1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Wifi over a large distance

Discussion in 'Technology' started by rjclemen, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. Aug 9, 2011 at 7:37 AM
    #1
    rjclemen

    rjclemen [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Member:
    #21254
    Messages:
    393
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Riley
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Pre Runner The good looking Blue
    Tint, Bed Cover, HIDs, stubby antenna, double din system, debagded, All Terrain bedside stickers.
    So I recently moved into my buddies new place. He is not very tech savvy but is one of those guys who thinks the world runs well off wifi. I am living in his detached garage that has an apartment suite above it that is super nice so I was pretty excited about living there.

    Here is the issue I am having. I play WoW which is very gay I know. But it is a very demanding game bandwidth wise. I can't really quit because I enjoy the game and my team is internationally ranked and it keeps me out of the bars. He has a brand new Vaio that gets signal perfectly yet my 3 year old desktop that was built for graphics and run speed cant even pick up the signal. I also have a new xbox slim with the built in wireless card which pics up only 1 bar of signal.

    Here are the solutions I have considered.
    1. Start another service with the cable company for the garage = $$$ and he doesnt like that.
    2. Wireless Booster: not really sure it will help the situation since it is a large distance and alot of walls.
    3. Run an ethernet cable: pretty ghetto but would solve the issure entirely. He wont go for it.

    So does anyone have any insight as to make the booster work to the spec I need? Or do you have any other suggestions.

    Thanks
     
  2. Aug 9, 2011 at 7:44 AM
    #2
    chris duby

    chris duby This is where I write something clever

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Member:
    #48315
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Clute, TX
    Vehicle:
    The '09 SuperWhite
    Badges Painted White, D2S Mini Morimoto projectors with 6000K bulbs, Satoshi grill, black valance, fog lights on anytime with 6000k HID's, Viper Remote Start, Pioneer AVH-P8400BH, 2 Rockford Fosgate P3 Shallow mount subs, Rockford Fosgate 1000 watt amp, Tinted Tail Lights, Weathertech Floor mats, Updated bedside decals, AFE Pro Dry drop in filter, Ultragauge, Radar Detector hard wired, Stubby antenna, Dynamax Bullet dumped after axel, carpeted Kobalt tool box, 4" spindle lift with 3" blocks in back, Bilstein front shocks set at .75", Extended Rear Bilsteins, 1.25" Spidertraxx wheel spacers in back, 20" XD Hoss gloss black rims with 295/55/20 Nitto Trail Grapplers,
    I always love a wired connection when playing xbox because no speed is being compromised. Since he doesn't want to run an ethernet cable, I would try out a wireless booster. If it doesn't work, then I would just return it to the store you got it from.

    Here is one that seems pretty good IMO. I'm running the matching wireless router and love it.
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/NETGEAR...3081.p?id=1218240386270&skuId=1243081&st=wifi booster&cp=1&lp=4
     
  3. Aug 9, 2011 at 9:36 AM
    #3
    wing103

    wing103 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7807
    Messages:
    1,130
    Gender:
    Male
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD Sport / Dark Gray
    Grill Craft upper & Lower Grill WetOK Seat Cover, Devil Horn, Bug, Windows Deflector, Side step Bar, HID 55W 8000K Headlight, HID 35W 4000K Foglight, Fog Light Mod, Interior LED Map Light Mod, Electric Tail Gate Lock, Leer Cab, Key ring light, Bed LED lights Mod, Kenwood DNX5120, Signal Mirror with Heat
  4. Aug 9, 2011 at 9:38 AM
    #4
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,779
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    I've heard you can make a booster out of a pringles can...never tried it though.
     
  5. Aug 9, 2011 at 9:46 AM
    #5
    jgwheeler17

    jgwheeler17 I'm a zit. Get it?

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Member:
    #47112
    Messages:
    10,033
    Gender:
    Male
    NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Double Cab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    tint, dents, scratches, two blown speakers and trying to pay her off...
    I've read that rumor somewhere as well haha. Don't really buy it lol.

    I would try the cable. get a long one and hide it running to your room. I believe i read in popular mechanics that the best wireless speed from the best router will at best only be 4/5ths the speed of a direct connection. just my two cents, cause I'm by no means a tech junkie. good luck.
     
  6. Aug 9, 2011 at 9:52 AM
    #6
    jammdogg

    jammdogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18600
    Messages:
    859
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    Hillsboro, OR
    Vehicle:
    13 Spruce Mica DCLB
    6" ProComp lift on 35 MT's. ARB Bumper.
    Get a router that works as a bridge, and connect it to his wireless. Google is your best friend on this.

    Get a bigger antenna on your wireless card, and his router, if not internal antenna's.

    The bridged router would work best, as you could run your gear (xbox, PC) wired to the router, and connect wireless to the base router.
     
  7. Aug 10, 2011 at 1:34 PM
    #7
    rjclemen

    rjclemen [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Member:
    #21254
    Messages:
    393
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Riley
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Pre Runner The good looking Blue
    Tint, Bed Cover, HIDs, stubby antenna, double din system, debagded, All Terrain bedside stickers.
    Thanks for the responses. I tried the netgear setup but it wouldn't pass a signal through two electrical panels. The wireless bridge sounds like an interesting idea.
     
  8. Aug 10, 2011 at 1:46 PM
    #8
    Dilley

    Dilley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Member:
    #24634
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    WA
    Vehicle:
    06 2.7L
    KN Cold air intake, Dynomax exaust, Husky liners
    Living in a garage playing WOW.... You must be a real ladies man LOL... just kidding.. but you should just buy all the supplies and run a Ethernet cable under ground out to the garage.. you can make it all professional with wall plug ins and everything.. to do it yourself would be cheap.
     
  9. Aug 10, 2011 at 2:01 PM
    #9
    UMBCrew

    UMBCrew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Member:
    #58724
    Messages:
    585
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nic
    Central Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 6" Pro Comp Stage II
    6" Pro Comp Stage II, 305/65r17 Pro Comp Xtreme AT, Pro Comp 7033 17x9s, AFe Stage 2 Si, All-Pro Rear Bumper, Ultra-Guage, Kenwood KDC-X895, Kicker 6.5 2 ways
    fixed

    ^^Yeah this one.

    i have a bridge in my house only two rooms apart from my office to my living room and it sucks, it wont even stream small file size movies like 750mb low resolution crap. barely streams music. i hear power adapters are even worse thats why i wont even attempt to use one. hardline it all the way then get a cheap old switch and run both the xbox and your computer
     
  10. Aug 10, 2011 at 2:04 PM
    #10
    kd8awe

    kd8awe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Member:
    #22699
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rocky
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    4x4 TRD Off Road
    Fog mod, 3" lift, ShoMe stobes, MicroLight LED Strobes, HiLift Jack, RCI 2950, Yaesu 8900r, 20% Tint, ScanGauge II, Weathertech Side Window Deflectors, *** New Mod's (parts on the way) *** U-Bolt flip kit. Tom Woods 1 Piece Double Cardan Drive Shaft. 3* Axel Shims

    You can build one (they call them cantennas) cheep. Here is a link for a place that sells them.

    http://www.cantenna.com/

    If you want to build your own (there really easy to build) here is a link with detailed plans

    http://cruftbox.com/cruft/docs/cantenna.html
     
  11. Aug 10, 2011 at 2:17 PM
    #11
    Highland Logan

    Highland Logan UBIQUE

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Member:
    #54752
    Messages:
    2,801
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2011 Black AC TRD Off Road w/ factory tow pkg
    Icon Stage 2 w/ overload left in, SPC LR UCA, 265/75 16 BFG KO2, front and rear Weathertech floor liners, OEM (Extang) solid fold tonneau, OEM bed mat, OEM front skid plate, OEM billet oil cap, "TOYOYA" tailgate decal
    If it's for you, shouldn't you be paying for it? If all your other options don't pan out, and the game means that much to you, just pony up the cash. Like they say, you have to pay to play.

    Frank
     
  12. Aug 10, 2011 at 2:22 PM
    #12
    yarik83

    yarik83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Member:
    #38026
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yuri
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD SR5 DoubleCab 4x4
    Lift kit, weight distribution hitch. Camper shell. Kayak Rack.
    Anything wireless will give you significant packet loss. Best thing you can do is to go with a hard wire and put amplifier on coax cable that goes to modem.
    Get a long pvc pipe(s) from home depot as well as a can of great stuff (foam). If you are using multiple pipes then you will need to use connectors. PVC is super cheap. If you cant bury it (just a few inches below ground) then at the very least grab a couple of black/brown spray cans while at home depot and paint pvc pipes. Lay them along building or along the fence and once dry they will blend with everything.

    To play wow effectively (I assume you raid)... you need less than 120ms ping and no more than 60 packet loss. 250 ping will get you by but you will be lagging like crazy during boss fights.
     
  13. Aug 11, 2011 at 5:45 AM
    #13
    rjclemen

    rjclemen [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Member:
    #21254
    Messages:
    393
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Riley
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Pre Runner The good looking Blue
    Tint, Bed Cover, HIDs, stubby antenna, double din system, debagded, All Terrain bedside stickers.
    I understand. I ended up buying a laptop since I needed to upgrade anyways. That will allow me to be hard wired if I need to be. Thanks for the criticism btw.
     
  14. Aug 11, 2011 at 6:01 AM
    #14
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    4,276
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 F150
    Is there a phone line out to the detached garage? If so Corinex makes a phone line adapter that works flawlessly. If not then you're stuck with running a new line. Wireless is way to unreliable.
     
  15. Aug 11, 2011 at 6:22 AM
    #15
    TacoCat

    TacoCat Look away, I'm hideous!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Member:
    #24912
    Messages:
    3,779
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Johnny-5
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2010 OR
    If you do go the hard wire route go with cat 6 cable since it has lower attenuation over longer distances. Cost difference should be minimal.
     
  16. Aug 11, 2011 at 9:24 AM
    #16
    fvtalon

    fvtalon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Member:
    #41625
    Messages:
    234
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern BC
    Vehicle:
    07 DC TRD/Yamaha
    285/65/18 BFG ATs on MKWs Leer Cap
    If you run a conduit and seal the ends with something removable you can pull in a string with the ethernet cable and then you can use the string to pull in a new line if the existing one goes bad or needs to be upgraded.

    Direct burial ethernet cable is available too if you want to avoid the conduit.
     
  17. Aug 11, 2011 at 4:42 PM
    #17
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    First, try to relocate the router. Maybe you can put in a more central spot, or away from interference.

    Next, are we talking wireless b, g, or n? Each standard has better distance. I'm guessing if you have older gear and he has newer, it could be one reason for discrepancy. Try moving to N (this may include the router).

    Personally, I would avoid any USB network device. From experience, they have a big problem with slowness - not sure if it's with them entering low power states, latency, or what.

    Actually, wouldn't you want a dedicated wireless bridge? I thought a router that has to act as a bridge ends up halving its bandwidth speed due to the transmission (up/down on one link). A regular bridge most likely has the gear to negate that I'm guessing?


    If the OP does this, bury it at a significant depth, equal to underground sprinkler pipe or wires. The idea here is to prevent someone cutting through the line. A good trick is to dig your trench, lay the wiring as you will, add back half the dirt to the trench, and then bury some caution tape. Finally, add the remaining dirt. People will dig up the caution tape before cutting down to your line.

    As joneill03 said, go with CAT6, otherwise CAT5e at minimum.
     
  18. Aug 12, 2011 at 5:23 AM
    #18
    rjclemen

    rjclemen [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Member:
    #21254
    Messages:
    393
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Riley
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Pre Runner The good looking Blue
    Tint, Bed Cover, HIDs, stubby antenna, double din system, debagded, All Terrain bedside stickers.
    Dexter any chance you could expand upon this? I am pretty sure there is a hardwired phone line out there. I looked at their website and they only have the power outlet adapters that didn't work when I tried them.

    Thanks
     
  19. Aug 12, 2011 at 8:32 AM
    #19
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    I haven't heard of anyone doing that since 99-2001 when I was on the team that helped test the Intel Anypoint device. Our device came in either an internal PCI card or an external box that connected to your parallel port (USB was emerging technology, remember). In testing it worked great, considering the device handled up to 1.6 Mbps and the fastest home internet speeds were 700k or less. Gaming was great, file transfers were reasonably fast. Armed with a screwdriver, setup time took a few minutes.
    However, it was a late-to-market product and people thought they needed 10/100 hubs instead.

    I'm pretty sure that if you could find phone line adapters, you are going to run into the same problems we did - phone line copper can only handle so much. After all, I think DSL around here still maxes at 256k.

    I think a better device might be MoCA, where you use the coax cables. Check out this device from Netgear (yes, it's spendy, about $120 at newegg though)

    EDIT: another thing, which I've confirmed from multiple sources:





    That could be dependent on the device. Early models had problems that I think are smoothed out now. I would be tempted to try the D-Link gaming models - just check with the store's return policy and give things a spin.
     
  20. Aug 12, 2011 at 3:35 PM
    #20
    dexterdog

    dexterdog My pee parts itch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Member:
    #19571
    Messages:
    4,276
    Gender:
    Male
    Oly WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 F150
    This is what I use at work running from two buildings over a thousand feet apart on decaying phone line direct bury. I have no issues with streaming video or connectivity.

    http://www.corinex.com/index.php?pa...category_id=6&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=87
     
To Top