parkesburg, PA
    Vehicle:
    05 SWB TRD 4x4
    Yes.
    :laughing:

    trust me this is going to be very interesting for me as well... I am about as far from an electrition as possible. I just hope I dont get juiced, fry anything or make a bunch of hideous wire nests everywhere.
     
  18. Apr 29, 2011 at 4:48 AM
    #18
    larryde09

    larryde09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Member:
    #39759
    Messages:
    560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Larry
    Rochester, NY
    Vehicle:
    (Traded-in) 06 2.7L 5-spd SR5 4x4
    K&N Intake, Magnaflow Cat-back Exhaust, Altezza Tail Lights, Pop&Lock Tailgate Lock, Extang Trifecta Tonneau Cover, PIAA foglights with stock switch, DrawTite Hitch, OBX Shift Knob, Hood Protector, Vent Visors, DIY step bars/sliders/running boards, DIY Bed Lights, DIY Running Board/Ground Lights, DIY Tailgate Electrical Box (12V socket, voltage and current gauges), DIY Internal Lighting (coming soon), Aftermarket switches in stock dash blanks, Sony Head Unit, Illuminated 4x4 switch mod
    agreed...you should be ok with a 4G wire using ~100-125A breaker or fuse. Eventhough you don't plan to use the full 100A, I recommend wiring it up as such because you don't want to have to rewire it in the future if you decide to add more accessories. It's also safer if you sell your truck as-is, loan it, or let someone work on it....you don't want anyone else assuming it's wired for capacity when it actually isn't.
     
To Top