1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Where to ground amp in back of DC

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by JTDTacoma, Jul 21, 2010.

  1. Jul 21, 2010 at 4:07 PM
    #1
    JTDTacoma

    JTDTacoma [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Member:
    #4382
    Messages:
    282
    Vehicle:
    08 4X4 Double Cab TRD Sport
    I've been using the seatbelt bolt, with paint sanded down. I've also been living with grounding problems (buzzing, etc) and cannot seem to find the source of my problem. Is there another area people use to ground the amp in the back of a DC? My amp is mounted behind the seatback of the rear driver's side.
     
  2. Jul 21, 2010 at 4:32 PM
    #2
    rhodehard09

    rhodehard09 sometimes nonsense is the only sense someone has

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Member:
    #22964
    Messages:
    3,485
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    tampa, fl
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road 4x4 doublecab
    3" lift, allpro u-bolt flip kit,285/75/16 km2s, hella hid lights, hid conversions for headlights and foglights, led everything, debadged, 9145 reverse light bulbs, black tail lights, black headlight mod,trail-gear rock sliders, dynomax ultra flo muffler,satoshi with custom woven stainless grill,hella 100watt floods in grill, pioneer 4100 in dash dvd player, pioneer 800watt 4 channel amp, pioneer 4way 6x9s, pioneer 4 way 6.5s, 2 rockford p3 10's,rockford power 500.1 mono amp w/bass knob, 7 pin relocated, highlift and mount in bed, diff breather mod, led bed lights, secondary air filter removed,t-rex eyelids, mefab bumper bar, muddy under carriage
    i just drilled a hole through the body, sanded the paint off and used a nut and bolt to fasten the cable. you also want to make sure you use a good crimp-on ring terminal on your cable.
    i dont have any noise in my system using this.
    also be sure to use the shortest length of cable possible
    also be sure that your rca wires are routed away from the power wires--- or any high amperage power wires for that matter
     
  3. Jul 21, 2010 at 4:36 PM
    #3
    brutalguyracing

    brutalguyracing BIG DADDY

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19000
    Messages:
    24,038
    Gender:
    Male
    F.U> GUYZ
    broken mods
    x2 on the shortest cable length
     
  4. Jul 22, 2010 at 1:12 PM
    #4
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    I ran the ground back to the battery and bolted it in where the negative terminal bolts to the engine compartment. No issues.
     
To Top