1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Where to route power wire?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by taco terror, Mar 29, 2013.

  1. Mar 29, 2013 at 3:26 PM
    #1
    taco terror

    taco terror [OP] got 5VZFE?

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Member:
    #78817
    Messages:
    5,892
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austen
    East Carolina!
    Vehicle:
    1996 4WD, best year evar!
    K&N intake, Flowmaster dual exhaust, Pioneer radio, American Racing wheels, fully aftermarket lights, Bilstein 5100 shocks, Wheelers 5 leaf pack, Line-X bed liner
    Bought a new powered sub and I need to know where I can route the 14 gauge power wire; I don't really want to drill a hole into my firewall.

    Also, does anyone know if I can use the blue wire in the back of my pioneer headunit to turn on the sub when the radio turns on?
     
  2. Mar 29, 2013 at 3:38 PM
    #2
    jshsltr

    jshsltr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Member:
    #86120
    Messages:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    St Louis
    There should be a place to route through the firewall without having to drill any new holes. just look around for rubber plugs.

    If the blue wire you are referring to is the power antenna signal wire then yes you should be able to use it to turn on the amp if it has the remote switch contact.
     
  3. Mar 29, 2013 at 3:44 PM
    #3
    jtav2002

    jtav2002 Kenny Fuckin Powers

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Member:
    #19074
    Messages:
    4,499
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reading, PA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DBL Cab TRD OR
    What slatercat said. Not sure what the 1st gens look like but check the driver side firewall for where other wires are going into the cab from the engine compartment. On my truck there was a rubber boot like thing with the wires going through I just routed my power wire through there.
     
  4. Mar 29, 2013 at 3:47 PM
    #4
    Geosh

    Geosh Why yes, I AM a rocket scientist.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Member:
    #98084
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Chandler, AZ
    Vehicle:
    '03 PreRunner DC, 3.4L
    Make sure you use the blue remote turn on wire and not a "power antenna" wire. Some decks had both, and the antenna one shuts off when you change to CD or Aux modes.
     
  5. Mar 29, 2013 at 3:50 PM
    #5
    jshsltr

    jshsltr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Member:
    #86120
    Messages:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    St Louis

    also if you pull a plug to rout the wire through the firewall, make a hole in the plug to route the wire through and replace the plug in the spot it was removed from. That way it decreases the chances of the power wire chafing and keeps your firewall sealed up.
     
  6. Mar 29, 2013 at 3:51 PM
    #6
    jshsltr

    jshsltr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Member:
    #86120
    Messages:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    St Louis


    Oh... good call.
     
  7. Mar 29, 2013 at 3:54 PM
    #7
    taco terror

    taco terror [OP] got 5VZFE?

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Member:
    #78817
    Messages:
    5,892
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austen
    East Carolina!
    Vehicle:
    1996 4WD, best year evar!
    K&N intake, Flowmaster dual exhaust, Pioneer radio, American Racing wheels, fully aftermarket lights, Bilstein 5100 shocks, Wheelers 5 leaf pack, Line-X bed liner
    Thanks guys, 2nd gens might have "blanks" in the firewall but it looks like mine has ones that are being used. The boot in the firewall on the drivers side is really tight so I didn't think I could fit a 14 gauge wire through it.

    And yep I'm talking about the power antenna wire.
     
  8. Mar 29, 2013 at 3:55 PM
    #8
    taco terror

    taco terror [OP] got 5VZFE?

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Member:
    #78817
    Messages:
    5,892
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austen
    East Carolina!
    Vehicle:
    1996 4WD, best year evar!
    K&N intake, Flowmaster dual exhaust, Pioneer radio, American Racing wheels, fully aftermarket lights, Bilstein 5100 shocks, Wheelers 5 leaf pack, Line-X bed liner
    Poop:(

    I don't think mine has the other wire.
     
  9. Mar 29, 2013 at 4:04 PM
    #9
    smuook

    smuook Daily Driver "Plus"

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Member:
    #26418
    Messages:
    390
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    2004 DC V6 PreRunner
    Billy 5100, Satoshi, Painted wheels, Randy Ellis light bar with 3x PIAA 530, interior lighting, other stuff
    Poke a small hole slightly off center with a small sharp punch... don't slice. You will be able feed through and be water tight.
     
  10. Mar 29, 2013 at 5:30 PM
    #10
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,935
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    I ran mine right by the brake booster in the engine bay.... and I used 4ga power wire so I know 14 will fit lol
     
  11. Mar 29, 2013 at 5:41 PM
    #11
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,935
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Remember to make the slit small so that you have to actually push the wire tight through it or it will leak
     
  12. Mar 29, 2013 at 5:48 PM
    #12
    jkirkpatrick

    jkirkpatrick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Member:
    #73869
    Messages:
    538
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Edmonton
    Vehicle:
    2000, build thread soon
    Stealth sub box, total stereo overhaul, 883 OME with Nitros, Dakars, All Pro bumper, Engo 10,000lb winch w/ synthetic line, ARB rear locker, All Pro full skids, All Pro sliders, 7069 Pro Comp with 285/75/16 Duratracs, front sway bar disconnects, CBI rear bumper
    I put my 4 gauge power wire through that side, so your 14 gauge will fit no problem!
     
  13. Mar 29, 2013 at 5:57 PM
    #13
    taco terror

    taco terror [OP] got 5VZFE?

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Member:
    #78817
    Messages:
    5,892
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austen
    East Carolina!
    Vehicle:
    1996 4WD, best year evar!
    K&N intake, Flowmaster dual exhaust, Pioneer radio, American Racing wheels, fully aftermarket lights, Bilstein 5100 shocks, Wheelers 5 leaf pack, Line-X bed liner
    Gee thanks Afro! Thats where I was thinking about running it, and that is some freakin big wiring!
    Also I think I am in luck with the remote turn on! I just pulled my head unit to check that wire in the back, turns out it is blue with a white stripe and the tape on it says "system remote control"

    Now I just gotta wait for my RCA adapter to get here so I can wire this sucker up.
     
  14. Mar 29, 2013 at 6:14 PM
    #14
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,935
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    No problem man
     
  15. Mar 29, 2013 at 7:37 PM
    #15
    Madjik_Man

    Madjik_Man The Rembrandt of Rattle Can

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Member:
    #26893
    Messages:
    10,642
    Gender:
    Male
    Boulder, CO
    Vehicle:
    1998 Ext Cab 4x4 TRD 5MT sunfire red pearl
    About 25 pounds of spray paint and vinyl dye
    I fit a 2 gauge power cable through that grommet.

    Gotta just show it who's boss.
     
  16. Mar 30, 2013 at 6:07 PM
    #16
    taco terror

    taco terror [OP] got 5VZFE?

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Member:
    #78817
    Messages:
    5,892
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austen
    East Carolina!
    Vehicle:
    1996 4WD, best year evar!
    K&N intake, Flowmaster dual exhaust, Pioneer radio, American Racing wheels, fully aftermarket lights, Bilstein 5100 shocks, Wheelers 5 leaf pack, Line-X bed liner
    That is a huge a** wire!
     
  17. Mar 30, 2013 at 6:10 PM
    #17
    taco terror

    taco terror [OP] got 5VZFE?

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Member:
    #78817
    Messages:
    5,892
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Austen
    East Carolina!
    Vehicle:
    1996 4WD, best year evar!
    K&N intake, Flowmaster dual exhaust, Pioneer radio, American Racing wheels, fully aftermarket lights, Bilstein 5100 shocks, Wheelers 5 leaf pack, Line-X bed liner
    I got the wire through there, now It's just a matter of patience for my RCA adapter from Crutchfield to get here; I am so ready to hook this bad boy up to my radio.

    Crappy iPhone pic:

    IMG_1494[1].jpg
     
  18. Mar 30, 2013 at 6:45 PM
    #18
    Madjik_Man

    Madjik_Man The Rembrandt of Rattle Can

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Member:
    #26893
    Messages:
    10,642
    Gender:
    Male
    Boulder, CO
    Vehicle:
    1998 Ext Cab 4x4 TRD 5MT sunfire red pearl
    About 25 pounds of spray paint and vinyl dye
    It should be really well sealed up as is, but I threw some silicone adhesive around the cable at the grommet, on both sides of the firewall.
     
  19. Mar 31, 2013 at 1:00 AM
    #19
    bellassaiw10

    bellassaiw10 Formally afroman5015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39032
    Messages:
    4,935
    Gender:
    Male
    Currituck NC
    Vehicle:
    00 4WD Prerunner
    Depends on what he's got it hooked to.. My old amp had 16ga power wire hahahaha my new amps have 4ga, difference between knowing your stuff and learning
     
To Top