1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Will 2012 4runner tpms sensors work in my 2012 tacoma

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by prince1331, Aug 31, 2012.

  1. Aug 31, 2012 at 10:23 AM
    #1
    prince1331

    prince1331 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85193
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Edmonton, AB
    Vehicle:
    2012 super white DCLB TRD sport
    Bilstein 5100 front (1.75) and rear
    I am putting new rims on my tacoma. I am getting new tires as well, so I plan to sell my OEM rims with stock tires and tpms that came with. I was planning to get a set of sensors that were taken off a 2012 4runner and have them programmed to my truck. The toyota service department (where I bought my truck 2 weeks ago) said the 4runner sensors can't be programmed to my tacoma (trd sport double cab). Is that true?? I'm a little skeptical of automotive service departments, they have a bit of a reputation.

    If I want to put in tpms, what are my options? I don't want some kit, I just want a sensor that works with my truck. Does it need to be tacoma specific? What about the ones at places like tirerack.com, aren't those a generic type that can work with various cars/trucks??

    Thanks
     
  2. Aug 31, 2012 at 10:30 AM
    #2
    Ryanv

    Ryanv Toyota Technician

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Member:
    #66459
    Messages:
    218
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Vehicle:
    15 4Runner
    Yes the 4runner sensors can be programmed to your Tacoma. Fj sensors are also the same.
     
  3. Aug 31, 2012 at 10:32 AM
    #3
    D44boy

    D44boy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Member:
    #82003
    Messages:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Kaneohe, hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2011 prerunner double cab
    you also gotta make sure they fit the rim. i tried having my steelie sensors be put into 4runner alloy, but they said the angle wouldnt let them fit. you may want to check on that.
     
  4. Sep 1, 2012 at 5:33 PM
    #4
    prince1331

    prince1331 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85193
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Edmonton, AB
    Vehicle:
    2012 super white DCLB TRD sport
    Bilstein 5100 front (1.75) and rear
    These tpms are a pain!! I called a different dealership and they talked about the tacoma tpms angle being different than 4runner tpms (20deg vs. 40deg) and that they were a different part number, so they won't work.

    As I said above, I am trying to put 17 inch fj cruiser rims with new tires on my tacoma. I have found some tpms from a 2012 4runner.

    So...here is the question. Does this 20 deg vs. 40 deg angle thing have to do with the rim they are mounted to or to the vehicle they are mounted on. To put it another way, will 4 runner tpms mount properly on 2012 FJ cruiser rims and program to my 2012 tacoma ECU???

    Of course I'll call the dealership next week (since they will have to do the programming) but as I said above, I don't always trust what they tell me.
     
  5. Sep 1, 2012 at 5:40 PM
    #5
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    The angle difference is the difference between steel and alloy wheels.

    The steel TPMS sensors will fit the alloy wheels if they are rotated 180 degrees, but in the future, every tire installer must be aware of this or they will break them when they remove the tires.

    There are a number of manufacturers of TPMS units... Toyota does not make them.
    You can buy them from any source as long as they are the right frequency.

    Rockauto has some Dorman units for $30 each.
    They also have some "Standard" parts for $72 each for alloys.

    All you need is the serial number from the new unit and the tire installer or dealer can program them into your ECU.
     
  6. Sep 16, 2012 at 8:55 PM
    #6
    prince1331

    prince1331 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85193
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Edmonton, AB
    Vehicle:
    2012 super white DCLB TRD sport
    Bilstein 5100 front (1.75) and rear
    I got the new tires installed with the 4runner tpms but the shop said they couldn't program them to my truck without the VIN of the 4runner they cam off of??? He said he called Toyota who told him THEY could program the truck but that he would need the VIN to do it at his shop. What info would the VIN give him? I already have the serial number for each of the 4 sensors( I assume they are the numbers stamped on the sensors).

    Rich91710: you said they need the serial number from the new sensors. I have the serial numbers from the 4new sensors, should any tire shop be able to program the my truck with those numbers?? Does it depend on the equipment of the tire shop, or is it that they don't know how to work on toyotas with the equipment they have?

    Thanks
     
  7. Sep 17, 2012 at 7:34 PM
    #7
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,477
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    The serial number can be directly input via the Toyota Techstream software.

    Most tire shops can do this for you with their equipment.
     
To Top