1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

will it work?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by blkcoma32, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. Aug 7, 2009 at 10:00 AM
    #1
    blkcoma32

    blkcoma32 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Member:
    #13359
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    98' 4x4 on tirty trees
    3 inch coilover and add-a leaf lift
    I was wondering if anyone knows if a 01-04 gauge cluster will fit/work in a 98?
     
  2. Aug 7, 2009 at 7:00 PM
    #2
    blkcoma32

    blkcoma32 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Member:
    #13359
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    98' 4x4 on tirty trees
    3 inch coilover and add-a leaf lift
    Nobody?
     
  3. Aug 7, 2009 at 8:19 PM
    #3
    STLharry

    STLharry Lube: It's the key to penetration.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Member:
    #9899
    Messages:
    1,911
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Harry
    VT
    Vehicle:
    Yeti Rescue Package with 240k miles
    '95-'97 camouflaged, ARB bull bar, RAT Products skid plate kit, sliders, Green Mountain Customs rear tube bumper and overland bed rack, King coilovers with Icon neoprene covers, defenestrated sway bar, OME Rear Suspension: CS046R leafs + AAL/5125 shocks/NWOR greasable hardware/U-bolt flip kit; S13WL Tundra calipers/pads/rotors, IPF H4 lenses and bulbs, IPF 968 DCG 100W lights, clapped out CB radio, Aussie-spec FJ60 inclinometer, ARB CKMA12 compressor, Superwinch S9000 with 12V Guy clock switch, 4' Hi-Lift, deckplate mod/grey wire mod/dif breather extensions, Duratrac tires, Sockmonkey bedside decals, boat cupholder, Dakine bike pad
    how about a 96??
    ive always wanted a stock tach...
     
  4. Aug 8, 2009 at 8:38 AM
    #4
    da0023

    da0023 The One, The Only

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Member:
    #16547
    Messages:
    414
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    99 PreRunner SR5
    none
    i am pretty sure it will fit, i have read previous threads on it, i just can't seem to find them right now. just be sure to remove the odometer wheel from your cluster and put it in the new one so that your mileage will be correct. the rest should be just plug and play. i have been thinking about doing this as well, my 99 doesn't have a tach, i don't need it, but i think the instrument cluster would look better if it had one. let me know how it turns out. :)
     
  5. Aug 8, 2009 at 10:33 AM
    #5
    SRQ TACO

    SRQ TACO "You've Got Red on You"

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Member:
    #16879
    Messages:
    1,443
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Damon
    Sarasota, Florida
    Vehicle:
    00 RegularCab 5lug
    16'' 5zigen Streetfighters w/ 245/55R16 General Altimax HP's, K&N Filter w/ deckplate mod, Dynomax Super Turbo Muffler with turndown before the axle, 01-04 Tail lights tinted, Dual BMW M3 horns, JVC Headunit, JVC 6.5'' door Speakers, Pioneer Shallow Mount 1000W 12'' Sub, 1000W Amp, Monroe Gasmatics front and rear, 1.5'' Daystar Coil Spacer, JDM Smoked Headlights/Corners,2001 Bench Seat, Led swapped gauge cluster and AC controls, Ignition Light mod with blue led, OEM All weather Floor Mats, LED Dome Light, 6000K DDM Tuning HID's, Street Scene Grille and Valance inserts, Clear bumper lights with the fog light mod and JDM Yellow led's, Window Tint: 25% sides and 5% back, TRD Blue Oil Cap.
    yes.....
     
  6. Aug 8, 2009 at 11:03 AM
    #6
    STLharry

    STLharry Lube: It's the key to penetration.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Member:
    #9899
    Messages:
    1,911
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Harry
    VT
    Vehicle:
    Yeti Rescue Package with 240k miles
    '95-'97 camouflaged, ARB bull bar, RAT Products skid plate kit, sliders, Green Mountain Customs rear tube bumper and overland bed rack, King coilovers with Icon neoprene covers, defenestrated sway bar, OME Rear Suspension: CS046R leafs + AAL/5125 shocks/NWOR greasable hardware/U-bolt flip kit; S13WL Tundra calipers/pads/rotors, IPF H4 lenses and bulbs, IPF 968 DCG 100W lights, clapped out CB radio, Aussie-spec FJ60 inclinometer, ARB CKMA12 compressor, Superwinch S9000 with 12V Guy clock switch, 4' Hi-Lift, deckplate mod/grey wire mod/dif breather extensions, Duratrac tires, Sockmonkey bedside decals, boat cupholder, Dakine bike pad
    yes it will work?
     
  7. Aug 8, 2009 at 11:03 AM
    #7
    Incognito

    Incognito μολὼν λαβέ

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Member:
    #17626
    Messages:
    13,625
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colton
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Pyrite AC TRD OR
    See Build thread
    Yes.
     
  8. Aug 8, 2009 at 11:24 AM
    #8
    STLharry

    STLharry Lube: It's the key to penetration.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Member:
    #9899
    Messages:
    1,911
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Harry
    VT
    Vehicle:
    Yeti Rescue Package with 240k miles
    '95-'97 camouflaged, ARB bull bar, RAT Products skid plate kit, sliders, Green Mountain Customs rear tube bumper and overland bed rack, King coilovers with Icon neoprene covers, defenestrated sway bar, OME Rear Suspension: CS046R leafs + AAL/5125 shocks/NWOR greasable hardware/U-bolt flip kit; S13WL Tundra calipers/pads/rotors, IPF H4 lenses and bulbs, IPF 968 DCG 100W lights, clapped out CB radio, Aussie-spec FJ60 inclinometer, ARB CKMA12 compressor, Superwinch S9000 with 12V Guy clock switch, 4' Hi-Lift, deckplate mod/grey wire mod/dif breather extensions, Duratrac tires, Sockmonkey bedside decals, boat cupholder, Dakine bike pad
    Sweet. I just called yota yard in colorado and they said it was 100 for an instrument cluster. Is it just a replace and plug in type thing?

    I mean, I dont have a tach in my taco right now, so is there still a place to plug the one off the cluster in?
     
  9. Aug 11, 2009 at 6:50 PM
    #9
    blkcoma32

    blkcoma32 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Member:
    #13359
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    98' 4x4 on tirty trees
    3 inch coilover and add-a leaf lift
    you will probably have to run a wire to the motor, im not sure if the cluster wiring from a non-tach taco has a wire for it even though it doesnt have a actual tach.
    Thanks guys for all the input, if any finds any threads on this let me know, THANKS
     
To Top