1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Wire Harness

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ryrydtl, May 30, 2010.

  1. May 30, 2010 at 8:54 AM
    #1
    ryrydtl

    ryrydtl [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24210
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Caili
    Vehicle:
    2010 Beast
    18in KMC Monster rims 285 Cooper Discovery wheels King 2.5 Coil-overs with resi's Volant air intake w/scoop. Foglight Mod Rearview Camera Mod DRL MOD PA System Kenwood DNX 6960 2 10" Kicker CVR Sockmonkey Custom Decals Custom Gauges from PRSgauges.net 8000k 55W headlights and fogs 4 Custom Accessories 6000K HID Offroad Lights Blue Sea Fuse box Scangauge II Escort 9500IX Streamlight LED flashlight & charger mounted in glovebox Weathertech mats more to come
    Hey guys, I had a 2010 Tacoma double cab without the JBL system, it was the base model. That truck got totaled and i stepped up to a Tacoma TRD Sport with the JBL system in it. On my old truck i had a Kenwood DNX6140 with its wire harness. On my new truck the wire harness that i used for my old truck wont fit? is that normal? Or are they supposed to be the same?
     
  2. May 30, 2010 at 9:53 AM
    #2
    dolbytone

    dolbytone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Member:
    #37165
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    I had a quick look on Crutchfield and they had a harness for the Tacoma without JBL system but no results for a Tacoma with the JBL system. I would assume then, that the harness is different for each.

    I looked very briefly and actually could not find a harness labeled as for the JBL Tacoma.
     
  3. May 30, 2010 at 4:03 PM
    #3
    bookmonke

    bookmonke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Member:
    #26662
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC PreRunner Rugged Trail
    Not trying to sell, but check out my ad in the for sale section, you will need something similar.
     
  4. May 31, 2010 at 12:49 AM
    #4
    ryrydtl

    ryrydtl [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24210
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Caili
    Vehicle:
    2010 Beast
    18in KMC Monster rims 285 Cooper Discovery wheels King 2.5 Coil-overs with resi's Volant air intake w/scoop. Foglight Mod Rearview Camera Mod DRL MOD PA System Kenwood DNX 6960 2 10" Kicker CVR Sockmonkey Custom Decals Custom Gauges from PRSgauges.net 8000k 55W headlights and fogs 4 Custom Accessories 6000K HID Offroad Lights Blue Sea Fuse box Scangauge II Escort 9500IX Streamlight LED flashlight & charger mounted in glovebox Weathertech mats more to come
    alright, well i do not want to use my stock sub. basically i just want to hook up my head unit but the plugs are different. Some people have told me that i have to find the stock JBL amp and attached to that is the normal connector? Does this sound right?
     
  5. May 31, 2010 at 9:12 AM
    #5
    bookmonke

    bookmonke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Member:
    #26662
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC PreRunner Rugged Trail
    I don't think that can be done, it is either use the JBL interface unit or pull the speakers and replace with aftermarket speakers and baffles.
     
To Top