1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

where do you place your relays and fuses?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by tatortot46, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. tatortot46

    tatortot46 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Member:
    #70703
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Downingtown PA
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    So I have been thinking of getting a fuse block and making a nice bracket for it and making a spot for relays. but when i opened my 6" LED off road light bar it came with sealed wires all the way up to the relay. by this i mean there was about 8' of sealed wire a relay and 6" from there was the switch. usually I play the fuse as close to the batter as possible and the relay close to where it will be used unless its out in the elements.
    So what do you guys and gals think? do i cut up the harness for the LED bar and put in all in the engine bay near the fire wall or stick it all up under the dash?
    NOTE: i have know problem with electrical wiring or making harness or figuring reverse polartity with relays.
     
  2. tacoma16

    tacoma16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    i dont think there would be a problem with cutting the wires and soldering some extra wire so you can put them any were you want. If you do this i would solder and heat wrap everything. As for the fuse block, get a blue sea fuse block, its marine grade. I only have 2 relays in my engine bay right now, so i just tucked them under a panel by the battery.

    my set up
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. tacoma16

    tacoma16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Member:
    #53109
    Messages:
    1,508
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peter
    Ontario
    Vehicle:
    Double cab SR5 4x4
    Check the build
    still got some cleaning up to do
     
  4. tatortot46

    tatortot46 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Member:
    #70703
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Downingtown PA
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    I like your set up. I was going to do about the same thing.
     
  5. tatortot46

    tatortot46 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Member:
    #70703
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Downingtown PA
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    Any other opinions?
     
  6. Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,672
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I've got 2 relays under my hood, one is next to the battery (I had to pull the battery to place it there) and the other is where tacoma16 has his extra fuse block located. All my fuses are in-line fuses and are tucked inside the OEM under-hood fuse box. I did not run anything from the battery. There is a pin in the front-passenger side of the under hood fuse panel that powers the stock fuses. I tapped my in-line fuses from that pin so I wouldn't have any wires going to the battery.

    As far as your sealed wire kit, cut it up and get to the 2 wires inside. My kits came with sealed wire also, I removed the sheathing and used plastic wire loom wrapped in electrical tape instead.
     
  7. tatortot46

    tatortot46 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Member:
    #70703
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Downingtown PA
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    Seems to be unanimous that I should just go the way I planned.
     
  8. FFMedic

    FFMedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Member:
    #67037
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Newton
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma SR5 MGM
    Anytime fog, Upgraded sound
    I went with a Blue Seas fuse box as well; however, I took it a step further and got a 80 amp relay therefore my fuse box is only "hot" with ignition power, I don't have pics of the set up as it is very similar to the one's already on here, only difference it the 80 amp relay for the fuse block. Personally like it this way much better. Had a fuse block in my Jeep that was always hot, never left anything on accidentally, but was a little of a pain, this was gives me extra peace of mind.
     
  9. wrmathis

    wrmathis Dark Lord of the Sith

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9126
    Messages:
    6,751
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan Mathis
    Lives: Fountain, Colorado/Home: Leesburg, GA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma TRD OR 4x4
    parts and stuff
    Here's mine

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  10. mcdowell

    mcdowell My name is Mudd

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Member:
    #60429
    Messages:
    2,413
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    mobile al
    Vehicle:
    2011 prerunner SR5
    2in Toytec leveling kit TSB 4 leafpack 130w KC driving lights Wsetin 3 tab lightbar Black headlights Trex eyelids TRD sport wheels Firestone MT Hood protector Vent visors Tube stepbars Colormatch grille
    Nice set up^^
     
  11. tooblutacoma06

    tooblutacoma06 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Member:
    #1426
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kellon
    Houston
    Here's mine. I really like Blue Sea Components. They make high quality hardware that is marine grade, and it won't break the bank.
    [​IMG]

    install thread

    If you are interested:
    for sale thread
     
  12. tatortot46

    tatortot46 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Member:
    #70703
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Downingtown PA
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    Where did you get this set up? N how much?
     
  13. wrmathis

    wrmathis Dark Lord of the Sith

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9126
    Messages:
    6,751
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan Mathis
    Lives: Fountain, Colorado/Home: Leesburg, GA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma TRD OR 4x4
    parts and stuff
    http://www.4x4spod.com/

    and ill just let u look for the price on there :eek:
     
  14. tatortot46

    tatortot46 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Member:
    #70703
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Downingtown PA
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    thats a great set up! but i cant justify the price.
     
  15. tatortot46

    tatortot46 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Member:
    #70703
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Downingtown PA
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    why does tacoma world keep poping up with no words next to it?
     
  16. tatortot46

    tatortot46 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Member:
    #70703
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Downingtown PA
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    Ok guys, got my blue sea fuse box. But I realized that it till send out constant power. Dumbass < yea I no this> so what system can I put in place so it will shut off when the trucks not on. Relay? But what amp? Or do I buy 10 small relays for each line going out? Im just looking for some ideas.
     
  17. 2000GTacoma

    2000GTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Member:
    #50183
    Messages:
    2,183
    Gender:
    Male
    Snow Hill NC
    Vehicle:
    00 Tacoma Ext. 3.4L SR5
    if you want the entire block to cut off when you turn your ignition switch off just buy a heavy duty relay not sure what load you would need. 80 maybe 100 amp? just depends on your preference. what you would need to do is have you input from battery go into one side of the heavy duty relay and then from the relay to the input of fuse block. then just use the signal wire for the relay and tap into a circuit that turns on and off with the ignition.
     
  18. tatortot46

    tatortot46 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Member:
    #70703
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Downingtown PA
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    Thats what I was figuring just wasnt sure what other guys were doing. I never liked the idea of having a heavy power wire go to a switch so i would always use small wire like 18g or even smaller to go to a switch and to then to a relay. this also helps when the switch is in a far place like an over head consel. So if i go that way I will need relays anyways.
     
  19. FFMedic

    FFMedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Member:
    #67037
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Newton
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma SR5 MGM
    Anytime fog, Upgraded sound
    I bought a scosche 80 amp relay, and wired it from one of the fuse boxes. I'll try and locate my camera tomorrow and shoot some pics.
     
To Top