1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Why do I only have brights?

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Condor84, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. Condor84

    Condor84 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Member:
    #26463
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Fontana
    Vehicle:
    Hoopty-for now...
    hello everybody, i just have what is hopefuly a quick question regarding my girlfriends truck... the other day when i went to turn on the headlights they didnt come on, and instead i had the indicator that the saying brights were on when in fact they were not. Now the only lights i can get on are the brights and the parking lights/turn signals (for the front, all rears are fine). any ideas? the panel covering the fuse box is missing so i referred to haynes manual and checked the fuses.. nothing.. any input would be most appreciated. thanks in advance!
     
  2. Condor84

    Condor84 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Member:
    #26463
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Fontana
    Vehicle:
    Hoopty-for now...
    The only other thing i can think that would be helpful is sometimes the low beams do come on but, then shut off shortly after forcing me to turn my brights on... yet again...
    please people... im sick of blinding you with my brights :)
     
  3. yosh2000

    yosh2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Member:
    #2733
    Messages:
    2,890
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    '05 4runner SR5 v8
    new bulbs, the low beam filaments both might be burned out...stranger things have happened.
     
  4. Condor84

    Condor84 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Member:
    #26463
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Fontana
    Vehicle:
    Hoopty-for now...
    But they come on every once in a while... Are the turn signal switches known to go out?
     
  5. chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,452
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, lots of buttons, and yellow flashing lights on the dash.
    You could have a loose connecction to the lights, or a wire grounding out. Start at the bulbs, and make sure they are plugged in correctly. Then, follow the wires back, checking for a bad ground, broken wire.
     
  6. yosh2000

    yosh2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Member:
    #2733
    Messages:
    2,890
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    '05 4runner SR5 v8
    do you have a multimeter you can check the inputs w/? that would be an easy way to see if its a wiring issue.
     
  7. chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,452
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, lots of buttons, and yellow flashing lights on the dash.
    X2.
     
  8. Condor84

    Condor84 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Member:
    #26463
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Fontana
    Vehicle:
    Hoopty-for now...
    nope... dvom broke and never replaced it... looks like im gonna need to pull the turn signal switch and manually jump to see if its the switch cus its not the bulbs, fuse, or relay... blah.. thanks for the input
     
To Top