1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

What to do about tpms?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by thewhiteknight, May 17, 2012.

  1. May 17, 2012 at 10:28 AM
    #1
    thewhiteknight

    thewhiteknight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Member:
    #57803
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colby
    SW Alabama
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD SR5 Dbl Cab
    foglight anytime, HIDs, lift, bilstein 5100s, AAL, LED interior, LEDs, BHLM, extended rear diff vent mod, upgraded audio system,
    I'm selling my stock TRD sport rims and tires tomorrow and I was wondering do I need to break them down and get the tpms out or just let it go with it? I'm getting aftermarket rims so I don't know if it's compatible. I would like to keep it but if it's more trouble than it's worth I'll let it go
     
  2. May 17, 2012 at 10:31 AM
    #2
    iRepLONGBEACH

    iRepLONGBEACH SoCal Reppin

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Member:
    #52506
    Messages:
    532
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    10 MgM dcsb TRD Sport
    Keep em just in case. Mine were able to fit my aftermarket rims.
     
  3. May 17, 2012 at 3:38 PM
    #3
    Discount Tire Direct

    Discount Tire Direct Wheel and Tire Guys

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Member:
    #9321
    Messages:
    703
    They should fit your aftermarket wheels. TPMS sensors aren't cheap.
     
  4. May 17, 2012 at 3:48 PM
    #4
    DeeKay21

    DeeKay21 Lieutenant Dan.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10651
    Messages:
    14,197
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada/Utah
    Vehicle:
    06' TRD Sport 4x4
    Discount Tire Direct">
    X2.
     
  5. May 17, 2012 at 3:50 PM
    #5
    korslite

    korslite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Member:
    #39084
    Messages:
    621
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Ferndale, WA
    Vehicle:
    DCLB Sport
    FOX 2.5 RR's, TC UCAs, TC Spindle Gussets, Allpro Expedition leaf pack, Fox 2.O RR w/ Comp adjusters, 17" ATX Artillery, BFG AT 285's, de-scooped, custom sliders, custom bedrack, Brute Force Fab bumpers, Smittybilt XRC8 winch
    Sell them separate from the wheels and tires, then ignore the light on the dash. You will probably get more money splitting them. Who needs their vehicle to tell them they have a low tire anyway?... :) just my $.02
     
  6. May 18, 2012 at 6:49 AM
    #6
    Bama_TACO

    Bama_TACO ROLL TIDE!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Member:
    #41157
    Messages:
    1,020
    Gender:
    Male
    Winfield, AL
    Vehicle:
    2006 PreRunner Double Cab TRD SPORT
    Let them go and disable the TPMS. When I got my Tacoma it had aftermarket wheels without TPMS sensors. There is a thread on here about how to disable the TPMS. It involved cutting one wire and grounding it. Took me less than 5 minutes to do.
     
  7. May 19, 2012 at 9:58 AM
    #7
    thewhiteknight

    thewhiteknight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Member:
    #57803
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colby
    SW Alabama
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD SR5 Dbl Cab
    foglight anytime, HIDs, lift, bilstein 5100s, AAL, LED interior, LEDs, BHLM, extended rear diff vent mod, upgraded audio system,
    If I decide to keep the tpms how do I take it out. Will I have to break it down and go from the inside or does it unscrew like the inside of the valve stem?
     
  8. May 19, 2012 at 10:28 AM
    #8
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Later models ('08+) grounding doesn't work, you need to apply a voltage to it. The actual logic level is 5v, but people have used 12 without a problem.
    Personally, I'd use 12v but run it through a 2k resistor.
    Have to break the bead. The stem sticks through the rim but the sensor is a couple of inches long and inside the tire.
     
  9. May 26, 2012 at 9:42 AM
    #9
    thewhiteknight

    thewhiteknight [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Member:
    #57803
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colby
    SW Alabama
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD SR5 Dbl Cab
    foglight anytime, HIDs, lift, bilstein 5100s, AAL, LED interior, LEDs, BHLM, extended rear diff vent mod, upgraded audio system,
    Well I took the tires to a shop to get the tpms out the other day.. They only charged 20 bucks to do it so not to bad..
     
To Top