1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

When to start using synthetic

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by TacoDawgfan, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. Feb 11, 2011 at 2:41 PM
    #1
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan [OP] Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    Is there a break in period or timeline to wait before switching to sythetic oil?

    Also, with my new purchase I have the 24 mt 24k service provided by Toyota. Will they let me run synthetic, and pay the difference? Has anyone done this? I'm not sure what's in the truck from the factory, I'm sure it is standard Toyota motor oil though.

    Also, should I use the Toyota synthetic? I like Mobil One.
     
  2. Feb 11, 2011 at 2:44 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,148
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    You can run synthetic when ever you want.
     
  3. Feb 11, 2011 at 2:45 PM
    #3
    rex99

    rex99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Member:
    #27492
    Messages:
    6,963
    Gender:
    Male
    TArdCOMAWORLD
    Vehicle:
    Proton Cruiser
    Rocket Boosters, Flux Capacitor, Escape Pod, Throttle Body Spacer, Homeroshi, ATRAC disable
    Chris, you have the patience of a saint
     
  4. Feb 11, 2011 at 2:46 PM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,148
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Thank you my good man! :)
     
  5. Feb 11, 2011 at 3:03 PM
    #5
    TacoDawgfan

    TacoDawgfan [OP] Hunker Down You Hairy Dawg!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Member:
    #50214
    Messages:
    13,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Silver 4x4 TRD Sport w/JBL
    5100's at 1.75, Rear leaf TSB, Moto Metal 951 16x8, BFG TKO2 265/75/16, AFe Stage 2 CAI w/pro dry filter, Access Loredo tonneau cover, N-Fab steps, Tinted windows, EGR in channel vent visors, Ultragauge, UGA drink coasters in the front cup holders, and a Graco car seat in the back seat
    I have always heard you should wait for the "break in period" if that really exist's anymore.
     
  6. Feb 11, 2011 at 3:06 PM
    #6
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,148
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Engines (in production vehicles) are broken in at the factory. You can run any synthetic you like right off the show room.
     
  7. Feb 16, 2011 at 1:22 AM
    #7
    island808

    island808 Me l've got brains.

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Member:
    #44414
    Messages:
    1,892
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jedediah
    hawaii
    Vehicle:
    '10 6speed 4x4 access cab
    SMUH?

    Why is toyota giving me this 1000 mile break in time. That just for the transmission?

    They run em a bit, but break them in? And I don't want to get into this big stupid engine break in myth vs legend vs what the factory and ASE says. thing.
     
To Top