1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Whats going on with my factory radio?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by PaulVthe3, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. Mar 1, 2009 at 3:40 PM
    #1
    PaulVthe3

    PaulVthe3 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Member:
    #11097
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    I was listening to my factory radio (am fm cd) when I went to turn the volume up or down it would not do anything! Then I tried to shut it off and it wouldnt! After about 5 times of bitch slapping the knob it turned on and I was able to adjust the volume. I though it was just a small glitch, and now its really getting annoying. Are you guys having this issue? Its an 09 4wd DC V6.Non TRD.
     
  2. Mar 1, 2009 at 3:45 PM
    #2
    nvdeserted

    nvdeserted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Member:
    #11062
    Messages:
    1,305
    Gender:
    Male
    Reno, NV
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma TRD OR Access Cab
    Electric Dynolock tailgate, TrailGear Slides, , 285/75-16 Yoko Geolanders on Wheelers Type B, SAW 2.0 front and back, Camburg b/j UCA, 1.5" AAL, Ubolt flip, ARB bump.
    Yup. My '09 has the same problem. It changes the radio station at random too. My dealer is on it. 6 week wait for the warranty replacemnt stereo. 3weeks left to wait. So far you're the only other that I've heard has this problem, welcome.

    Just a side note: you will never be able to replicate the problem at the dealer for some reason.....

    In the mean time, I've found that a 2 finger tap right above the CD entrance seems to temporarily cure it.
     
  3. Mar 1, 2009 at 4:25 PM
    #3
    BUK 0H5

    BUK 0H5 Still For Sale

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Member:
    #13391
    Messages:
    282
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Silver 09 2.7L Manual AccessCab SR5 PreRunner
    Removed Mud Flaps, Suspension TSB, 5100's all around, JVC KW-AVX710 Head Unit with Metra surround.
    Ditto, I knew I couldn't be the only one. My volume knob fails at random, but I can usually use the steering wheel controls. Havn't had any random channel changes though. Wonder if there will be a TSB for this. I should be getting the install kit for my aftermarket head unit next week so in the mean time I am just dealing with it, but it sux and seems to be getting worse.
     
  4. Mar 1, 2009 at 4:27 PM
    #4
    BuffaloTaco

    BuffaloTaco Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Member:
    #12962
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Buffalo
    Vehicle:
    09 DoubleCab 4x4 SR5 4.0L V6 5 speed Auto
    Huskey Floor Liners front & rear, Toyota bed mat, backup camera, shorty antenna, tailgate mod
    I'm having the same issue. I also can use the steering wheel controls when the knob control is dysfunctional. I am able to turn the radio on and off.
     
  5. Mar 1, 2009 at 4:51 PM
    #5
    tacogator

    tacogator Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Member:
    #12984
    Messages:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport 4x4 Mag Gray
    I know you guys are talking about 09's, but my 08 would not play CD's the day I drove it home. Took to dealer and got a replacement no questions asked, and no issues since.
     
  6. Mar 4, 2009 at 5:38 AM
    #6
    SuperCharley

    SuperCharley The Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Member:
    #9807
    Messages:
    11
    Montréal
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 AccesCab 4x4
    I had the same problem after a month of having the truck (09 SR5 non TRD) The dealer changed the radio, and now it's been a month...and guess what...Yep the F"@/¢5 knob still doesn't work ¾ of the time, I'm sick of having to tap on the screen to have it fonction correctly! Yes I've got the steering control, but shit....
     
  7. Mar 4, 2009 at 5:46 AM
    #7
    JDCPA

    JDCPA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Member:
    #10777
    Messages:
    933
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    SW FL
    Vehicle:
    09 5 Lug Access Cab SR5
    Curt Hitch and etrailer.com wiring harness.
    Add me to the list. My volume knob doesn't work all the time but the steering wheel controls do. Now that I know it is a systemic problem I'll have my dealer take care of it.
     
  8. Mar 4, 2009 at 6:20 AM
    #8
    Cap

    Cap Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Member:
    #13464
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Montgomery County, PA
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner SR5
    I've got the same issue too - I am only able to use the steering wheel controls when this starts acting up. 2009 DC SR5
     
  9. Mar 24, 2009 at 8:54 PM
    #9
    stb

    stb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Member:
    #12069
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    4X4
    The radio on my 09 Reg. Cab 4WD has mysteriously changed stations and frozen up several times, usually after starting. Once, all of the displays were lit up and none of the controls would work. I couldn't even shut it off without turning off the ignition. After about three restarts it started working again. Mine's a basic radio w/o steering wheel controls.
     
  10. Mar 24, 2009 at 9:18 PM
    #10
    #Reistlehr-

    #Reistlehr- AngryTacoma

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Member:
    #14854
    Messages:
    252
    Gender:
    Male
    Parsippany, NJ
    Vehicle:
    09 Magnetic Grey Double Cab Long Bed SR5
    Well, FWIW, my truck is an 09 double cab. Same issue. My steering wheel works. Happened a lot more in the cold, not to often since it started warming up. It would randomly shut off and knobs would stop working.

    Edit: Picked it up in October..
     
  11. Mar 24, 2009 at 10:57 PM
    #11
    BUK 0H5

    BUK 0H5 Still For Sale

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Member:
    #13391
    Messages:
    282
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Silver 09 2.7L Manual AccessCab SR5 PreRunner
    Removed Mud Flaps, Suspension TSB, 5100's all around, JVC KW-AVX710 Head Unit with Metra surround.
    I had an appointment to have the dealer look at mine but I ended up putting in an aftermarket radio anyway, so problem solved.
     
  12. Mar 24, 2009 at 11:47 PM
    #12
    sincitytaco

    sincitytaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Member:
    #10011
    Messages:
    870
    Gender:
    Male
    Las Vegas
    Icons, Bilstein 5100, Rear Leaf TSB, 17x9 American Racing Chamber Teflon, 275/70/17 Goodyear
    Oh great, now I have something to look forward to. LOL oh well, this is the least important feature of the truck to me.
     
  13. Mar 25, 2009 at 3:45 AM
    #13
    JDCPA

    JDCPA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Member:
    #10777
    Messages:
    933
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    SW FL
    Vehicle:
    09 5 Lug Access Cab SR5
    Curt Hitch and etrailer.com wiring harness.
    My LCD display went out, none of the buttons on the dash work and it doesn't light up. But the volume knob works now.
     
  14. Mar 25, 2009 at 3:51 AM
    #14
    AFButters

    AFButters Rigger, Please!!

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9113
    Messages:
    9,542
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    "Butters"
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC 4x4 TRD-Sport
    Lifted

    I had this problem in Chevy Cobalt, The entire digital screen would go all heywire and show random letters and numbers.. and it would never happen when i was at the dealer .. so i was driving drivign to the grocery store and it happend, had to wing a U-turn and drive to the dealer and show the guy.. I think it eneded upp being a wiring or fuse problem
     
  15. Mar 25, 2009 at 4:10 AM
    #15
    Joe B

    Joe B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Member:
    #10290
    Messages:
    806
    No volume control on my radio too.Steering wheel control did work,though.
    Upgraded my radio so I never bothered to have it fixed.
     
  16. Mar 25, 2009 at 4:46 AM
    #16
    T@co_Pr3runn3r

    T@co_Pr3runn3r XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Member:
    #12767
    Messages:
    11,923
    Gender:
    Male
    <----------------->
    Vehicle:
    08 RC Prerunner SR5
    Is all of this happening to the radios that have steering wheel controls or should I look forward to this nonsense as well?
     
  17. Mar 25, 2009 at 4:59 AM
    #17
    Shark

    Shark Nobody's Hero

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Member:
    #9460
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    N.E. Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2014 4x4, TRD Off-Road, Access Cab
    Same problem here. Volume sticks. Dealer ordered a new radio and I will take it in this Friday. Hope this corrects the problem but now I have my doubts.

    What are good aftermarket replacement radios?
     
  18. Mar 25, 2009 at 5:43 AM
    #18
    JeffRock

    JeffRock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Member:
    #14910
    Messages:
    1,198
    Gender:
    Male
    Capital region, NY
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma accesscab 4x4 SR5 2.7L
    Toyota all weather floor mats. Mag light that clunks around in the jack compartment. Dog hair. Dog drool on the windows.
    Hence why replacements are back ordered.
    Mine should be here in a month.
    But I am just having Fm reception problems. Dealer is replacing with no questions asked.
     
  19. Mar 25, 2009 at 5:47 AM
    #19
    Bryan139

    Bryan139 I have a spectacular aura

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8746
    Messages:
    546
    Gender:
    Male
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    '09 Sport
    I cut some wires here. Added some wires there.
    '09 DC TRD Sport, radio just turns off or the display goes blank. I'm so pissed off over the suspension I don't notice it anymore.
     
  20. Mar 25, 2009 at 6:05 AM
    #20
    stormyday

    stormyday Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Member:
    #14641
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    Morganton, NC
    Vehicle:
    14 Taco Double Cab Pre-Runner
    I had the same problem. Dealer replaced the radio a month after I bought the truck. This past weekend I got sick and tired of the crappy audio coming from my AUX jack and portable XM radio so I ripped it all out and installed a Kenwood KDC-BT838U head unit and XM.

    Here is a link to what I did.
     
To Top