1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Will a Add-A-Circuit work?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Paczowski123, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. Sep 1, 2011 at 10:30 AM
    #1
    Paczowski123

    Paczowski123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Member:
    #61578
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Kennesaw
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner trd off road
    OME 3" Lift, Kennesaw Mountain Off Road Wincher Front Bumper w/ 5" Integrated off road lights, Kennesaw Mountain Off Road Multi Carrier Rear Bumper w/ swingout tire carrier, Jerry can, and hi-lift mount, Sof-topper rear cargo cover. Galaxy DX44V CB Radio W/ 4' FireStikII, Rock Sliders
    Ok well i was in the process of installing my CB radio in my truck and had all of the wires run went to pull a behind the little flip down tray on the left side and saw the fuses were not the normal ones i usually see in vehicles. The plastic sheathing went almost all the way down to the prongs. Right now i just have it run into a power outlet but its started to bother me seeing im all about clean run wires.

    My question is will a normal Add-A-Circuit work in this fuse panel even though they are not the same style fuses? I seem to remember seeing someone use them for installing an extra power outlet but do not know if they used a different type of AAC or if the normal style will still work?
     
  2. Sep 1, 2011 at 10:31 AM
    #2
    PreRunnerSeth

    PreRunnerSeth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Member:
    #21110
    Messages:
    4,274
    Gender:
    Male
    Apex, NC
    Vehicle:
    15 Black DC OR Prerunner
    Yep. the mini add a circuit works fine.
     
  3. Sep 1, 2011 at 11:29 AM
    #3
    Paczowski123

    Paczowski123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Member:
    #61578
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Kennesaw
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner trd off road
    OME 3" Lift, Kennesaw Mountain Off Road Wincher Front Bumper w/ 5" Integrated off road lights, Kennesaw Mountain Off Road Multi Carrier Rear Bumper w/ swingout tire carrier, Jerry can, and hi-lift mount, Sof-topper rear cargo cover. Galaxy DX44V CB Radio W/ 4' FireStikII, Rock Sliders
    Thanks guys!..Yeah i may do that i just HATE running wires, that far but ill look into it. Thanks for the quick replys!!
     
  4. Sep 1, 2011 at 11:39 AM
    #4
    Paczowski123

    Paczowski123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Member:
    #61578
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Kennesaw
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner trd off road
    OME 3" Lift, Kennesaw Mountain Off Road Wincher Front Bumper w/ 5" Integrated off road lights, Kennesaw Mountain Off Road Multi Carrier Rear Bumper w/ swingout tire carrier, Jerry can, and hi-lift mount, Sof-topper rear cargo cover. Galaxy DX44V CB Radio W/ 4' FireStikII, Rock Sliders
    For a CB I'd recommend running directly to the battery though you will get cleaner power and reduced noise. It's not hard just poke a hole through the firewall grommet with the coat hanger and fish wires through.

    FYI - those little fuses are called low profile mini fuses. APS blade type[/QUOTE]

    Could you direct me to a grommet thats easy to access? I looked under the dash but its all covered in that black carpeting under the reg. carpet and is bolted down everywhere...?
     
  5. Sep 1, 2011 at 11:50 AM
    #5
    plurpimpin

    plurpimpin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Member:
    #60895
    Messages:
    432
    Gender:
    Male
    PDX
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Off Road 4x4
    Easiest way to run CB power through the firewall is run it alongside the hood release cable through the grommet in the firewall. The fit is loose enough on the hood release cable that I had no trouble feeding the wire through with a clothes hanger. Took me about 5 min to run the power wire through there.

    I don't like poking holes in grommets and this method avoids that.
     
  6. Sep 1, 2011 at 12:38 PM
    #6
    Paczowski123

    Paczowski123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Member:
    #61578
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Kennesaw
    Vehicle:
    05 prerunner trd off road
    OME 3" Lift, Kennesaw Mountain Off Road Wincher Front Bumper w/ 5" Integrated off road lights, Kennesaw Mountain Off Road Multi Carrier Rear Bumper w/ swingout tire carrier, Jerry can, and hi-lift mount, Sof-topper rear cargo cover. Galaxy DX44V CB Radio W/ 4' FireStikII, Rock Sliders
    thanks guys thats just what i did!! (the "hootload" wire bundle side) ;)
     
  7. Sep 1, 2011 at 5:53 PM
    #7
    BarefootBandit

    BarefootBandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Member:
    #40116
    Messages:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double-Cab TRD Sport 6-Speed
    Somebody is bound to tell you to ground the radio to the battery. This is not necessary. Ground it to the chassis, but make sure you grind down the paint so their is a good connection. The ground wire should be very short if possible.
     
To Top